Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

ARC Review: ‘A Dragon Gambles For His Girl’ Kira Nyte

Books Reviewed This Year

I have reviewed 45 books so far this year.

75%
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png

Review: ‘Let Me In’ by Erin McCarthy

I received this book for free from RockStar PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Let Me In’ by Erin McCarthy

Let Me In

by Erin McCarthy
Series: Blurred Lines #3
Published by Createspace on September 21, 2014
Genres: New Adult
Format: eArc
Source: RockStar PR
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

A girl in danger…
Aubrey Walsh never dreamed that she would find herself in an abusive relationship, but after her boyfriend hits her so hard he breaks her tooth, she flees the University of Maine to hide on a remote island with her best friend. Only to discover that she is pregnant. Terrified of what will happen if Jared finds out, she is walking along the rocks, deciding her future, when she slips.
A guy with a secret past…
After a job gone wrong, Riker has left the assassin business and is incognito as a ferryboat operator off the shores of Maine. It’s a lonely life, and when he sees a young woman almost fall off the rocks, he doesn’t hesitate to save her and take her in, though he’s determined to stay unemotionally uninvolved. But when the truth about her situation is revealed, he will do anything to protect Aubrey and her unborn child.
Even marry her. Even kill for her.
When Jared comes looking for the only girl who has ever rejected him, Riker won’t allow it. And Aubrey is torn between protecting herself and her child, or protecting the mysterious husband she has come to love.
And when chance brings them together but fate tears them apart, can their love survive the storm?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.

My Review Continue reading

Library Book Review: ‘Ugly Love’ by Colleen Hoover

Library Book Review: ‘Ugly Love’ by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love

by Colleen Hoover
Published by Atria Books on August 5th 2014
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 337
Source: Library
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.
Never ask about the past.Don’t expect a future.
They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.
Hearts get infiltrated.Promises get broken.Rules get shattered.Love gets ugly.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Bully’ by Penelope Douglas

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Bully’ by Penelope Douglas

Bully

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Fall Away #1
Published by Intermix on February 18th 2014
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 333
Source: the publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Penelope Douglas delivers an unforgettable New Adult romance that toes the fine line between love and hate…
My name is Tate. He doesn't call me that, though. He’ll barely refer to me at all, and he’ll hardly ever speak to me.
But he still won't leave me alone.
We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I've been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got worse as time wore on. I even went to Europe for a year, just to avoid him.
But I'm done hiding from him now, and there's no way I'll allow him to ruin another year. He might not have changed, but I have.
It's time to fight back.
When one brave young woman stands up to her best friend Jared, now tormenter, the consequences go beyond anything either of them ever would have imagined…

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Avoiding Responsibility’ by K.A. Linde

Review: ‘Avoiding Responsibility’ by K.A. Linde

Avoiding Responsibility

by K.A. Linde
Published by Createspace on December 1st 2012
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 350
Source: Purchased
Amazon
Goodreads

Lexi has finally given up her once destructive relationships and moved onto bigger and better things with a sexy new man in town. Just when she is starting to figure it out with him, her world is tilted once again with a phone call from none other than Ramsey Bridges. A year after his entrance into her life, Ramsey is trying to make amends and does the one thing she never expects—invites her to Jack's wedding.
The wedding she had evaded at all costs. But no matter what she does, Lexi can't seem to escape her past with Jack. But does she really want to?
Despite the explosive chemistry between Lexi and Ramsey, she is skeptical about trusting him after everything that has happened. When things are amiss with him, she starts questioning his motives. Can Ramsey be the one to remove Jack from Lexi's life permanently or should she move on with her blossoming new life?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Acts of Creation’ by Elisabeth Staab

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Acts of Creation’ by Elisabeth Staab

Acts of Creation

by Elisabeth Staab
Series: Evergreen Grove #2
Published by Elisabeth Staab on September 10th 2015
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 286
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

He's living a lie.
Dante Ramos: Champion. Ladies' man. Party animal. Women want him, and men either want to be him or put his lights out for sleeping with their girlfriends. It's all an act. Inside, he's so full of self-loathing he's on a fast-track to self-destruction.
She's living in the shadows.
Meeting Michelle at a support group for assault survivors shows Dante a new world of possibilities. Finally, someone in his life might understand him, and she creates in him a fierce need to protect. Trouble is, Dante lives his life in the spotlight, and the only thing Michelle wants is a place to hide.

My Review: Continue reading

Review: ‘Caged in Winter” by Brighton Walsh

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Caged in Winter” by Brighton Walsh

Caged in Winter

by Brighton Walsh
Series: Reluctant Hearts #1
Published by Berkley Books on November 4th 2014
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 304
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

In this emotional and sexy New Adult debut from Brighton Walsh, the only thing more frightening than commitment is hope…...   Aspiring chef Cade Maxwell is immediately, viscerally attracted to Winter Jacobson. But it’s not her mouthwatering curves he’s drawn to—it’s the strange emptiness in her eyes. When Cade saves her from a drunken customer with grabby hands, he’s shocked at her response…...   Winter doesn’t need Cade’s help. After a lifetime of getting by on her own, she’s happy to rely on herself. She’s exactly seventy-six days away from graduating college, and if she can hold it together that long, she’ll finally be able to rise above the crappy hand she was dealt.   But now, every time she turns around, Cade is there, ready to push her, smile at her, distract her from her plans. Winter knows she can’t afford to open up—especially to a man she’s terrified to actually want….

My Review: Continue reading

Review: ‘At the Stars’ by Elisabeth Staab

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘At the Stars’ by Elisabeth Staab

At the Stars

by Elisabeth Staab
Series: Evergreen Grove #1
Published by Elisabeth Staab on May 5th 2015
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 278
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

A GIRL TRYING TO LEAVE HER PAST BEHINDI was a normal teenager who loved music and dancing, until the day I was attacked in my favorite record store. A few years later when my mom succumbed to depression and took her own life, I couldn’t stay in my hometown with all the memories and the curious stares. I decided to get in my car and just go – except my car decided it was done going outside a tiny place called Evergreen Grove. That’s where I found Jake. Or I guess Jake found me.
A GUY WHO CAN’T LET HIS GOFor the last eight years, all I can think about is the day I ended another man’s life. Then I manage to save Cassie’s, and I feel like maybe I’ve got some kind of second chance. To do what I couldn’t before, or maybe even for something bigger. Something like love. If only I could feel like I deserve her...

My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Lure’ by Alyssa Rose Ivy

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Lure’ by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Lure

by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Series: The Allure Chronicles #1
Published by Self-Published on February 16, 2015
Format: eArc
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

There's danger in the beauty...
Two years, six months, and twenty-five days. That's how long it had been since I'd seen my winged hero— not that I'd been counting. I'd suffered through years of counseling just to convince my friends and family that I wasn't crazy and knew he didn't exist.
But he did. And I was done waiting.
Days after college graduation I headed back down to New Orleans to retrace my steps and find Owen again only to find my life was about to get even crazier... thanks to the most beautiful and dangerous of all paranormal creatures, the Allures.

My Review: Continue reading

Review: Seduction’s Kiss by Alyssa Rose Ivy

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Seduction’s Kiss by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Seduction's Kiss

by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Series: The Allure Chronicles #0.5
Published by Self-Published on January 29th 2015
Pages: 121
Format: eArc
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

*Prequel novella to Lure (The Allure Chronicles #1)*
Never agree to a road trip to New Orleans with your roommate. At least not when your roommate is dragging you along while she reconnects with an ex-boyfriend. Possible consequences of failing to take my advice:
1) Unknowingly going out with a vampire stripper2) Getting kidnapped by said vampire's nest mates3) Falling head over heels for your winged hero
Believe it or not number 3 is the worst one, especially when no one believes you that he exists.

My Review: Continue reading