Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

Books Reviewed in 2019

We have reviewed 8 books this year.

16%
January Reviews
Cruel Money by K.A. LindeHold Me Today by Maria LuisWrong Bed, Right Roommate by Rebecca BrooksOne Cruel Night by K.A. LindeEvidence of Desire by Lexi BlakeTaken by a Dragon by Felicity HeatonCowboy Wolf Trouble by Kait BallengerNightchaser by Amanda Bouchet
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

ARC Review: ‘Evidence of Desire’ by Lexi Blake (Blog Tour)

ARC Review: 'Evidence of Desire' by Lexi Blake (Blog Tour)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Evidence of Desire’ by Lexi Blake (Blog Tour)

Evidence of Desire

by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #2
Published by Berkley on January 8, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks
Goodreads
five-stars

A fast-paced contemporary romance that sizzles from the New York Times bestselling author of Order of Protection where passion for the law isn't the only thing heating up the courtroom.

Isla Shayne knows she's in over her head. As former all-star linebacker Trey Adams's personal lawyer, she's used to handling his business dealings and private financial matters, not murder charges. She needs to find an experienced criminal attorney who speaks her client's language. David Cormack of Garrison, Cormack and Lawless is exactly what she needs in the courtroom—and the only man she wants in the bedroom.

For David, taking on the Adams case means diving back into a world he thought he'd left behind and colliding head on with tragic possibilities he's in no mood to face. There's a reason professional football is in his past and no matter how close Isla gets to the truth he intends to leave it there.

But long days working on the case together lead to hot nights in each other's arms. As their feelings grow, the case takes a deadly twist that could change the game between the two lovers forever.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Order of Protection’ by Lexi Blake

Review: ‘Order of Protection’ by Lexi Blake

Order of Protection

by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #1
Published by Berkley on June 5, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

A sexy and suspenseful new contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake where love and law entwine for a conviction of the heart.
To high-end defense attorney Henry Garrison, Win Hughes is a woman he met during one of the most trying times of his life. She's soft and warm, and he finds solace in their brief relationship. But Win has a secret. She's actually Taylor Winston-Hughes—born to one of the wealthiest families in the country, orphaned as a child by a tragic accident. Win moves in the wealthiest circles, but her lavish lifestyle hides her pain.
When her best friend is murdered in the midst of a glittering New York gala, Win's charged with the crime, and the only person in the world she wants to see is Henry.
Henry is shocked at the true identity of his lover, but he can't reject the case. This trial could take his new firm into the stratosphere. Still, he's not getting burned by Win again. And yet every turn brings them closer together.
As the case takes a wild turn and Win's entire life is upended, she must look to the people she's closest to in order to find a killer. And Henry must decide between making his case and saving the woman he loves...

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Deja Who’ by Mary Janice Davidson

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley, publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Deja Who’ by Mary Janice Davidson

Deja Who

by MaryJanice Davidson
Series: Insighter #1
Published by Berkley on September 6th 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 304
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Leah Nazir is an Insighter. Reincarnation is her business. But while her clients' pasts are a mess, Leah's is nothing short of tragedy. She's been murdered. A lot. If left to that bitch, destiny, it'll happen again. Leah wants to know who's been following her through time, and who's been stalking her in the present...
P.I. Archer Drake has been hired by Leah's mother to keep an eye on her. But the more time he spends watching, the more he finds himself infatuated. Before long, he even finds himself agreeing to help find the person who wants her dead. Over and over again.
Now going full-on "rewind," Leah hopes it can stave off the inevitable. After all, she's grown fond of this life - and even fonder of nerdy Archer. But changing her pattern means finding out who her killer is today. And as Leah fears, that could be anyone she has come to know and trust. Anyone.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

Ruthless

by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless #1
Published by Berkley on August 9th 2016
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The first in a sexy contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.
The Lawless siblings are bound by vengeance. Riley, Drew, Brandon, and Mia believe the CEO of StratCast orchestrated their parents’ murder twenty years ago to steal their father’s software program. And there’s only one way Riley can find some solid evidence...   Heir to the StratCast legacy, Ellie Stratton hires a new attorney to handle a delicate business matter—and she’s shocked by her attraction to him. Over the course of a few weeks, Riley becomes her lover, her friend, her everything. But when her life is threatened, Ellie discovers that Riley is more obsessed with settling an old score than in the love she thought they were building. And Riley must choose between a revenge he’s prepared for all his life and the woman he’s sure he can’t live without...

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Off the Clock’ by Roni Loren

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Off the Clock’ by Roni Loren

Off the Clock

by Roni Loren
Published by Berkley on January 5th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Pages: 432
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE LOVING ON THE EDGE NOVELS, THE FIRST IN A SENSUAL NEW SERIES
Overtime has never felt so good…
Marin Rush loves studying sex. Doing it? That’s another story. In the research lab, Marin’s lack of practical knowledge didn’t matter, but now that she’s landed a job at The Grove, a high-end, experimental sex therapy institute, she can’t ignore the fact that the person most in need of sexual healing may be her. 
Dr. Donovan West, her new hotshot colleague, couldn’t agree more. Donovan knows that Marin’s clients are going to eat her alive unless she gets some hands-on experience. And if she fails at the job, he can say goodbye to a promotion, so he assigns her a list of R-rated tasks to prepare her for the wild clientele of The Grove’s X-wing.
But some of those tasks are built for two, and when he finds Marin searching for a candidate to help her check off her list, Donovan decides there’s only one man for the job—him. As long as they keep their erotic, off-the-clock activities strictly confidential and without strings, no one will get fired—or worse, get attached…
Exclusive to this edition only—a bonus short story

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Scandal Never Sleeps’ by Shayla Black & Lexi Blake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Scandal Never Sleeps’ by Shayla Black & Lexi Blake

Scandal Never Sleeps

by Shayla Black, Lexi Blake
Series: The Perfect Gentlemen #1
Published by Berkley on August 18th 2015
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 400
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

From the New York Times bestselling authors of the Masters of Ménage series . . .
They are the Perfect Gentlemen of Creighton Academy: privileged, wealthy, powerful friends with a wild side. But a deadly scandal is about to tear down their seemingly ideal lives . . .
Maddox Crawford’s sudden death sends Gabriel Bond reeling. Not only is he burying his best friend, he’s cleaning up Mad’s messes, including his troubled company. Grieving and restless, Gabe escapes his worries in the arms of a beautiful stranger. But his mind-blowing one-night stand is about to come back to haunt him . . .
Mad groomed Everly Parker to be a rising star in the executive world. Now that he’s gone, she’s sure her job will be the next thing she mourns, especially after she ends up accidentally sleeping with her new boss. If only their night together hadn’t been so incendiary—or Gabe like a fantasy come true . . .
As Gabe and Everly struggle to control the heated tension between them, they discover evidence that Mad’s death was no accident. Now they must bank their smoldering passions to hunt down a murderer—because Mad had secrets that someone was willing to kill for, and Gabe or Everly could be the next target . . .

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Mastered’ by Maya Banks

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Mastered’ by Maya Banks

Mastered

by Maya Banks
Series: The Enforcers #1
Published by Berkley on December 29th 2015
Genres: BDSM, Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Pages: 368
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
three-stars

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Breathless Trilogy comes the first novel in the Enforcers series—a bold new direction in erotic romance that explores the games men and women play, and the price they’re willing to pay for pleasure.
What he wants, he takes with no remorse or guilt.
She stood out in his club like a gem, unspoiled and untouched. A lamb among wolves, she clearly didn’t belong. Drawn to her innocence he watched as she was surrounded by men who saw what he did—but no one but him could touch her. He summoned her to his private quarters. He sensed her fear. He also recognized the desire in her eyes. And he knew she wouldn’t leave before he possessed her. She had no need to know his secrets. Not until he had her under his complete and utter control.
What he wants, she isn’t sure she can give him.
The moment he told her want he wanted, she couldn’t resist. Instinct told her to run, but her heart said stay and walk the fine line between pleasure and pain. Though she wasn’t sure she could ever completely surrender, the primal part of her wanted to try, even knowing this man could break her in ways she never imagined. Because once he possessed her, he owned her and it would be too late to turn back. She can only pray that he doesn’t destroy her in the end.
Coming May 2016: The Enforcers Book II: Dominated

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Affliction’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Affliction’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Affliction

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #22
Published by Berkley on July 2nd 2013
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 570
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

Some zombies are raised. Others must be put down. Just ask Anita Blake.
Before now, she would have considered them merely off-putting, never dangerous. Before now, she had never heard of any of them causing human beings to perish in agony. But that’s all changed.
Micah’s estranged father lies dying, rotting away inside from some strange ailment that has his doctors whispering about “zombie disease.”
Anita makes her living off of zombies—but these aren’t the kind she knows so well. These creatures hunt in daylight, and are as fast and strong as vampires. If they bite you, you become just like them. And round and round it goes…
Where will it stop?Even Anita Blake doesn’t know.

My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Razed’ by Shiloh Walker

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Razed’ by Shiloh Walker

Razed

by Shiloh Walker
Series: Barnes Brothers #2
Published by Berkley on December 2, 2014
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 304
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Tattoo artist Keelie Jessup can handle that someone else has claimed the man of her dreams. She's just not pleased with her remaining options...
Keelie doesn't believe in the "perfect man." But the men who are worth the trouble are usually taken—like her business partner Zach Barnes. After a string of bad luck and the lost chance with Zach, Keelie decides that maybe flying solo—and living with suppressed desires—is the key to happiness.
As a photographer, Zane Barnes has an eye for the human form, and his eyes can't get enough of Keelie's curves. Unfortunately, Keelie is like most women—always fawning over his little brother, Zach. Zane is about ready to give up, but then a few stolen moments at his brother's wedding have him thinking maybe there's a chance there after all. Now he just has to prove that the perfect man does exist...for her.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Guilty Pleasures’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: ‘Guilty Pleasures’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Guilty Pleasures

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #1
Published by Berkley on August 3, 2004
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 355
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Anita Blake is small, dark, and dangerous. Her turf is the city of St. Louis. Her job: re-animating the dead and killing the undead who take things too far. But when the city’s most powerful vampire asks her to solve a series of vicious slayings, Anita must confront her greatest fear—her undeniable attraction to master vampire Jean-Claude, one of the creatures she is sworn to destroy...

My Review Continue reading