Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Archangel’s Shadows’ by Nalini SinghReview: ‘A Wedding in Springtime’ by Amanda Forester #Romanceopoly2020

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 27 books this year.

22%
April Reviews
Tangled by Emma Chase
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 22

ARC Review: ‘Bears Behaving Badly’ by MaryJanice Davidson

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Bears Behaving Badly’ by MaryJanice Davidson

Bears Behaving Badly

by MaryJanice Davidson
Series: BeWere My Heart #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on March 31, 2020
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-stars

These social worker bear shifters give the term "mama bear" a whole new meaning! Bestselling author MaryJanice Davidson is back with this brand-new paranormal romance series featuring a foster care system for at-risk shifter babies and teens.
Werebear shifter Annette Garsea is a caseworker for the Interspecies Placement Agency. When a selectively mute and freakishly strong teen werewolf is put in her custody, Annette has to uncover the young girl's secrets if she's to have any hopes of helping her. And not even the growling of a scruffy private investigator can distract her from her mission...
Bear shifter David Auberon appreciates Annette's work with at-risk teen shifters, but he's not sure if her latest charge is so much a vulnerable teen as a predator who should be locked up. All that changes when he, Annette, and her motley band of juveniles find themselves dodging multiple murder attempts and uncovering a trafficking cartel that doesn't just threaten the kids, but risks discovery of the shifters by the wider world of homo sapiens.
BeWere My Heart series: Bears Behaving Badly (Book 1)


Continue reading

Review: ‘The Wedding Party’ by Jasmine Guillory #Romanceopoly2020

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Wedding Party’ by Jasmine Guillory #Romanceopoly2020

The Wedding Party

by Jasmine Guillory
Series: The Wedding Date #3
Published by Berkley on July 16, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 351
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Maddie and Theo have two things in common:
1. Alexa is their best friend
2. They hate each other
After an “Oops, we made a mistake” kiss, neither one can stop thinking about the other. With Alexa’s wedding rapidly approaching, Maddie and Theo both share bridal party responsibilities that require more interaction with each other than they’re comfortable with. Underneath the sharp barbs they toss at each other is a simmering attraction that won’t fade. It builds until they find themselves sneaking off together to release some tension when Alexa isn’t looking.
But as with any engagement with a nemesis, there are unspoken rules that must be abided by. First and foremost, don’t fall in love.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Fix Her Up’ by Tessa Bailey #Romanceopoly2020

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Fix Her Up’ by Tessa Bailey #Romanceopoly2020

Fix Her Up

by Tessa Bailey
Series: Hot & Hammered #1
Published by Avon on June 11, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

A brand new romantic comedy from New York Times bestseller Tessa Bailey!
Georgette Castle’s family runs the best home renovation business in town, but she picked balloons instead of blueprints and they haven’t taken her seriously since. Frankly, she’s over it. Georgie loves planning children’s birthday parties and making people laugh, just not at her own expense. She’s determined to fix herself up into a Woman of the World... whatever that means.
Phase one: new framework for her business (a website from this decade, perhaps?)
Phase two: a gut-reno on her wardrobe (fyi, leggings are pants.)
Phase three: updates to her exterior (do people still wax?)
Phase four: put herself on the market (and stop crushing on Travis Ford!)
Living her best life means facing the truth: Georgie hasn’t been on a date since, well, ever. Nobody’s asking the town clown out for a night of hot sex, that’s for sure. Maybe if people think she’s having a steamy love affair, they’ll acknowledge she’s not just the “little sister” who paints faces for a living. And who better to help demolish that image than the resident sports star and tabloid favorite?
Travis Ford was major league baseball’s hottest rookie when an injury ended his career. Now he’s flipping houses to keep busy and trying to forget his glory days. But he can’t even cross the street without someone recapping his greatest hits. Or making a joke about his… bat. And then there's Georgie, his best friend’s sister, who is not a kid anymore. When she proposes a wild scheme—that they pretend to date, to shock her family and help him land a new job—he agrees. What’s the harm? It’s not like it’s real. But the girl Travis used to tease is now a funny, full-of-life woman and there’s nothing fake about how much he wants her...


Continue reading

Review: ‘A Madness of Sunshine’ by Nalini Singh #Romanceopoly2020

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘A Madness of Sunshine’ by Nalini Singh #Romanceopoly2020

A Madness of Sunshine

by Nalini Singh
Published by Berkley Books on December 3, 2019
Genres: Thriller
Pages: 344
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads



New York Times

bestselling author Nalini Singh pivots in a new direction with her first mainstream thriller that will be sure to keep readers on their toes.

Anahera Rawiri left New Zealand at twenty-one, fleeing small-town poverty and the ghosts of her childhood with no plans to look back. But eight years later, she returns, seeking familiarity as respite from the shattered remains of her new life. And despite the changes brought on by a bump in tourism--the shiny new welcome sign at the town line and a decidedly less shiny new police presence--Golden Cove appears much as it ever was: a small settlement on the savage West Coast of the South Island, populated by all the remembered faces and set against a backdrop of lush greenery, jagged cliffs, and crashing waves.
Detective Will Gallagher knows all about ghosts; his own chased him out of a promising career in Christchurch, landing him as the sole cop in a quaint town where his most pressing concerns are petty theft and the occasional drunk. When Golden Cove resident Miri Hinewai goes out for a run and fails to return, Will finds himself heading up a missing person's search that rapidly escalates into an official investigation after this case is connected with similar ones from the past. As an outsider, Will begins to rely on Anahera's knowledge of the area and its residents to help him delve into Golden Cove's secrets, and to determine whether it shelters something far more dangerous than just an unforgiving landscape.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Malice’ by Pintip Dunn

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Malice’ by Pintip Dunn

Malice

by Pintip Dunn
Published by Entangled: Teen on February 4, 2020
Pages: 400
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

What I know: a boy in my school will one day wipe out two-thirds of the population with a virus.
What I don’t know: who he is.
In a race against the clock, I not only have to figure out his identity, but I’ll have to outwit a voice from the future telling me to kill him. Because I’m starting to realize no one is telling the truth. But how can I play chess with someone who already knows the outcome of my every move? Someone so filled with malice they’ve lost all hope in humanity? Well, I’ll just have to find a way—because now they’ve drawn a target on the only boy I’ve ever loved... 


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Ignite on Contact’ by Jaci Burton

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ignite on Contact’ by Jaci Burton

Ignite on Contact

by Jaci Burton
Series: Brotherhood by Fire #2
Published by Berkley Books on February 4, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Jaci Burton is back with a friends-to-lovers romance sure to melt hearts as one smokin'-hot fireman turns up the heat on love.
Relationships. Firefighter Rafe Donovan avoids them whenever possible. He loves dating women, but he makes sure they know up front that he's in it for fun, great sex and nothing more.
Fun. As an ER nurse and official caretaker of her disabled grandfather, Carmen Lewis doesn't have time for fun. But Rafe has been there for Carmen--and her grandfather--time and again, and he's clearly interested in her. She knows he's a player, but she's tempted by his charm and incredible body. And maybe a little fun isn't a bad thing, as long as she keeps her heart away from this fiery game she's enjoying with a very hot man.
Love. It doesn't take Rafe long to realize that until now he's only been playing at romance. With Carmen he feels searing passion and heart-tugging emotion for the first time. Now he has to convince Carmen that what they have together is the real deal.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Vendetta Road’ by Christine Feehan

ARC Review: 'Vendetta Road' by Christine Feehan

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Vendetta Road’ by Christine Feehan

Vendetta Road

by Christine Feehan
Series: Torpedo Ink #3
Published by Berkley on January 28, 2020
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 464
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan pushes the limits in her next novel in the Torpedo Ink series.
Isaak “Ice” Koval is on a club mission when he sees a woman who stops him dead in his tracks. Soleil is a sweet, sexy, girl-next-door type. She’s an innocent who should be nowhere near the rough-and-ready world of the Torpedo Ink motorcycle club. But Ice knows Soleil belongs with him—and he’ll do whatever it takes to keep her.
After a life of drifting from one thing to the next, Soleil Brodeur is determined to take control of her life. When her breakup with her manipulative fiancé turns ugly, Soleil searches out the stranger who offered her a lifeline and ends up in a Las Vegas biker bar where she meets a gorgeous, dangerous man straight out of her most secret fantasies.
High on adrenaline, she finds herself falling faster than she thought possible. But Soleil knows little about the territory she’s stumbled into, and even less about what it really means to be Ice’s woman.…


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Wicked Cowboy Wolf’ by Kait Ballenger

ARC Review: 'Wicked Cowboy Wolf' by Kait Ballenger

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Wicked Cowboy Wolf’ by Kait Ballenger

Wicked Cowboy Wolf

by Kait Ballenger
Series: Seven Range Shifters #3
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 28, 2020
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

If they think he's wild now, they haven't seen anything...

Years ago former Grey Wolf Jared Black took the fall for a murder and was driven from his pack. Now he's the mysterious criminal cowboy wolf known only as The Rogue. He's a fierce protector of vulnerable loners, but now that a vampire threat endangers all wolves, he must confront the pack again, including the only woman he's ever loved.
Maeve Gray has her own battles to fight. Pack duties dictate her every move—and she's sick of it. Ever since she escaped the clutches of her pack's enemies, her one goal has been defeating the bloodsucking monsters for good. But each passing day further risks the lives of her friends and family. Mae needs a solution—and fast—so when The Rogue shows up on the Grey Wolf ranch, offering everything Mae's heart desires, she has no choice but to trust him. But for this cowgirl, sleeping with the enemy could prove as deadly as it is desirable...
Seven Range Shifters Series: Cowboy Wolf Trouble (book 1) Cowboy in Wolf's Clothing (book 2)Wicked Cowboy Wolf (book 3)
What People Are Saying About Kait Ballenger: "This story has it all—a heroine with grit, and a hero who backs up his tough talk with action."—Fresh Fiction for Cowboy Wolf Trouble "[A] mix of action and steamy sex... Crash-bang excitement."—Publishers Weekly for Cowboy Wolf Trouble "With action, tension, and heat...hits all the sweet spots of paranormal romance. Recommend to readers of Nalini Singh and Maria Vale."—Booklist for Cowboy in Wolf's Clothing "High-voltage!"—Publishers Weekly STARRED review for Twilight Hunter, a PW Top 10 Romance


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Keystone’ by Katie Delahanty

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Keystone’ by Katie Delahanty

Keystone

by Katie Delahanty
Published by Entangled: Teen on January 7, 2020
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback, ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

When Ella Karman debuts on the Social Stock Exchange, she finds out life as a high-profile "Influencer" isn't what she expected. Everyone around her is consumed by their rankings, in creating the smoke and mirrors that make them the envy of the world.
But then Ella’s best friend betrays her, her rankings tank, and she loses—everything.
Leaving her old life behind, she joins Keystone, a secret school for thieves, where students are being trained to steal everything analog and original because something—or someone—is changing history to suit their needs.
Partnered with the annoyingly hot—and utterly impossible—Garrett Alexander, who has plenty of his own secrets, Ella is forced to return to the Influencer world, while unraveling a conspiracy that began decades ago.
One wrong move and she could lose everything—again.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Widow of Rose House’ by Diana Biller + Excerpt

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Widow of Rose House’ by Diana Biller + Excerpt

The Widow of Rose House

by Diana Biller
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on October 8, 2019
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 352
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

A young widow restores a dilapidated mansion with the assistance of a charming, eccentric genius, only to find the house is full of dangerous secrets in this effervescent Gilded Age debut novel
It's 1875, and Alva Webster has perfected her stiff upper lip after three years of being pilloried in the presses of two continents over fleeing her abusive husband. Now his sudden death allows her to return to New York to make a fresh start, restoring Liefdehuis, a dilapidated Hyde Park mansion, and hopefully her reputation at the same time. However, fresh starts aren't as easy as they seem, as Alva discovers when stories of a haunting at Liefdehuis begin to reach her. But Alva doesn't believe in ghosts. So when the eccentric and brilliant professor, Samuel Moore, appears and informs her that he can get to the bottom of the mystery that surrounds Liefdehuis, she turns him down flat. She doesn't need any more complications in her life―especially not a handsome, convention-flouting, scandal-raising one like Sam.
Unfortunately, though Alva is loath to admit it, Sam, a pioneer in electric lighting and a member of the nationally-adored Moore family of scientists, is the only one who can help. Together, the two delve into the tragic secrets wreathing Alva's new home while Sam attempts to unlock Alva's history―and her heart.
Set during the Gilded Age in New York City, The Widow of Rose House is a gorgeous debut by Diana Biller, with a darkly Victorian Gothic flair and an intrepid and resilient American heroine guaranteed to delight readers.


Continue reading

1 2 3 22