Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

ARC Review: ‘The Dragon Finds Forever’ by Kristen Painter

Books Reviewed This Year

I have reviewed 13 books so far this year.

37%
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
SiteLock
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png

ARC Review: ‘Damage Control’ by @lisareneejones

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Damage Control’ by @lisareneejones

Damage Control

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Dirty Money #2
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on February 21st 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 304
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
five-stars

Wall Street meets the Sons of Anarchy in Damage Control, the smoldering, scorching next novel in the explosively sexy Dirty Money series.
The only thing more dangerous than a dark secret is a damaged heart…
Shane Brandon has been pushed to the brink, torn between his corrupt family and his explosive, all-consuming desire for Emily Stevens, who he now knows is not who, and what, she seems. Has he trusted the wrong person? Will she, not his brother Derek, be the ultimate destruction of his family Empire?
Emily tries to run from Shane, but he will stop her, confront her, force her to reveal all — one hot touch and kiss at a time, under every intimate detail of who this woman is, and what she wants, is exposed. But as he tears away the dangers of the unknowns with the woman in his bed, and in his heart, The Martina Cartel has set their sights on his company, his family, and the one piece of leverage they believe he won’t gamble with: Emily.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Hard Rules’ by Lisa Renee Jones

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Hard Rules’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Hard Rules

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Dirty Money #1
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on August 9th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 293
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Wall Street meets the Sons of Anarchy in the smoldering, scorching first novel in the explosively sexy new Dirty Money series from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones.
How bad do you want it?
The only man within the Brandon empire with a moral compass, Shane Brandon is ready to take his family's business dealings legitimate. His reckless and ruthless brother, Derek wants to keep Brandon Enterprises cemented in lies, deceit, and corruption. But the harder Shane fights to pull the company back into the light, the darker he has to become. Then he meets Emily Stevens, a woman who not only stirs a voracious sexual need in him, but becomes the only thing anchoring him between good and evil.
Emily is consumed by Shane, pushed sexually in ways she never dreamed of, falling deeper into the all-encompassing passion that is this man. She trusts him. He trusts her, but therein lies the danger. Emily has a secret, the very thing that brought her to him in the first place, and that secret that could that destroy them both.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

Ruthless

by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless #1
Published by Berkley on August 9th 2016
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
five-stars

The first in a sexy contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.
The Lawless siblings are bound by vengeance. Riley, Drew, Brandon, and Mia believe the CEO of StratCast orchestrated their parents’ murder twenty years ago to steal their father’s software program. And there’s only one way Riley can find some solid evidence...   Heir to the StratCast legacy, Ellie Stratton hires a new attorney to handle a delicate business matter—and she’s shocked by her attraction to him. Over the course of a few weeks, Riley becomes her lover, her friend, her everything. But when her life is threatened, Ellie discovers that Riley is more obsessed with settling an old score than in the love she thought they were building. And Riley must choose between a revenge he’s prepared for all his life and the woman he’s sure he can’t live without...

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review + Excerpt: ‘Too Hot To Handle’ by @mstessabailey

I received this book for free from Publisher, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review + Excerpt: ‘Too Hot To Handle’ by @mstessabailey

Too Hot To Handle (Romancing the Clarksons, #1)

by Tessa Bailey
Series: Romancing the Clarksons #1
Published by Forever on May 17, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Format: eArc
Source: Publisher, Netgalley
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
four-stars

When rescue looks like a whole lot of trouble . . .
The road trip was definitely a bad idea. Having already flambéed her culinary career beyond recognition, Rita Clarkson is now stranded in God-Knows-Where, New Mexico, with a busted-ass car and her three temperamental siblings, who she hasn't seen in years. When rescue shows up---six-feet-plus of hot, charming sex on a motorcycle---Rita's pretty certain she's gone from the frying pan right into the fire . . .
Jasper Ellis has a bad boy reputation in this town, and he loathes it. The moment he sees Rita, though, Jasper knows he's about to be sorely tempted. There's something real between them. Something raw. And Jasper has only a few days to show Rita that he isn't just for tonight---he's forever.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Not a Mistake’ by Amber Belldene

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Not a Mistake’ by Amber Belldene

Not A Mistake

by Amber Belldene
Series: , #1
Published by Amber Belldene on March 14th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 305
Source: Author
Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Sometimes a scandal isn't a sin...
On the night she graduates from seminary, Jordan Sykes finds herself in bed with Dominic Lawrence, the ethics professor she’s crushed on for years. Two months later, she discovers she’s pregnant and is determined to hide it to protect his career. Maybe, if she loves her new church like hell, they won’t fire her for being a single mother.
Dominic knows the difference between right and wrong, and he’s filled with remorse after sleeping with his favorite student. He’s offered the job of his dreams, but he'd be a hypocrite to accept without making things right with Jordan first.
Dominic proposes marriage to save their careers, never expecting they will prove a perfect—and passionate—match. But can Jordan give her heart to a man who still believes the first night they spent together was a mistake?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘By the Rules’ by Elisabeth Staab

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘By the Rules’ by Elisabeth Staab

By the Rules

by Elisabeth Staab
Series: Evergreen Grove, #3
Published by Self-Published on January 19th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, M/M
Source: Author
Amazon
Goodreads
four-half-stars

He thinks I want him because of the rumors around town. Because I think he’s easy. I want AJ, because he’s AJ.
No liars. No suits. Absolutely no straight guys…
AJ Fabin’s list of rules keeps him safe. Since getting kicked out of his parents’ home and a vicious attack by a former escorting client, his rules and his life in the tiny town of Evergreen Grove provide a quiet haven. He may be lonely, and he may stick out like a sore thumb, but the folks like him well enough. When he’s not dodging his old pimp, things are peaceful.
Hayden Price is having a quarter-life crisis. Engaged to a woman he can’t connect to and working a job he secretly hates, he comes to Evergreen Grove to help his mother through a health scare. Returning to his childhood home makes Hayden re-evaluate a lot of things, including himself. When he meets AJ and finds he can’t stand the mouthy jerk—almost as much as he can’t stop thinking about him—he has a lot more to change than his career.
To be together, they’ll both have to break all of their rules.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Off the Clock’ by Roni Loren

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Off the Clock’ by Roni Loren

Off the Clock

by Roni Loren
Published by Berkley on January 5th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Pages: 432
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
five-stars

FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LOVING ON THE EDGE NOVELS, THE FIRST IN A SENSUAL NEW SERIES
Overtime has never felt so good…
Marin Rush loves studying sex. Doing it? That’s another story. In the research lab, Marin’s lack of practical knowledge didn’t matter, but now that she’s landed a job at The Grove, a high-end, experimental sex therapy institute, she can’t ignore the fact that the person most in need of sexual healing may be her. 
Dr. Donovan West, her new hotshot colleague, couldn’t agree more. Donovan knows that Marin’s clients are going to eat her alive unless she gets some hands-on experience. And if she fails at the job, he can say goodbye to a promotion, so he assigns her a list of R-rated tasks to prepare her for the wild clientele of The Grove’s X-wing.
But some of those tasks are built for two, and when he finds Marin searching for a candidate to help her check off her list, Donovan decides there’s only one man for the job—him. As long as they keep their erotic, off-the-clock activities strictly confidential and without strings, no one will get fired—or worse, get attached…
Exclusive to this edition only—a bonus short story

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Mastered’ by Maya Banks

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Mastered’ by Maya Banks

Mastered

by Maya Banks
Series: The Enforcers #1
Published by Berkley on December 29th 2015
Genres: BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Pages: 368
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
three-stars

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Breathless Trilogy comes the first novel in the Enforcers series—a bold new direction in erotic romance that explores the games men and women play, and the price they’re willing to pay for pleasure.
What he wants, he takes with no remorse or guilt.
She stood out in his club like a gem, unspoiled and untouched. A lamb among wolves, she clearly didn’t belong. Drawn to her innocence he watched as she was surrounded by men who saw what he did—but no one but him could touch her. He summoned her to his private quarters. He sensed her fear. He also recognized the desire in her eyes. And he knew she wouldn’t leave before he possessed her. She had no need to know his secrets. Not until he had her under his complete and utter control.
What he wants, she isn’t sure she can give him.
The moment he told her want he wanted, she couldn’t resist. Instinct told her to run, but her heart said stay and walk the fine line between pleasure and pain. Though she wasn’t sure she could ever completely surrender, the primal part of her wanted to try, even knowing this man could break her in ways she never imagined. Because once he possessed her, he owned her and it would be too late to turn back. She can only pray that he doesn’t destroy her in the end.
Coming May 2016: The Enforcers Book II: Dominated

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Misconduct’ by Penelope Douglas

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Misconduct’ by Penelope Douglas

Misconduct

by Penelope Douglas
Published by NAL on December 1st 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Pages: 368
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
five-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Fall Away series who never fails to deliver a “powerfully written contemporary love story…”*
Former tennis player Easton Bradbury is trying to be the best teacher she can be, trying to reach her bored students and trying to forget her past. What brought her to this stage in her life isn’t important. She can’t let it be. But now one parent-teacher meeting may be her undoing…
Meeting Tyler Marek for the first time makes it easy for Easton to see why his son is having trouble in school. The man knows how to manage businesses and wealth, not a teenage boy. Or a young teacher, for that matter, though he tries to. And yet…there is something about him that draws Easton in—a hint of vulnerability, a flash of attraction, a spark that might burn.
Wanting him is taboo. Needing him is undeniable. And his long-awaited touch will weaken Easton’s resolve—and reveal what should stay hidden…
(*STANDALONE, NO CLIFFHANGER*)

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Feisty Princess’ by Michelle A. Valentine

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Feisty Princess’ by Michelle A. Valentine

Feisty Princess

by Michelle A. Valentine
Series: A Sexy Manhattan Fairytale #2
Published by Self-Published on October 13, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads
four-stars

I’m f**ked. Royally. She tempted me—screwed with my head—and gained the upper hand. She’s the enemy. I can’t forget that. My weakness jeopardized my company. The Feisty Princess of Manhattan will not win this war. No matter how fantastic her lips felt around my cock.
Book two in a three part erotic romance series. Super naughty new series From NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Michelle A. Valentine (Rock the Heart, Phenomenal X, Demon at My Door).
Naughty King (A Sexy Manhattan Fairytale: Part One) Feisty Princess (A Sexy Manhattan Fairytale: Part Two) Dirty Royals (A Sexy Manhattan Fairytale: Part Three) -- Coming Soon
What Readers are saying about the series:
"OH MAH GAWD! This book was HOT. It has all of my favorite things rolled up in one perfect package." --Heather, A Book Whores Obsession
"Naughty King was freaking awesome, really freaking hot, and fanfreakingtastic. I'm freaking out here, can you tell?" --Jen, The Book Avenue
"Short and sassy, that's the way I like my books." --Rusty's Reading
"I'm still wiping the tears from my eyes away. This is the most hilarious book I have read probably in 2015. I literally almost peed my pants." --Sammies' Book Blog
"Wow, I LOVED this one!!! This was my first time reading anything from Michelle A. Valentine, and I’m not sure why seeing as she’s been a huge hit with a lot of my Goodread friends, which is why I jumped at the chance to read Naughty King." -- Cathy, Forever Reading Book Blog
"I loved it! It has that sexual tension with amazing foreplay, then when they got together *BOOM*" -- Kristie, Kristie's Kaptivating Reviews
"If you do not add this one to your TBR list, then you are going to miss one hell of a good book." -- Hooker Heels Book Blog
"I have read everything Ms Valentine has release, but I am telling you know, Naughty King ups the hotness scale a hundredfold." -- Janeane, BJ's Book Blog
"I devoured this entire book like nobody’s business. Holy mother of literary geniuses!!! Michelle Valentine’s Naughty King was SUPER DUPER GOOD and more than I could have ever expected or hoped for. This book checked off every single point in my checklist of everything I could ever ask to be in a book." -- Michelle, We Like It Big Book Blog

My Review  Continue reading