Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Dark Desire’ by Christine Feehan

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 75 books this year.

75%
July Reviews
The Fall of Troy by Dr. Rebecca SharpFirst Earl I See Tonight by Anna BennettSEAL Wolf Surrender by Terry Spear
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Review: ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter #romanceopoly

Firstlife

by Gena Showalter
Series: Everlife #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 23, 2016
Pages: 467
Format: Hardcover, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Step one...you die.
ONE CHOICE. TWO REALMS. NO SECOND CHANCE.
Tenley "Ten" Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live — after she dies. There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.
In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, long-time enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms that will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she's drawn to isn't where the boy she's falling for lives? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Queen of Zombie Hearts’ by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘The Queen of Zombie Hearts’ by Gena Showalter

The Queen of Zombie Hearts

by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #3
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 30th 2014
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

I thought I had nothing left to give.
I thought wrong.
They started the war.
Now I will end it.
Alice "Ali" Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She's ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It's then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun.
As secrets that may tear Ali and Cole apart come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Through the Zombie Glass’ by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘Through the Zombie Glass’ by Gena Showalter

Through the Zombie Glass

by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 24th 2013
Pages: 480
Format: AudioBook, Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Zombies stalk the night.
Forget blood and brains. These monsters hunger for human souls.
Sadly, they've got mine...
Alice Bell has lost so much. Family. Friends. A home. She thought she had nothing else to give. She was wrong.
After a new zombie attack, strange things begin to happen to her. Mirrors come to life, and the whispers of the dead assault her ears. But the worst? A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do very wicked things.
She's never needed her team of zombie slayers more, but ultra bad-boy Cole Holland, the leader and her boyfriend, suddenly withdraws from her...from everyone. Now, with her best friend, Kat, at her side, Ali must kill the zombies, uncover Cole's secret and learn to fight the darkness.
But the clock is ticking...and if she fails at a single task, they're all doomed.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Touch’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Touch’ by Gena Showalter

The Darkest Touch

by Gena Showalter
Series: Lords of the Underworld #11
Published by Harlequin HQN on November 25, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 489
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter comes the long-awaited story of Torin, the most dangerous Lord of the Underworld yet…
Fierce immortal warrior. Host to the demon of Disease. Torin’s every touch causes sickness and death—and a worldwide plague. Carnal pleasure is utterly forbidden, and though he has always overcome temptation with an iron will, his control is about to shatter.
She is Keeley Cael. The Red Queen. When the powerful beauty with shocking vulnerabilities escapes from a centuries-long imprisonment, the desire that simmers between her and Torin is scorching. His touch could mean the end for her, but resisting her is the hardest battle he’s ever fought—and the only battle he fears he can’t win.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Burning Dawn’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Burning Dawn’ by Gena Showalter

Burning Dawn

by Gena Showalter
Series: Angels of the Dark #3
Published by HQN Books on April 29, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 445
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter returns with a sizzling Angels of the Dark tale about a winged warrior renowned for his ruthlessness, and the woman who becomes his obsession...
A tormented past has left Thane with an insatiable need for violence, making him the most dangerous assassin in the skies.He lives by a single code: no mercy. And as he unleashes his fury on his most recent captor, he learns no battle could have prepared him for the slave he rescues from his enemy's clutches—a beauty who stokes the fires of his darkest desires.
Elin Vale has her own deep-rooted scars, and her attraction to the exquisite warrior who freed her challenges her every boundary. But Thane's unwavering determination to protect her means she must face her greatest fears—and enter a world in which passion is power, and victory means breathtaking surrender.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Black and Blue’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Black and Blue’ by Gena Showalter

Black and Blue

by Gena Showalter
Series: Otherworld Assassin #2
Published by Pocket Books on October 22, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 387
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling second book in New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter’s Otherworld Assassin paranormal romance series.
He is every woman’s fantasy…
Corbin Blue is a man of many talents. One of the most powerful otherworlders ever born, he is wealthy, a professional football star, and a legend in the bedroom. But only a select few know he is also a black ops agent…and there is no better killer. When he and his crew are attacked and separated, he’s forced to turn to his boss’s daughter for help—a woman with even more secrets than Blue.
She becomes his only obsession…
Evangaline Black has always been wary, guarded. No man has ever breeched her walls. Until Blue. He has never been denied something he wants, and now, he’s decided he wants her. As he sweeps her into his double life of seduction, intrigue, and danger, he helps her see beyond the darkness of her own past. But as an enemy closes in, Blue will have to let Evie go to keep her safe—even though he'd rather die than live without her…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Craving’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Craving’ by Gena Showalter

The Darkest Craving

by Gena Showalter
Series: Lords of The Underworld #10
Published by Harlequin HQN on July 30, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 472
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter is back with a breathtaking Lords of the Underworld tale about a warrior trapped by darkness and the woman determined to save him
Having endured weeks of torture in the bowels of hell, Kane wants nothing to do with his beautiful rescuer, Josephina Aisling. The half-Fae female threatens to awaken the demon of Disaster inside him—a beast he’s determined to kill, no matter the price.
Josephina is hunted by a brutal enemy—her royal family—and Kane is her only source of protection. He’s also the only male to ever set her aflame, and even he succumbs to the heat. But as they navigate the treacherous world of the Fae, they are forced to make a choice: live apart…or die together.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘After Dark: The Darkest Angel/Shadow Hunter’ by Gena Showalter & Kait Ballenger

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘After Dark: The Darkest Angel/Shadow Hunter’ by Gena Showalter & Kait Ballenger

After Dark: The Darkest Angel/Shadow Hunter

by Gena Showalter, Kait Ballenger
Published by Harlequin HQN on June 25, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 325
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A timeless seduction A unique temptation And a whole world of dark desires...
From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter
The Darkest Angel
Winged warrior Lysander has been alive for centuries, and yet he's never known desire-until he meets Bianka. Spawned from the bloodline of his enemy, the beautiful but deadly Harpy is determined to lead the untouched Lysander into temptation. He may try to evade her attempts, but even the most iron-willed demon assassin can resist for only so long....
And from debut author Kait Ballenger
Shadow Hunter
Vampire hunter Damon Brock's first assignment with the Execution Underground is Rochester, New York, a city crawling with the undead. But he isn't the only hunter in town gunning for vamp blood. Tiffany Solow is fierce and ruthless when it comes to slaying the monsters that destroyed her family-and she works solo. But being alone is no longer so desirable when she meets the mysterious hunter who wants more than just her turf. As they work to massacre the local covens, the line between good and evil blurs when they are forced to decide between their lifelong beliefs... and their newfound hearts.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Beauty Awakened’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Beauty Awakened’ by Gena Showalter

Beauty Awakened

by Gena Showalter
Series: Angels of the Dark #2
Published by HQN Books on February 26th 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 447
Format: Paperback
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

His name is Koldo. He is scarred, powerful, his control legendary-and he lives only for vengeance, determined to punish the angel who viciously removed his wings. But if he yields to the forces of hatred, he will be kicked from the heavens, eternally damned.
She is his last hope. Nicola Lane was born with a defective heart, yet this fragile human shows surprising strength as demons stalk her every move, determined to end her. She is the key to Koldo's deliverance...and his downfall. Though he fights duty, destiny and his first addictive taste of desire, his toughest battle will be the one for Nicola's life-even if he has to sacrifice his own....

My Review

Continue reading

Review: ‘Last Kiss Goodnight’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Last Kiss Goodnight’ by Gena Showalter

Last Kiss Goodnight

by Gena Showalter
Series: Otherworld Assassin #1
Published by Pocket Books on December 26, 2012
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 436
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

The breathtaking first novel in New York Times best selling author Gena Showalter’s new paranormal romance series, Otherworld Assassins, featuring a black ops agent who is captured and enslaved…and the beautiful deaf girl who holds the key to his salvation…
THE SWEETEST TEMPTATION…
Black ops agent Solomon Judah awakens caged and bound in a twisted zoo where otherworlders are the main attraction. Vika Lukas, the owner’s daughter, is tasked with Solo’s care and feeding. The monster inside him yearns to kill her on sight, even though she holds the key to his escape. But the human side of him realizes the beautiful deaf girl is more than she seems—she’s his.
THE ULTIMATE PRICE…
Vika endures the captives’ taunts and loathing, hoping to keep them alive even if she can’t free them. Only, Solo is different—he protects her. But as hostility turns to forbidden romance, his feelings for her will be used against him…and he’ll be put to a killer test.

My Review

Continue reading