Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Nothing at the moment!

Books Reviewed This Year

I have reviewed 50 books so far this year.

83%
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Exposure

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on August 21st 2012
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 306
Format: eArc
Source: the publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Point, click, die.
When two hikers disappear, their hometown in Maine blames the blinding storms. But the truth is far more sinister. Unaware of the danger, tabloid photographer Jayne Sullivan follows an anonymous tip to find the most reclusive sculptor in the art world. Instead, she finds sexy handyman Reed Kimball—and a small town full of fatal secrets.
Five years ago, Reed buried his homicide detective career along with his wife. But when a hiker is found dead, the local police chief asks Reed for help. Why was a Celtic coin found under the body? And where is the second hiker? Avoiding the media, Reed doesn’t need a murder, a missing person, or a nosey photographer. Then Jayne is attacked, and her courage is his undoing.
Reed must risk everything to protect her - and find a cunning killer.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Melinda Leigh

Say You're Sorry

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Morgan Dane #1
Published by Montlake Romance on May 16th 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 335
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

In a new series from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh, former prosecutor Morgan Dane faces the most personal—and deadly—case of her lifetime.
After the devastating loss of her husband in Iraq, Morgan Dane returns to Scarlet Falls, seeking the comfort of her hometown. Now, surrounded by family, she’s finally found peace and a promising career opportunity—until her babysitter is killed and her neighbor asks her to defend his son, Nick, who stands accused of the murder.
Tessa was the ultimate girl next door, and the community is outraged by her death. But Morgan has known Nick for years and can’t believe he’s guilty, despite the damning evidence stacked against him. She asks her friend Lance Kruger, an ex-cop turned private eye, for help. Taking on the town, the police, and a zealous DA, Morgan and Lance plunge into the investigation, determined to find the real killer. But as they uncover secrets that rock the community, they become targets for the madman hiding in plain sight.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Merciful Death’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘A Merciful Death’ by Kendra Elliot

A Merciful Death

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Mercy Kilpatrick #1
Published by Montlake Romance on January 17th 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 342
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

FBI special agent Mercy Kilpatrick has been waiting her whole life for disaster to strike. A prepper since childhood, Mercy grew up living off the land—and off the grid—in rural Eagle’s Nest, Oregon. Until a shocking tragedy tore her family apart and forced her to leave home. Now a predator known as the cave man is targeting the survivalists in her hometown, murdering them in their homes, stealing huge numbers of weapons, and creating federal suspicion of a possible domestic terrorism event. But the crime scene details are eerily familiar to an unsolved mystery from Mercy’s past.
Sent by the FBI to assist local law enforcement, Mercy returns to Eagle’s Nest to face the family who shunned her while maintaining the facade of a law-abiding citizen. There, she meets police chief Truman Daly, whose uncle was the cave man’s latest victim. He sees the survivalist side of her that she desperately tries to hide, but if she lets him get close enough to learn her secret, she might not survive the fallout…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Seconds to Live’ by Melinda Leigh

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Seconds to Live’ by Melinda Leigh

Seconds to Live

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Scarlet Falls #3
Published by Montlake Romance on June 28th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 335
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Wildlife biologist Mac Barrett avoided his hometown of Scarlet Falls for years—too many bad memories. But when he receives the news that his father is dying, he rushes home only to discover he’s too late. Shaken, Mac retreats to his remote cabin seeking peace and solace. Instead, he crashes his jeep to narrowly avoid running over the naked body of a woman lying in the road. Even more disturbing, when he regains consciousness, the body is gone.
Police detective Stella Dane wants to believe Mac, even if his story about the vanishing body seems far-fetched. But when Mac’s description matches the missing woman she’s been searching for, it raises a disturbing question: How does a dead body disappear?
Mac and Stella will have to work together to find the answer and catch a psychotic kidnapper—and quickly. The killer has a deadly message to send, and the case is about to become personal.…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Tracks of Her Tears’ by @MelindaLeigh1

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Tracks of Her Tears’ by @MelindaLeigh1

Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter, #1)

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on November 10, 2015
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 99
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

In the first thrilling Rogue Winter Novella, sleepy little Solitude, Oregon, wakes up to another deadly threat.
County investigator Seth Harding intends to spend the holidays with his newly reconciled family, but a few days before Christmas, a homicide thwarts his plan. Seth arrives at the scene and makes a painful discovery: the victim is his brother-in-law’s girlfriend. Her apartment has been ransacked and her toddler left motherless. To make matters worse, Seth’s brother-in-law, Bruce, is missing. With Solitude locked in a rare, deadly deep freeze and the temperature plummeting, the residents launch a desperate search.
Seth calls his wife, social worker Carly Taylor, to take the case so the little girl doesn’t get lost in the foster care system. With the holidays near, Carly brings the child home with them to celebrate Christmas. But when the Taylor farm is also trashed, Seth and Carly must race against time—and against a paralyzing winter storm—to find Bruce and catch a killer in the first pulse-pounding sequel to the Rogue River Novellas.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Minutes to Kill’ by Melinda Leigh

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Minutes to Kill’ by Melinda Leigh

Minutes to Kill

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Scarlet Falls #2
on June 30, 2015
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

After corporate attorney Hannah Barrett tries—and fails—to stop a kidnapping in Vegas, she can’t shake the haunting image of the terrified young girl she couldn’t save. She tells herself that a visit to her hometown in Scarlet Falls could be a welcome distraction. But soon, Hannah realizes the kidnappers have all the info they need to track her every move. And when chilling e-mails about the victim appear in her inbox, it’s frighteningly clear what happened in Vegas has followed her home.
Eight months after a terrible family tragedy, Hannah turns to Detective Brody McNamara once again. Brody is eager to help, though he’s embroiled in the investigation of a brutal murder. But the closer they work together, the stronger their feelings grow…and the more they stand to lose when two seemingly unrelated, but equally deadly, cases collide.
Minutes to Kill is the pulse-racing second novel in bestselling author Melinda Leigh’s Scarlet Falls series.

My Review: Continue reading

Review: ‘Chilled’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘Chilled’ by Kendra Elliot

Chilled

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Bone Secrets #2
Published by Montlake Romance on August 14th 2012
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 360
Format: Paperback
Amazon
Goodreads

After his brother’s murder, Alex Kinton vows to hunt the killer and administer his own form of vigilante justice. His chance comes when he lies his way onto a search and rescue team and is called to the site of a downed plane in the Cascade Mountains. The team soon discovers that everyone aboard has perished…except for the man Alex is targeting. Alex is determined to do whatever it takes to stalk his prey through the vast, snowy wilderness.
Brynn Nealey, the team’s forensic nurse, doesn’t have time for the mysterious outsider. She’s there to save lives. But in the close quarters of the search party, Brynn begins to feel drawn to the hardened and brooding stranger. Alex, too, can feel the ice around his heart melting, even as the temperatures drop dangerously low. But what will happen to his bloodlust when they finally find the killer?
In Chilled, the next thrilling tale in the Bone Secrets saga, Golden Heart finalist Kendra Elliot weaves an icy tale of cold nights, cold hearts, and cold-blooded killers.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘She Can Tell’ by Melina Leigh

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘She Can Tell’ by Melina Leigh

She Can Tell

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on December 4th 2012
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 337
Format: eArc
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

When a terrible accident abruptly ends her riding career, Rachel Parker returns to Pennsylvania to rebuild her family’s horse farm. But her welcome home is anything but warm. Her sister’s abusive husband and a violent vandal threaten Rachel’s new business and her life. Someone is systematically trying to destroy her. Someone who knows private things about her. Someone who’s been watching her. Now Rachel must face the fact that the sins of her carefully hidden past have returned to haunt her.…
Police Chief Mike O’Connell never had trouble drawing the line between his personal life and his job—until he met Rachel Parker. Mike’s investigation uncovers a shocking number of secrets and suspects. But the stalker’s escalating violence convinces him he doesn’t have much time to sort through it all. Whoever is watching Rachel wants her dead. Mike and Rachel race to untangle a web of deceit and lies that stretches two decades into the past—before her stalker strikes again

My Review

Continue reading