Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

Books Reviewed in 2019

We have reviewed 8 books this year.

16%
January Reviews
Cruel Money by K.A. LindeHold Me Today by Maria LuisWrong Bed, Right Roommate by Rebecca BrooksOne Cruel Night by K.A. LindeEvidence of Desire by Lexi BlakeTaken by a Dragon by Felicity HeatonCowboy Wolf Trouble by Kait BallengerNightchaser by Amanda Bouchet
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 17

ARC Review: ‘Wrong Bed, Right Roommate’ by Rebecca Brooks

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Wrong Bed, Right Roommate’ by Rebecca Brooks

Wrong Bed, Right Roommate

by Rebecca Brooks
Series: Accidental Love #1
Published by Entangled Publishing LLC (Brazen) on January 14, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 262
Format: eArc
Source: publisher, Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks
Goodreads
four-stars

It's not every day you wake up to a stranger getting into your bed.Only, he isn't a stranger at all, he's my best friend's hot older brother…and apparently my new roommate.Having him in my space, driving me crazy, isn't a problem at all. Nope.All I need to do is keep control of the situation…
But that's easier said than done. Shawn Lassiter is the kind of distraction I don't need. First he accidentally gets into my bed, half-naked, the night before my first day at my new job. Hello, muscles and tattoos!Then he's there, in nothing but a towel, making me coffee in the morning. It's more than any girl can resist. Right?But Shawn is off-limits, even if his eyes are saying differently.
Years ago, back when I still had my crush, he destroyed friendships with his reckless playboy antics. There's no way I'm touching those perfectly formed abs now. I don't care how nice and responsible he's acting.I don't want a boyfriend anyway. That's what my trusty vibrator is for. I'm the smart girl—the glasses-wearing, book-reading workaholic. I can totally do this.After all, it's only for two and a half months.I'll be on my best behavior...even if Shawn isn't.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Evidence of Desire’ by Lexi Blake (Blog Tour)

ARC Review: 'Evidence of Desire' by Lexi Blake (Blog Tour)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Evidence of Desire’ by Lexi Blake (Blog Tour)

Evidence of Desire

by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #2
Published by Berkley on January 8, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks
Goodreads
five-stars

A fast-paced contemporary romance that sizzles from the New York Times bestselling author of Order of Protection where passion for the law isn't the only thing heating up the courtroom.

Isla Shayne knows she's in over her head. As former all-star linebacker Trey Adams's personal lawyer, she's used to handling his business dealings and private financial matters, not murder charges. She needs to find an experienced criminal attorney who speaks her client's language. David Cormack of Garrison, Cormack and Lawless is exactly what she needs in the courtroom—and the only man she wants in the bedroom.

For David, taking on the Adams case means diving back into a world he thought he'd left behind and colliding head on with tragic possibilities he's in no mood to face. There's a reason professional football is in his past and no matter how close Isla gets to the truth he intends to leave it there.

But long days working on the case together lead to hot nights in each other's arms. As their feelings grow, the case takes a deadly twist that could change the game between the two lovers forever.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Cowboy Wolf Trouble’ by Kait Ballenger

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Cowboy Wolf Trouble’ by Kait Ballenger

Cowboy Wolf Trouble

by Kait Ballenger
Series: Seven Range Shifters #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 1, 2019
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

Seven shifter clans call the Montana mountains home.
But a new evil will stop at nothing to tear their world apart.
For centuries, the shifters that roam Big Sky country have honored a pact to keep the peace. Even bad-boy rancher Wes Calhoun, former leader of a renegade pack, has given up his violent ways and sworn loyalty to the Grey Wolves. But his dark past keeps catching up with him…
Human rancher Naomi Evans cares only about saving the ranch that was her father’s legacy. Until a clash with Wes opens up a whole new world—a supernatural world on the verge of war—and Naomi, her ranch, and the sexy cowboy wolf stealing her heart are smack dab in the middle of it.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Nightchaser’ by Amanda Bouchet

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Nightchaser’ by Amanda Bouchet

Nightchaser

by Amanda Bouchet
Series: Endeavor #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 1, 2019
Pages: 416
Format: eArc
Source: publisher, Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A delicious new heart-pounding romantic adventure from USA Today bestseller Amanda Bouchet!
Captain Tess Bailey and her crew of Robin Hood-like thieves are desperate and on the run. Pursued by a vicious military general who wants them dead or alive, Tess has to decide if she can trust Shade Ganavan, a tall, dark and arrogant stranger with ambiguous motivations.
Shade Ganavan had oodles of arrogance, oodles of charm, and oodles of something that made me want to kick him in the nuts.
What Tess and Shade don’t know about each other might get them killed…unless they can set aside their differences and learn to trust each other—while ignoring their off-the-charts chemistry.

My Review Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley, publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Sacrifice

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on April 16th 2013
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 316
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

2014 Daphne du Maurier Award Finalist
One by one, people are mysteriously disappearing from a small Maine town.
Four months ago, a ruthless murderer killed two people and kidnapped three more, including Danny Sullivan’s sister, who barely escaped. Unfortunately so did the killer, vanishing without a trace into the vast wilderness. When the police fail to find his sister's captor, Danny returns to Maine to hunt him down.
He begins his search with another survivor, bed and breakfast owner Mandy Brown, but her refusal to cooperate raises Danny’s suspicions. What is the beautiful innkeeper hiding?
Mandy Brown has a secret. But sexy Danny Sullivan, his relentless questions, and the desire that simmers between them threaten to expose the truth. A revelation that puts her family in danger. As more people disappear, it becomes clear the killer is planning another ritual…and that he’s circling in on Mandy.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Murder Notes’ by Lisa Renee Jones

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley, publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Murder Notes’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Murder Notes

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Lilah Love #1
Published by Montlake Romance on March 27th 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 270
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, publisher
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones’s heart-pounding thriller of a woman’s secrets—and a past that’s about to come out of hiding…
As an FBI profiler, it’s Lilah Love’s job to think like a killer. And she is very good at her job. When a series of murders surface—the victims all stripped naked and shot in the head—Lilah’s instincts tell her it’s the work of an assassin, not a serial killer. But when the case takes her back to her hometown in the Hamptons and a mysterious but unmistakable connection to her own life, all her assumptions are shaken to the core.
Thrust into a troubled past she’s tried to shut the door on, Lilah’s back in the town where her father is mayor, her brother is police chief, and she has an intimate history with the local crime lord’s son, Kane Mendez. The two share a devastating secret, and only Kane understands Lilah’s own darkest impulses. As more corpses surface, so does a series of anonymous notes to Lilah, threatening to expose her. Is the killer someone in her own circle? And is she the next target?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘A Dragon Gambles For His Girl’ by Kira Nyte

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘A Dragon Gambles For His Girl’ by Kira Nyte

A Dragon Gambles For His Girl

by Kira Nyte, Kristen Painter
Series: A Nocturne Falls Universe story
Published by Sugar Skull Books on September 26th 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 205
Format: eArc
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

Ariah Callahan was raised on tales of dragons and magic and a wonderful hidden realm. The fairytales ended when her father became estranged from her beloved uncle, and cold, hard reality set in. Surviving day to day as her father spirals into addiction and depression is all she can do. When the unthinkable happens, her uncle becomes her only hope.
Alazar Brandvold has made easygoing an art. He’s worked hard to ensure no one in the enchanted town of Nocturne Falls sees the tortured, serious soul inside the shameless gambler who is as quick with a laugh as he is to place a bet— which he invariably loses. The Firestorm dragon gets the wakeup call of his life when his Keeper comes out of hiding and shows him a treasure worth more than all the gold in his hoard.
And his race’s ancient enemy is hunting her.
He will have to risk everything in the ultimate gamble not only to claim Ariah as his lifemate, but to convince her that fairytales are real and that the damsel can save the dragon.

My Review Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Exposure

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on August 21st 2012
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 306
Format: eArc
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Point, click, die.
When two hikers disappear, their hometown in Maine blames the blinding storms. But the truth is far more sinister. Unaware of the danger, tabloid photographer Jayne Sullivan follows an anonymous tip to find the most reclusive sculptor in the art world. Instead, she finds sexy handyman Reed Kimball—and a small town full of fatal secrets.
Five years ago, Reed buried his homicide detective career along with his wife. But when a hiker is found dead, the local police chief asks Reed for help. Why was a Celtic coin found under the body? And where is the second hiker? Avoiding the media, Reed doesn’t need a murder, a missing person, or a nosey photographer. Then Jayne is attacked, and her courage is his undoing.
Reed must risk everything to protect her - and find a cunning killer.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Falcon Tames The Psychic’ by Candace Colt

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Falcon Tames The Psychic’ by Candace Colt

The Falcon Tames The Psychic

by Candace Colt, Kristen Painter
Series: A Nocturne Falls Universe story, Nocturne Falls Falcon #2
Published by Sugar Skull Books on September 26th 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 173
Format: eArc
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads

Brianna Putnam needs a juicy scandal and fast. Up for a promotion at a high-profile tabloid, she has one month to convince a hard-nosed editor that she has the chops for the job. What could be better than a story exposing Nocturne Falls, a town full of magical supernaturals? She has the ideal cover. Her grandmother is Echo Stargazer, and her cousin is Jessica Callahan, long-time residents, and self-proclaimed psychics. No time like the present to meet the family.
Play-boy falcon-shifter Connor Ford is filthy rich with nowhere to be and nothing to do. About to give up on finding his life’s purpose, he meets Brianna Putnam, and his passion ignites for the beautiful woman with the strange curiosity about his hometown. When he discovers she’s played everyone for fools, Connor arranges a surprise to turn the tables on her.
Finally accepting her psychic gift, Brianna is overcome by guilt after submitting the story. When her editor arrives to see the town for himself, she has a chance to redeem herself. But will it be too late?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Nymph Takes Nashville’ by J.L. Farey

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Nymph Takes Nashville’ by J.L. Farey

The Nymph Takes Nashville

by J.L. Farey, Kristen Painter
Series: A Nocturne Falls Universe story
Published by Sugar Skull Books on September 26th 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 64
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

After a rocky start, wood nymph Laurel and bear-shifter Aiden have made a happy home together in Nocturne Falls. Sure, Laurel is still getting over the trauma of being stalked and almost killed by an old boyfriend, and Aiden keeps having nightmares about his time as an NYPD Detective, but overall, they have a calm, peaceful life. Until their relatives enter the picture. Before they know it, they’re on a road trip to Nashville – accompanied by Laurel’s sister, Aurora, and Aiden’s buddy, Wade – in order to prove that Aiden’s country music superstar father – who he didn’t even know was his father – didn’t commit the crime he’s being accused of. All Aiden and Laurel want is time alone together, but that’s not happening anytime soon. Can they save Aiden’s father and wrangle everyone else into shape before they lose their minds? Or could all the family drama push them over the edge?

My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 17