Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Narcissus in Chains’ by Laurell K. HamiltonARC: ‘In the Penalty Box’ by Lynn Rush and Kelly Anne Blount

Books Reviewed in 2021

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 2 books this year.

2%
January Reviews
Marked by P.C. Cast, Kristin CastCrown of Bones by A.K. Wilder
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Review: ‘Leo’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Leo’ by Gemma James

Leo

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #5
Published by Self-Published on August 29, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 82
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Sebastian Stone is a collision of passion and thorns. He shares a side of himself that few people witness. Hot-headed one minute, and sweet and tender the next—we mix like fire and air, igniting a chemical explosion that consumes us both.
But our foundation shakes under distrust and insecurities, because tragedies have visited us in the past, making for wary hearts. Yet the lion holds mine in his possessive grasp, refusing to give an inch. Sebastian demands all of me, even though Liam Castle says he doesn’t deserve it.
As the consequences of past mistakes intrude into the House of Leo, part of me fears the chancellor is right.

Part 5 of The Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Conclave’ by Penelope Douglas

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Conclave’ by Penelope Douglas

Conclave

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #3.5
Published by Self-Published on November 23, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Dark Romance
Pages: 96
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

DAMON
Will is gone. He hasn’t been seen in months, and the texts coming from his phone are almost certainly forged. Something’s wrong. We need to act now.
Michael is ready to tear down The Cove, Rika’s hiding something, Evans Crist is a threat, and Winter’s father is still out there.
Everyone is off in a million directions, and we’re vulnerable.It’s time to do this.
It’s time to claim our place.
RIKA
A few years ago, I never thought I’d be here. On board Pithom. Miles out at sea. At a table with Michael Crist, Kai Mori, and Damon Torrance—men I now consider family.
We’ve locked ourselves on this yacht for however long it takes to address our agenda, and we won’t leave until everything is on the table.
Even things I don’t want to talk about. Things Michael doesn’t know.
We will find Will. We will solidify our plans, and we will remove any threats.
If we survive Conclave.
*Conclave is a 27,000 word novella that is available for FREE on the author's website and on her Wattpad. You do not have to pay for it. But for those of you who would love this as part of your ebook and/or paperback libraries, it has been made available in both formats. Please be aware it takes place between Kill Switch (Devil’s Night #3) and Nightfall (Devil’s Night #4) and is only suitable for readers 18+. Please read Corrupt, Hideaway, and Kill Switch prior to reading this novella.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Kill Switch’ by Penelope Douglas

Review: ‘Kill Switch’ by Penelope Douglas

Kill Switch

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #3
Published by Self-Published on February 9, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Dark Romance
Pages: 522
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

"I've done far worse than what I went to prison for.She has no idea how bad this can get."
WINTER

Sending him to prison was the worst thing I could’ve done. It didn’t matter that he did the crime or that I wished he was dead. Perhaps I thought I’d have time to disappear before he got out or he’d cool off in jail and be anything but the horror he was.
But I was wrong. Three years came and went too fast, and now he’s anything but calm. Prison only gave him time to plan.
And while I anticipated his vengeance, I didn’t expect this.
He doesn’t want to make me hurt. He wants to make everything hurt.
DAMON
First thing’s first. Get rid of her daddy. He told them I forced her. He told them his little girl was a victim, but I was a kid, too, and she wanted it just as much as I did.
Step two… Give her, her sister, and her mother nowhere to run and no fuel to escape. The Ashby women are alone now and desperate for a knight in shining armor.
But that’s not what’s coming.
No, it’s time I listened to my father and took control of my future. It’s time I showed them all—my family, her family, my friends—that I will never change and that I have no other ambition than to be the nightmare of their lives.
Starting with her.
She’ll be so scared, she won’t even be safe in her own head by the time I’m done with her. And the best part is I won’t have to break into her home to do it.
As the new man of the house I have all the keys.
Kill Switch is a romantic suspense suitable for readers 18+. It is advised to read Corrupt (Devil's Night #1) and Hideaway (Devil's Night #2) prior to reading this book.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Hideaway’ by Penelope Douglas

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Hideaway’ by Penelope Douglas

Hideaway

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #2
Published by Self-Published on October 1, 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Dark Romance
Pages: 437
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

The second installment in the Devil's Night Series...
Cover and Synopsis Coming May 26!
*Hideaway is a romantic suspense suitable for ages 18+. While the romance in this story is a stand-alone, the plot is a continuation of events that began in CORRUPT. It is strongly recommended that you have read Corrupt (Devil’s Night #1) prior to reading this book. Corrupt is currently on sale for only $0.99.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Cancer’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Cancer’ by Gemma James

Cancer

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #4
Published by Self-Published on June 23, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Three teaspoons.Two men.One choice.
That’s what awaits me in the House of Cancer. Vance Morgan’s gift is unexpected—an evening spent with any member of the Brotherhood I choose.
My heart gives me two options.My body wants the lion.But my mind wants the truth.
And those three teaspoons I mentioned? They contain an elixir that lowers inhibitions. With my judgement compromised, mistakes are bound to be made.
I hope one of them isn’t trusting the wrong man.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Gemini’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Gemini’ by Gemma James

Gemini

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #3
Published by Self-Published on February 20, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 79
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.

Three men.
Too many betrayals.
A multitude of secrets.

They circle me like the walls in this tower.

Because Landon Astor isn’t who I thought he was. My history entwines with his in ways I don’t want to believe are true. And speaking of histories…Sebastian’s past struts in sporting a pair of stilettos and an attitude to match the lion’s ego.

But discovering the truth about Liam is the harshest blow. He was my safe haven in this madness—the one man I thought I could trust the most.

Now I’m in a free-fall with no one to catch me.

Because if the three men I thought I knew best are capable of turning my world upside down, I don’t want to know what the other nine men in the Zodiac Brotherhood have in store for me.

Part 3 of The Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Taurus’ by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Review: ‘Taurus’ by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Taurus

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #2
Published by Self-Published on December 10, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 80
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Twelve diamonds.That’s the number of precious stones in my crown.And when I break one of Heath Bordeaux’s stringent rules, I lose one.Earning it back entails pain and degradation.No one can save me from his reign.Not even Liam Castle.

Part 2 of the Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

Calico Descending

by Keri Lake
Series: Juniper Unraveling #2
Published by Self-Published on October 29, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In a world of suffering and brutality, she's the key to his humanity ...
I was fourteen when I was sold to the men in black uniforms. Too young to understand I served a purpose beyond that of the other girls they’d taken.
For the greater good.
Now, after four years in Calico, I’ve seen more death and suffering than during my days of surviving out in the Deadlands against the threat of Ragers and famine. I didn’t think this world could get any bleaker. Didn’t think it could take any more from me than it already had.
Not until I finally learned my purpose.
That same day, I walked the dark halls in the bowels of this hell, where the suffering is in silence, and ghosts of the dead whisper through the walls. A place where nightmares are real.
A place where I met my Champion—the most revered Alpha in S-Block—locked away in his dark cell.
For the greater good.
He’s their weapon, their only line of defense against the mistakes of the past: the mutations that could wipe out all of what’s left of us.
Me, I’m his whipping girl. His reward for good behavior. And his punishment for acts of defiance.
Calico Descending is the follow up book to Juniper Unraveling, a full-length dystopian post apocalyptic romance.
SERIES READING ORDER: Juniper Unraveling (Book 1) Calico Descending (Book 2) Kings of Carrion (Book 3)


Continue reading

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Juniper Unraveling

by Keri Lake
Series: Juniper Unraveling #1
Published by Self-Published on October 31, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Papa says everyone has a story that deserves to be told.
Most begin years ago, after the second bomb hit, unearthing a deadly contagion that divided the population into the pure, the infected, and the Ragers.
Many recount the moment we rose up from the ashes and started anew.
Others tell of the day we built a wall to keep them out.
For some, they’re nothing more than the vestiges left behind—a simple name carved into the knotty bark of a Juniper tree.
My story begins with a boy. A mute, from the other side of the wall, known only as Six, who touched my heart in ways that words never could, and gave me the courage to face my darkest truth.
Warning: This book contains explicit sexual content, and violent scenes that some readers may find disturbing.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

Damage

by Natasha Knight
Series: Collateral Damage #2
Published by Self-Published on October 15, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

We're a match made in hell, Stefan and I.
He took me to exact his revenge. I went from being a pawn to my father to being a pawn to Stefan. The only difference is I have a ring the size of a boulder on my finger and a husband I don't want.
And the hardest part is I thought he was different. I thought I was falling in love.
I guess my father was right. I'm not a very smart girl.
Stefan is a powerful man. He doesn't play nice, not if you're his enemy. But I've learned one thing about my husband. He takes care of what's his. And I am his.
His enemies have become my enemies, but he'll never let anyone hurt me. He's fiercely protective.
It's the predator inside that scares me.


Continue reading