Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Archangel’s Shadows’ by Nalini SinghReview: ‘A Wedding in Springtime’ by Amanda Forester #Romanceopoly2020

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 26 books this year.

21%
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 14

Review: ‘Gemini’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Gemini’ by Gemma James

Gemini

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #3
Published by Self-Published on February 20, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 79
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.

Three men.
Too many betrayals.
A multitude of secrets.

They circle me like the walls in this tower.

Because Landon Astor isn’t who I thought he was. My history entwines with his in ways I don’t want to believe are true. And speaking of histories…Sebastian’s past struts in sporting a pair of stilettos and an attitude to match the lion’s ego.

But discovering the truth about Liam is the harshest blow. He was my safe haven in this madness—the one man I thought I could trust the most.

Now I’m in a free-fall with no one to catch me.

Because if the three men I thought I knew best are capable of turning my world upside down, I don’t want to know what the other nine men in the Zodiac Brotherhood have in store for me.

Part 3 of The Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless Knight’ by A. Jade

ARC Review: 'Ruthless Knight' by A. Jade

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless Knight’ by A. Jade

Ruthless Knight

by A. Jade, Ashley Jade
Series: Royal Hearts Academy
Published by Self-Published on January 23, 2020
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars


Welcome to their kingdom.

Cole Covington is the most popular heartbreaker at school. Every guy wants to be him and every girl wants to screw him. Except me. His devastatingly good looks, golden arm, and flirty smiles don't do it for me anymore...because I know what's lurking underneath the star quarterback's gorgeous armor.
At least I thought I did.
Sometimes the most beautiful people...hide the ugliest truths. And sometimes the only way to save someone... is to walk beside them through hell.
Sawyer Church is the bible-thumping nerd of Royal Hearts Academy. Girls pick on her and guys don't notice her. Except me. Sweet, curvy, and sarcastic, she's impossible to ignore. No matter how much I try. Everyone at school has her pegged as the chubby, Jesus loving geek, but unlike them—Sawyer's real and never pretends to be someone she's not.
Until I ask her to be my fake girlfriend.
Sometimes the most beautiful souls...hide the greatest pain. And sometimes the only way to save someone... is to fight for them.
This is book 2 in the Royal Hearts Academy series. Please note: Although this is Cole and Sawyer's book, Cruel Prince (Jace and Dylan’s book) should be read first for a better understanding of the family dynamic. WARNING: Royal Hearts Academy is a New Adult/High School series of standalones filled with drama, a touch of angst, and boys who are bad to the bone. The characters are flawed. If you're looking for a safe, sweet romance with nice heroes and heroines who are perfect all the time, this series is NOT for you.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Dark Desires’ by Aja James

Review: 'Dark Desires' by Aja James

Review: ‘Dark Desires’ by Aja James

Dark Desires

by Aja James
Published by Self-Published on April 5, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 331
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

Ryu Takamura is the Dark Ones’ Assassin. He has never missed his target…until now. Until her.
Ava Monroe is a talented geneticist who holds the key to the vampire race’s future…and perhaps her own as well.
Their attraction is explosive from the first. She would do anything to have him. He would sacrifice all to protect her.
But will their love triumph over seemingly impossible odds as they battle enemies new and old? Especially the demons from Ryu’s past? And deep within his heart?


Continue reading

Review: ‘The Mistake’ by Elle Kennedy #RomanceopolyChallenege2020

Review: 'The Mistake' by Elle Kennedy #RomanceopolyChallenege2020

Review: ‘The Mistake’ by Elle Kennedy #RomanceopolyChallenege2020

The Mistake

by Elle Kennedy
Series: Off-Campus #2
Published by Self-Published on May 6, 2015
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 296
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

He’s a player in more ways than one…
College junior John Logan can get any girl he wants. For this hockey star, life is a parade of parties and hook-ups, but behind his killer grins and easygoing charm, he hides growing despair about the dead-end road he’ll be forced to walk after graduation. A sexy encounter with freshman Grace Ivers is just the distraction he needs, but when a thoughtless mistake pushes her away, Logan plans to spend his final year proving to her that he’s worth a second chance.
Now he’s going to need to up his game…
After a less than stellar freshman year, Grace is back at Briar University, older, wiser, and so over the arrogant hockey player she nearly handed her V-card to. She’s not a charity case, and she’s not the quiet butterfly she was when they first hooked up. If Logan expects her to roll over and beg like all his other puck bunnies, he can think again. He wants her back? He’ll have to work for it. This time around, she’ll be the one in the driver’s seat…and she plans on driving him wild.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Winter’ by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: 'Winter' by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: ‘Winter’ by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Winter: A High School Bully Romance

by McKayla Box
Series: Sunset Beach High #2
Published by Self-Published on August 13, 2019
Genres: High School Bully Romance
Pages: 197
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

I'm not New Girl anymore.
I have friends.
And I have Trevor.
Friends I trust and a boy I love.
Things should be easy.
But things are never that easy.
Never that simple.
Because I also have enemies.
Old and new.
And they aren't happy that I'm happy.
So the target is still on my back.
And it's bigger than ever.
WARNING: Winter is the second book in The Sunset Beach High series. It contains mature themes, sexual content, and profanity. If you're not a fan of those things, this isn't the book for you. But if you like serious stuff mixed with lots of bad words and some sweaty sex, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. It is the second in a four book series.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Taurus’ by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Review: 'Taurus' by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Review: ‘Taurus’ by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Taurus

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #2
Published by Self-Published on December 10, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 80
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Twelve diamonds.That’s the number of precious stones in my crown.And when I break one of Heath Bordeaux’s stringent rules, I lose one.Earning it back entails pain and degradation.No one can save me from his reign.Not even Liam Castle.

Part 2 of the Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

Calico Descending

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #2
Published by Self-Published on October 29, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In a world of suffering and brutality, she's the key to his humanity ...
I was fourteen when I was sold to the men in black uniforms. Too young to understand I served a purpose beyond that of the other girls they’d taken.
For the greater good.
Now, after four years in Calico, I’ve seen more death and suffering than during my days of surviving out in the Deadlands against the threat of Ragers and famine. I didn’t think this world could get any bleaker. Didn’t think it could take any more from me than it already had.
Not until I finally learned my purpose.
That same day, I walked the dark halls in the bowels of this hell, where the suffering is in silence, and ghosts of the dead whisper through the walls. A place where nightmares are real.
A place where I met my Champion—the most revered Alpha in S-Block—locked away in his dark cell.
For the greater good.
He’s their weapon, their only line of defense against the mistakes of the past: the mutations that could wipe out all of what’s left of us.
Me, I’m his whipping girl. His reward for good behavior. And his punishment for acts of defiance.
Calico Descending is the follow up book to Juniper Unraveling, a full-length dystopian post apocalyptic romance.
SERIES READING ORDER: Juniper Unraveling (Book 1) Calico Descending (Book 2) Kings of Carrion (Book 3)


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Beyond the Pale’ by Jennifer Millikin

ARC Review: 'Beyond the Pale' by Jennifer Millikin

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Beyond the Pale’ by Jennifer Millikin

Beyond the Pale

by Jennifer Millikin
Published by Self-Published on October 22, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
four-stars

My whole life I’ve known Finn Jeffries and Brady Sterling would be my undoing.

The three of us were inseparable, but growing up with two boys as your best friends comes with it’s own certain type of growing pains.

As a child, Finn was wild and free, and grew up to be a devilishly handsome man with a smirk that frustrated me as much as it did other things to me.
Brady was brave and loyal, and the kind of man he grew into didn't surprise me a bit: devoted and gallant, with a handsome, trustworthy face that made my heart beat faster.

We went our separate ways for college, but now it’s eight years later and a pact we made back then has brought us back to our hometown.
Back to the complicated situation we ran from.
Back to the love triangle we never really escaped.

I love them both, and it’s time for me to make a choice.
I’ve always known one of them would be my forever, I just never knew which one.
And I still don’t.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Review: 'Juniper Unraveling' by Keri Lake

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Juniper Unraveling

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #1
Published by Self-Published on October 31, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Papa says everyone has a story that deserves to be told.
Most begin years ago, after the second bomb hit, unearthing a deadly contagion that divided the population into the pure, the infected, and the Ragers.
Many recount the moment we rose up from the ashes and started anew.
Others tell of the day we built a wall to keep them out.
For some, they’re nothing more than the vestiges left behind—a simple name carved into the knotty bark of a Juniper tree.
My story begins with a boy. A mute, from the other side of the wall, known only as Six, who touched my heart in ways that words never could, and gave me the courage to face my darkest truth.
Warning: This book contains explicit sexual content, and violent scenes that some readers may find disturbing.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

ARC Review: 'Damage' by Natasha Knight

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

Damage

by Natasha Knight
Series: Collateral Damage #2
Published by Self-Published on October 15, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

We're a match made in hell, Stefan and I.
He took me to exact his revenge. I went from being a pawn to my father to being a pawn to Stefan. The only difference is I have a ring the size of a boulder on my finger and a husband I don't want.
And the hardest part is I thought he was different. I thought I was falling in love.
I guess my father was right. I'm not a very smart girl.
Stefan is a powerful man. He doesn't play nice, not if you're his enemy. But I've learned one thing about my husband. He takes care of what's his. And I am his.
His enemies have become my enemies, but he'll never let anyone hurt me. He's fiercely protective.
It's the predator inside that scares me.


Continue reading

1 2 3 14