Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Angel’s Flight’ by Nalini Singh

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 123 books this year.

98%
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

Calico Descending

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #2
Published by Self-Published on October 29, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In a world of suffering and brutality, she's the key to his humanity ...
I was fourteen when I was sold to the men in black uniforms. Too young to understand I served a purpose beyond that of the other girls they’d taken.
For the greater good.
Now, after four years in Calico, I’ve seen more death and suffering than during my days of surviving out in the Deadlands against the threat of Ragers and famine. I didn’t think this world could get any bleaker. Didn’t think it could take any more from me than it already had.
Not until I finally learned my purpose.
That same day, I walked the dark halls in the bowels of this hell, where the suffering is in silence, and ghosts of the dead whisper through the walls. A place where nightmares are real.
A place where I met my Champion—the most revered Alpha in S-Block—locked away in his dark cell.
For the greater good.
He’s their weapon, their only line of defense against the mistakes of the past: the mutations that could wipe out all of what’s left of us.
Me, I’m his whipping girl. His reward for good behavior. And his punishment for acts of defiance.
Calico Descending is the follow up book to Juniper Unraveling, a full-length dystopian post apocalyptic romance.
SERIES READING ORDER: Juniper Unraveling (Book 1) Calico Descending (Book 2) Kings of Carrion (Book 3)

Continue reading

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Review: 'Juniper Unraveling' by Keri Lake

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Juniper Unraveling

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #1
Published by Self-Published on October 31, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Papa says everyone has a story that deserves to be told.
Most begin years ago, after the second bomb hit, unearthing a deadly contagion that divided the population into the pure, the infected, and the Ragers.
Many recount the moment we rose up from the ashes and started anew.
Others tell of the day we built a wall to keep them out.
For some, they’re nothing more than the vestiges left behind—a simple name carved into the knotty bark of a Juniper tree.
My story begins with a boy. A mute, from the other side of the wall, known only as Six, who touched my heart in ways that words never could, and gave me the courage to face my darkest truth.
Warning: This book contains explicit sexual content, and violent scenes that some readers may find disturbing.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

ARC Review: 'Damage' by Natasha Knight

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

Damage

by Natasha Knight
Series: Collateral Damage #2
Published by Self-Published on October 15, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

We're a match made in hell, Stefan and I.
He took me to exact his revenge. I went from being a pawn to my father to being a pawn to Stefan. The only difference is I have a ring the size of a boulder on my finger and a husband I don't want.
And the hardest part is I thought he was different. I thought I was falling in love.
I guess my father was right. I'm not a very smart girl.
Stefan is a powerful man. He doesn't play nice, not if you're his enemy. But I've learned one thing about my husband. He takes care of what's his. And I am his.
His enemies have become my enemies, but he'll never let anyone hurt me. He's fiercely protective.
It's the predator inside that scares me.

Continue reading

Blog Tour: ‘Aries’ by Gemma James (#Review)

Blog Tour: 'Aries' by Gemma James (#Review)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: ‘Aries’ by Gemma James (#Review)

Aries

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #1
Published by Self-Published on October 1, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
The first time I met the boys of the Zodiac Brotherhood, I was forced to my knees for the introduction. Still grieving the death of my parents, I was a child queen, a pawn in my uncle’s agenda for wealth and gain. As my guardian, he had the authority to arrange a marriage upon my eighteenth birthday.
That meeting took place six years ago. Now those boys are powerful men. Twelve virile men that want to own me.
And I must spend a month with each one. Bending and yielding to their desires and commands. Shedding pieces of my innocence so long as my virtue remains intact.
Because they want a virgin queen after the last month concludes, and my uncle plans to auction me off to the highest bidder.
Out of the twelve men, only one has my heart. And only one can claim my hand in marriage. If only it were up to me to decide.

Part 1 of The Zodiac Queen.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Collateral’ by Natasha Knight

ARC Review: 'Collateral' by Natasha Knight

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Collateral’ by Natasha Knight

Collateral

by Natasha Knight
Series: Collateral Damage #1
Published by Self-Published on September 23, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
four-half-stars

Gabriela

Stefan Sabbioni showed up in my bedroom on my sixteenth birthday. Uninvited, he stood in the shadows smelling of whiskey and death and wrapped a broken, blood-crusted necklace around my neck.

I thought he’d strangle me with it.

That night, he left a message for my father. He said he’d be back to take something precious.

I never delivered that message, though. I wonder if things would be different if I had because now, two years later, he’s back. And he’s not hiding in any shadows.

He’s come to make good on his promise.
He’s back to take that something precious.
Me.

Stefan

Marchese is the manipulator of my family’s tragedy. I won’t just bring him to his knees. I’ll bury him for what he did.

Taking his daughter is only the beginning. I’ll do it knowing I’m starting a war. I’ll do it knowing my enemies will become his allies. They’ll stop at nothing to destroy me and he’ll stop at nothing to get her back.

I’ve never shied away from war, though. I’m not one to play nice and I don’t share my toys. I’ll demolish you if you touch what’s mine.

And she is most definitely mine.

Continue reading

Review: ‘BEAST: The Beginning’ by Mary Catherine Gebhard

Review: 'BEAST: The Beginning' by Mary Catherine Gebhard

Review: ‘BEAST: The Beginning’ by Mary Catherine Gebhard

Beast: The Beginning

by Mary Catherine Gebhard
Published by Trendlettrs on March 14, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 570
Format: eBook
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Once upon a time, I thought love was a fairytale.
I thought selling myself to a mafia boss was noble. So what if they called him the Beast? I grew up in rags, and he would lift me to riches. All I had to do was give him my soul.
He was punishing. Insatiable. Captivating. Nothing like I expected him to be. Each day my reality blurred, leaving me wondering if I was slave or princess.
The longer I stayed, the more I lost myself to him. Even after every cruelty the Beast visited upon me, I longed for his touch. Even after every savage word he spoke, I begged for his lips. I thought the worst thing he could take was my body. I was too naïve to guard my heart.
Once upon a time, I thought love was a fairytale.
Now I know better than to speak of happily ever afters.
Beast is the first book in the Hate Story duet. About what it means to fall in love with the person who has absolutely destroyed you, it contains disturbing and graphic situations that may be a trigger for some.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Corrupt’ by Penelope Douglas #romanceopoly

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Corrupt’ by Penelope Douglas #romanceopoly

Corrupt

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #1
Published by Self-Published on November 17, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance
Pages: 461
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars


From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Douglas comes a new dark romance...

ErikaI was told that dreams were our heart's desires. My nightmares, however, became my obsession.
His name is Michael Crist.
My boyfriend's older brother is like that scary movie that you peek through your hand to watch. He's handsome, strong, and completely terrifying. The star of his college's basketball team and now gone pro, he's more concerned with the dirt on his shoe than me.
But I noticed him.
I saw him. I heard him. The things that he did, and the deeds that he hid... For years, I bit my nails, unable to look away.
Now, I've graduated high school and moved on to college, but I haven't stopped watching Michael. He's bad, and the dirt I've seen isn't content to stay in my head anymore.
Because he's finally noticed me.
MichaelHer name is Erika Fane, but everyone calls her Rika.
My brother's girlfriend grew up hanging around my house and is always at our dinner table. She looks down when I enter a room and stills when I am close. I can always feel the fear rolling off of her, and while I haven't had her body, I know that I have her mind. That's all I really want anyway.
Until my brother leaves for the military, and I find Rika alone at college.
In my city.
Unprotected.
The opportunity is too good to be true, as well as the timing. Because you see, three years ago she put a few of my high school friends in prison, and now they're out.
We've waited. We've been patient. And now every last one of her nightmares will come true.
*Corrupt is a STANDALONE dark romance with no cliffhanger. It is suitable for ages 18+.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Tormentor Mine’ by @AnnaZaires

ARC Review: 'Tormentor Mine' by @AnnaZaires

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
ARC Review: ‘Tormentor Mine’ by @AnnaZaires

Tormentor Mine

by Anna Zaires
Published by Mozaika Publications on March 28, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 350
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A new dark romance from New York Times bestseller Anna Zaires
He came to me in the night, a cruel, darkly handsome stranger from the most dangerous corners of Russia. He tormented me and destroyed me, ripping apart my world in his quest for vengeance.
Now he's back, but he’s no longer after my secrets.
The man who stars in my nightmares wants me.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Ricochet by @KeriLake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Ricochet by @KeriLake

Ricochet

by Keri Lake
Series: Vigilantes #1
Published by Self-Published on January 1st 1970
Genres: Dark Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 530
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The only sure way to destroy a man is to take what he cannot live without.
Three years ago, I had everything.
A beautiful wife.A son.A reason for living.
Until a ruthless task force, assembled under Mayor Michael Culling, with a brutal strategy to make the streets of Detroit ‘safe’, ripped away everything I loved in a deadly hunt called The Culling.
They tried to kill me, too. I wish they had. Now I'm cursed by the memories of that night, and the words I whispered to my dying wife.
A promise—to avenge the wrong and set it right.
I’m no longer Nick Ryder. I’m a masked vigilante. Faceless. Loveless. Fearless. A man with nothing left to lose—one who's seen the dark and violent truth behind the city’s flawless veneer.
Michael Culling doesn’t know who I am. Or what I want. All he knows is that I’ve kidnapped his beautiful wife.
An eye for an eye—isn’t that how the saying goes? And Aubree Culling is the perfect pawn to destroy him.
If she doesn’t destroy me first.

My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Debt Inheritance’ by Pepper Winters

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Debt Inheritance’ by Pepper Winters

Debt Inheritance

by Pepper Winters
Series: Indebted #1
Published by Self-Published on August 14, 2014
Pages: 222
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-stars

“I own you. I have the piece of paper to prove it. It’s undeniable and unbreakable. You belong to me until you’ve paid off your debts.”
Nila Weaver’s family is indebted. Being the first born daughter, her life is forfeit to the first born son of the Hawks to pay for sins of ancestors past. The dark ages might have come and gone, but debts never leave. She has no choice in the matter.
She is no longer free.
Jethro Hawk receives Nila as an inheritance present on his twenty-ninth birthday. Her life is his until she’s paid off a debt that’s centuries old. He can do what he likes with her—nothing is out of bounds—she has to obey.
There are no rules. Only payments.

Continue reading