Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Angel’s Flight’ by Nalini Singh

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 123 books this year.

98%
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

ARC Review: ‘Frost and Flame’ by Gena Showalter (Blog Tour + #Giveaway)

ARC Review: 'Frost and Flame' by Gena Showalter (Blog Tour + #Giveaway)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Frost and Flame’ by Gena Showalter (Blog Tour + #Giveaway)

Frost and Flame

by Gena Showalter
Series: Gods of War #2
Published by HQN Books on September 17, 2019
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

From Gena Showalter, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lords of the Underworld saga, comes Frost and Flame, the second book in the scorching paranormal romance series Gods of War.

Bane of Adwaeweth is the most feared immortal warrior in All War history. Possessed by a bloodthirsty beast, he will stop at nothing to win. Then he meets irresistible Nola Lee. He hates the power she wields over him, but she alone can rain vengeance upon his wife’s killer.

Unaware of her destiny to rule as queen of beasts, Nola battles illness, addiction and vulnerability. With Bane, however, she experiences pleasure for the first time, and only wants more. But being with him comes with a terrible price.

With enemies lurking around every corner, Bane and Nola must fight to survive. But time is running out, and neither can resist the sizzling attraction blazing between them. Will their romance save the beast and his beauty, or destroy everything they’ve come to love?

Continue reading

Review: ‘Shadow and Ice’ by Gena Showalter

Review: 'Shadow and Ice' by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘Shadow and Ice’ by Gena Showalter

Shadow and Ice

by Gena Showalter
Series: Gods of War #1
Published by HQN on October 23, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 490
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Knox of Iviland, the most ruthless warrior in All War history, has spent his life fighting others to the death, winning new realms for his king. Now the stakes are higher than ever. If he prevails in the battle for Earth, his slave bands will be removed. Victory is his sole focus…until he meets her.
On an arctic getaway with her foster sister, street tough but vulnerable Vale London is shocked to stumble upon a cave filled with ancient gods waging epic combat. When she is inadvertently drawn into their war, she is forced to team up with an unlikely ally—the sexy god who makes her burn with desire.
Though Vale is his enemy, Knox is consumed with lust and a fierce need to protect her. But only one combatant can triumph, and he will have to choose: live for freedom, or die for love.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter #romanceopoly

Firstlife

by Gena Showalter
Series: Everlife #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 23, 2016
Pages: 467
Format: Hardcover, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Step one...you die.
ONE CHOICE. TWO REALMS. NO SECOND CHANCE.
Tenley "Ten" Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live — after she dies. There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.
In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, long-time enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms that will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she's drawn to isn't where the boy she's falling for lives? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Queen of Zombie Hearts’ by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘The Queen of Zombie Hearts’ by Gena Showalter

The Queen of Zombie Hearts

by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #3
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 30th 2014
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

I thought I had nothing left to give.
I thought wrong.
They started the war.
Now I will end it.
Alice "Ali" Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She's ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It's then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun.
As secrets that may tear Ali and Cole apart come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Through the Zombie Glass’ by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘Through the Zombie Glass’ by Gena Showalter

Through the Zombie Glass

by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 24th 2013
Pages: 480
Format: AudioBook, Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Zombies stalk the night.
Forget blood and brains. These monsters hunger for human souls.
Sadly, they've got mine...
Alice Bell has lost so much. Family. Friends. A home. She thought she had nothing else to give. She was wrong.
After a new zombie attack, strange things begin to happen to her. Mirrors come to life, and the whispers of the dead assault her ears. But the worst? A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do very wicked things.
She's never needed her team of zombie slayers more, but ultra bad-boy Cole Holland, the leader and her boyfriend, suddenly withdraws from her...from everyone. Now, with her best friend, Kat, at her side, Ali must kill the zombies, uncover Cole's secret and learn to fight the darkness.
But the clock is ticking...and if she fails at a single task, they're all doomed.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Touch’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Touch’ by Gena Showalter

The Darkest Touch

by Gena Showalter
Series: Lords of the Underworld #11
Published by Harlequin HQN on November 25, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 489
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter comes the long-awaited story of Torin, the most dangerous Lord of the Underworld yet…
Fierce immortal warrior. Host to the demon of Disease. Torin’s every touch causes sickness and death—and a worldwide plague. Carnal pleasure is utterly forbidden, and though he has always overcome temptation with an iron will, his control is about to shatter.
She is Keeley Cael. The Red Queen. When the powerful beauty with shocking vulnerabilities escapes from a centuries-long imprisonment, the desire that simmers between her and Torin is scorching. His touch could mean the end for her, but resisting her is the hardest battle he’s ever fought—and the only battle he fears he can’t win.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Burning Dawn’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Burning Dawn’ by Gena Showalter

Burning Dawn

by Gena Showalter
Series: Angels of the Dark #3
Published by HQN Books on April 29, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 445
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter returns with a sizzling Angels of the Dark tale about a winged warrior renowned for his ruthlessness, and the woman who becomes his obsession...
A tormented past has left Thane with an insatiable need for violence, making him the most dangerous assassin in the skies.He lives by a single code: no mercy. And as he unleashes his fury on his most recent captor, he learns no battle could have prepared him for the slave he rescues from his enemy's clutches—a beauty who stokes the fires of his darkest desires.
Elin Vale has her own deep-rooted scars, and her attraction to the exquisite warrior who freed her challenges her every boundary. But Thane's unwavering determination to protect her means she must face her greatest fears—and enter a world in which passion is power, and victory means breathtaking surrender.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Black and Blue’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Black and Blue’ by Gena Showalter

Black and Blue

by Gena Showalter
Series: Otherworld Assassin #2
Published by Pocket Books on October 22, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 387
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling second book in New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter’s Otherworld Assassin paranormal romance series.
He is every woman’s fantasy…
Corbin Blue is a man of many talents. One of the most powerful otherworlders ever born, he is wealthy, a professional football star, and a legend in the bedroom. But only a select few know he is also a black ops agent…and there is no better killer. When he and his crew are attacked and separated, he’s forced to turn to his boss’s daughter for help—a woman with even more secrets than Blue.
She becomes his only obsession…
Evangaline Black has always been wary, guarded. No man has ever breeched her walls. Until Blue. He has never been denied something he wants, and now, he’s decided he wants her. As he sweeps her into his double life of seduction, intrigue, and danger, he helps her see beyond the darkness of her own past. But as an enemy closes in, Blue will have to let Evie go to keep her safe—even though he'd rather die than live without her…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Craving’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Craving’ by Gena Showalter

The Darkest Craving

by Gena Showalter
Series: Lords of The Underworld #10
Published by Harlequin HQN on July 30, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 472
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter is back with a breathtaking Lords of the Underworld tale about a warrior trapped by darkness and the woman determined to save him
Having endured weeks of torture in the bowels of hell, Kane wants nothing to do with his beautiful rescuer, Josephina Aisling. The half-Fae female threatens to awaken the demon of Disaster inside him—a beast he’s determined to kill, no matter the price.
Josephina is hunted by a brutal enemy—her royal family—and Kane is her only source of protection. He’s also the only male to ever set her aflame, and even he succumbs to the heat. But as they navigate the treacherous world of the Fae, they are forced to make a choice: live apart…or die together.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘After Dark: The Darkest Angel/Shadow Hunter’ by Gena Showalter & Kait Ballenger

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘After Dark: The Darkest Angel/Shadow Hunter’ by Gena Showalter & Kait Ballenger

After Dark: The Darkest Angel/Shadow Hunter

by Gena Showalter, Kait Ballenger
Published by Harlequin HQN on June 25, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 325
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A timeless seduction A unique temptation And a whole world of dark desires...
From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter
The Darkest Angel
Winged warrior Lysander has been alive for centuries, and yet he's never known desire-until he meets Bianka. Spawned from the bloodline of his enemy, the beautiful but deadly Harpy is determined to lead the untouched Lysander into temptation. He may try to evade her attempts, but even the most iron-willed demon assassin can resist for only so long....
And from debut author Kait Ballenger
Shadow Hunter
Vampire hunter Damon Brock's first assignment with the Execution Underground is Rochester, New York, a city crawling with the undead. But he isn't the only hunter in town gunning for vamp blood. Tiffany Solow is fierce and ruthless when it comes to slaying the monsters that destroyed her family-and she works solo. But being alone is no longer so desirable when she meets the mysterious hunter who wants more than just her turf. As they work to massacre the local covens, the line between good and evil blurs when they are forced to decide between their lifelong beliefs... and their newfound hearts.

My Review Continue reading