Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Marked by an Assassin’ by Felicity HeatonReview: ‘Shadow and Ice’ by Gena Showalter

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 102 books this year.

82%
September Reviews
The Proposal by Jasmine GuilloryMason by Michelle HeardLove in Spades by Charlie CochetNothing to Fear by Juno RushdanToxic by Kim KarrFalcon by Michelle Heard
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 18

Review: ‘The Proposal’ by Jasmine Guillory

Review: ‘The Proposal’ by Jasmine Guillory

The Proposal

by Jasmine Guillory
Series: The Wedding Date #2
Published by Berkley Books on October 30, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 325
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The author of The Wedding Date serves up a novel about what happens when a public proposal doesn't turn into a happy ending, thanks to a woman who knows exactly how to make one on her own...
When someone asks you to spend your life with him, it shouldn't come as a surprise--or happen in front of 45,000 people.
When freelance writer Nikole Paterson goes to a Dodgers game with her actor boyfriend, his man bun, and his bros, the last thing she expects is a scoreboard proposal. Saying no isn't the hard part--they've only been dating for five months, and he can't even spell her name correctly. The hard part is having to face a stadium full of disappointed fans...
At the game with his sister, Carlos Ibarra comes to Nik's rescue and rushes her away from a camera crew. He's even there for her when the video goes viral and Nik's social media blows up--in a bad way. Nik knows that in the wilds of LA, a handsome doctor like Carlos can't be looking for anything serious, so she embarks on an epic rebound with him, filled with food, fun, and fantastic sex. But when their glorified hookups start breaking the rules, one of them has to be smart enough to put on the brakes...

Continue reading

Review: ‘Toxic’ by Kim Karr

Review: 'Toxic' by Kim Karr

Review: ‘Toxic’ by Kim Karr

Toxic

by Kim Karr
Published by NAL Trade on July 7, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

He Loves Me, He Loves Me Not...
New York Times bestselling author Kim Karr turns up the heat in a smoking hot, emotionally compelling new novel that takes you into the world of Manhattan’s elite.
In Toxic, Jeremy McQueen, a sexy, intense, sometimes brooding entrepreneur goes after what he wants—the woman he left behind years ago. Phoebe St. Claire, a put together, in control socialite-turned-CEO has been drifting through life searching for something she thought she'd never find again—the right man to share her future.
Our passion was boundless. Our lust untamed. And our desire endless. He was the only man who ever made me feel alive. Then, I betrayed him.
When he reappeared, I didn’t question it. Trust rarely survives the wrecking ball, so when he let me in back in—I didn’t hesitate.
Maybe I should have.
What began as a bid to save my family business, turned into a second chance at love. It felt so romantic. Working together, side by side, with the man I loved. My dream come true.
Nothing is as good as it seems.
We had our issues, but then again, every couple does. It wasn’t jealousy, or our too-hot sex life that I should have been worried about.
It was his darkside.
I never saw the end coming, until it slammed me in the face. The question is—did he?
Was revenge his plan all along?
****
Sometimes you have to wonder if your life is too good to be true.Is it real or just an illusion?Does the man lying beside you really love you like he says he does?If the answer is yes, you’re meant to live happily ever after.If the answer is no, you’re living my life, and nothing will ever be the same.
What you do about it—that’s up to you.
Me, I’m in too deep and there’s no getting out.
I’ll take whatever I can get for as long as I can because I know when it’s over…
I’ll never find another man like him.
Ever!

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Handle with Care’ by Marie Harte (Blog Tour) #ReviewAThon

ARC Review: 'Handle with Care' by Marie Harte (Blog Tour) #ReviewAThon

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Handle with Care’ by Marie Harte (Blog Tour) #ReviewAThon

Handle with Care

by Marie Harte
Series: Veteran Movers #3
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on August 27, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Evan Griffith has had a hell of a day... And that was before he met the stunning, sexy woman having a meltdown.

Evan Griffith has had many careers in his life. But who knew working for his family's moving company would hold just as much action as his stint in the Marine Corps? On an unforgettable job, Evan finds himself taken by a teenage conman and confronted by a woman wielding a knife—and promptly falls head over heels for her.
Kenzie Sykes is doing her best to raise her little brother and keep him out of jail—all while dealing with her own broken heart that just hasn't healed. She doesn't have time for romance. He's not asking... Until he is, and she finds herself saying yes.
Veteran Movers series: The Whole Package (Book 1) Smooth Moves (Book 2)Handle with Care (Book 3)
Praise for Marie Harte: "With a protective alpha hero that stole my heart instantly, The Whole Package was sexy, sweet, and thoroughly satisfying."—LAUREN LAYNE, New York Times bestselling author, for The Whole Package "Marie Harte at her best! The Whole Package delivered everything I love—hot alpha, a strong woman, and amazing writing!"—DONNA GRANT, New York Times bestselling author, for The Whole Package "Terrific. I absolutely loved this story."—Night Owl Reviews, TOP PICK for The Only Thing"Another exceptionally red-hot romance by Marie Harte with a strong yet sweet hero!"—Fresh Fiction for Just the Thing

Continue reading

Review: ‘Taking Shots’ by Toni Aleo #Reviewathon

Review: 'Taking Shots' by Toni Aleo #Reviewathon

Review: ‘Taking Shots’ by Toni Aleo #Reviewathon

Taking Shots

by Toni Aleo
Series: Assassins #1
Published by Loveswept on October 4, 2011
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 490
Format: AudioBook
Source: Audible Escape
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-stars

In Toni Aleo’s exhilarating Loveswept debut, the first in a series featuring the hockey hunks of the Nashville Assassins, a reformed bad boy helps a charming, willful woman face off against the demons of her past.   No matter how hard she tries, Elleanor Fisher never thinks she’s good enough, from her job to her weight to her love life. After enduring years of abuse at the hands of an ex-boyfriend, Elli has been drifting through life in a daze. Until, that is, she meets Shea Adler on a promotional shoot for the NHL’s Nashville Assassins. Before Elli knows what’s happening, the gorgeous Shea breaks the ice and shatters her world.   A brilliant athlete inside the rink, Shea Adler is tired of the life he’s living outside of it: the women, the money, the drinking. But everything changes when he meets Elli. After laying eyes on this feisty, witty, beautiful woman, he feels like he’s just taken the hardest hit of his life. No matter how skeptical she is, Shea knows they are meant to be together—if only he can convince Elli to put her insecurities aside before she misses out on a shot at love.
Praise for Toni Aleo’s Nashville Assassins romances  “Aleo melts the ice and hits it into the net with her Assassins series.”—Award-winning author Jami Davenport   “Taking Shots is really the whole package. You get romance, humor, steamy sex, drama, and then it all wraps up with a great conclusion. I am amazed that this is Toni’s first book. She has come out in a huge way. I can’t wait to read more from her. Don’t hesitate for a moment to grab this book.”—Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews   “A little steamy, a little heartbreaking, and a whole lot of fanning yourself are in order this time around readers. Are your cheeks feeling a little pink yet? Get used to the feeling.”—Dreaming in the Pages, on Trying to Score   “Empty Net is an honest, heartwarming, endearing story. . . . Toni Aleo doesn’t just write a story. She gives you the ability to experience the journey of her characters right along with them. Her stories are enveloped with passion, emotion, humor, love; and let me tell you, that girl knows how to write a sex scene that just makes you sweat!”—Guilty Pleasures Book Review   “Sexy and riveting . . . the perfect combination of love and lust.”—USA Today bestselling author Heidi McLaughlin, on Blue Lines  Includes a special message from the editor, as well as excerpts from these Loveswept titles: Trying to Score and Empty Net.

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Judgment of Paris’ by Dr. Rebecca Sharp

Review: 'The Judgment of Paris' by Dr. Rebecca Sharp

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Judgment of Paris’ by Dr. Rebecca Sharp

The Judgment of Paris

Series: The Odyssey Duet #2
Published by Self-Published on July 9, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 332
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Love is honorable but selfish. Love is a record of my wrongs.Love had fractured in trials but held on for the truth.
And the truth was he’d hurt me, yet I loved him. He’d left me, yet I followed him. But I was done with Léo Baudin. And as soon as the semester was over, I would be done with Paris. But until then, I would learn the rest of his secrets. The ones they whispered about behind his back. The ones that had the entire city watching his every move. The ones that held him hostage. But to know his secrets meant to know him. And to know him was to fall further for the man who’d already hurt me so much. I hated him for breaking my heart, but I should’ve learned by now that the things we loathe become the things we love. And just when I thought there was nothing left to keep us apart, the ghosts of his past came back to life with a truth neither of us could have expected. And lies that neither of us could imagine. As each layer unraveled, the choice between power and wisdom and love grew greater. And the consequences of our decision would be the judgment of this city.
But when all else fails, love always hopes. Against all odds, love always perseveres.
The Judgment of Paris is the second book in the Odyssey Duet. It is necessary to read The Fall of Troy (Book 1) first.

Continue reading

Blog Tour Review: ‘Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Two’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Blog Tour Review: 'Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Two' by Lisa Renee Jones

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: ‘Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Two’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Two

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Dirty Rich Secrets #2
Published by Julie Patra Publishing on August 13, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Ashley and Aaron's journey continues right where the prior book left off in this edgy and intense story. More secrets and lies, and more passion and danger. Ashley and Aaron could never be prepared for what's about to happen. Questions will be answered. Answers will lead to more mysteries. And the chemistry between these two will leave you breathless.

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Bride Test’ by Helen Hoang #Reviewathon

Review: 'The Bride Test' by Helen Hoang #Reviewathon

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Bride Test’ by Helen Hoang #Reviewathon

The Bride Test

by Helen Hoang
Series: The Kiss Quotient #2
Published by Berkley on May 7, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 296
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he’s defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes matters into her own hands and returns to Vietnam to find him the perfect bride.
As a mixed-race girl living in the slums of Ho Chi Minh City, Esme Tran has always felt out of place. When the opportunity arises to come to America and meet a potential husband, she can’t turn it down, thinking this could be the break her family needs. Seducing Khai, however, doesn’t go as planned. Esme’s lessons in love seem to be working…but only on herself. She’s hopelessly smitten with a man who’s convinced he can never return her affection.
With Esme’s time in the United States dwindling, Khai is forced to understand he’s been wrong all along. And there’s more than one way to love.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Dirty Rich Secrets: Part One’ by Lisa Renee Jones

ARC Review: 'Dirty Rich Secrets: Part One' by Lisa Renee Jones

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Dirty Rich Secrets: Part One’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Dirty Rich Secrets: Part One

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Dirty Rich Secrets #1
Published by Julie Patra Publishing on July 30, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 100
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

He was passion and the reason I breathed. I loved him, trusted him when life taught me to trust no one. He was nothing I thought he was. He wasn’t even the man he said he was. He was dangerous. Everyone told me to hide, to run, but now he’s back. He came for me and I’m not running at all. Because he’s still the man that gave me a reason to breathe and if that’s dangerous, that’s a risk I will have to take.
Ashley's story - you met her in Dirty Rich Cinderella Story, and now she's ready to tell her story. You do not need to read any book prior to this one.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Discovery’ by Hayley Faiman (Blog Tour)

Review: 'Discovery' by Hayley Faiman (Blog Tour)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Discovery’ by Hayley Faiman (Blog Tour)

DISCOVERY

by Hayley Faiman
Published by Self-Published on July 18, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 307
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Lucas Black, Esquire. The name alone was an enigma. Dressed in a suit that cost more than my rent. Green eyes that danced and a cocky smile firmly planted on kissable lips. The rumors about him were true. I wasn’t ready for all that was Lucas Black. I knew it. I didn’t care. I was willing to take whatever he gave me.

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Wedding Date’ by Jasmine Guillory

Review: 'The Wedding Date' by Jasmine Guillory

Review: ‘The Wedding Date’ by Jasmine Guillory

The Wedding Date

by Jasmine Guillory
Series: The Wedding Date #1
Published by Berkley Books on January 30, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Source: Library
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

A groomsman and his last-minute guest are about to discover if a fake date can go the distance in a fun and flirty debut novel.
Agreeing to go to a wedding with a guy she gets stuck with in an elevator is something Alexa Monroe wouldn't normally do. But there's something about Drew Nichols that's too hard to resist.
On the eve of his ex's wedding festivities, Drew is minus a plus one. Until a power outage strands him with the perfect candidate for a fake girlfriend...
After Alexa and Drew have more fun than they ever thought possible, Drew has to fly back to Los Angeles and his job as a pediatric surgeon, and Alexa heads home to Berkeley, where she's the mayor's chief of staff. Too bad they can't stop thinking about the other...
They're just two high-powered professionals on a collision course toward the long distance dating disaster of the century--or closing the gap between what they think they need and what they truly want...

Continue reading

1 2 3 18