Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Undercover Bromance’ by Lyssa Kay Adams

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 70 books this year.

October Reviews
Spiraled by Kendra ElliotBridged by Kendra ElliotArchangel's War by Nalini SinghVanished by Kendra ElliotWolf Trouble by Paige Tyler
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Review: ‘Ceremony in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Review: ‘Ceremony in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Ceremony in Death

by J.D. Robb
Series: In Death #5
Published by Berkley Books on May 28, 1997
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 310
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Conducting a top secret investigation into the death of a fellow officer has Lieutenant Eve Dallas treading on dangerous ground. She must put professional ethics before personal loyalties. But when a dead body is placed outside of her home, Eve takes the warning personally. With her husband, Roarke, watching her every move, Eve is drawn into the most dangerous case of her career. Every step she takes makes her question her own beliefs of right and wrong - and brings her closer to a confrontation with humanity's most seductive form of evil...

I almost forgot that I needed to read another book from J.D. Robb’s In Death series this month. Thank goodness I didn’t forget, though. I love this series so much that I may end up reading more books this summer, instead of just one book a month. I need more of these books.

The fifth book in the In Death series dives into witchcraft and satanism. This is not going to be an easy case for Eve because she has to keep her previous partner, Feeney, out of the loop, and she’s also treading on dangerous ground with witches this time around. Readers will get to know the different styles of witchcraft in this book. I loved how J.D. Robb delve into the differences.

If you’ve read the previous books, you’ll notice how protective Roarke is with Eve, especially with everything she’s gone through in the last cases. He’s no different in this book. He gets more protective in this book. I love him so much for how he cares for Eve. Yes, readers will get a lot more of Roark and Eve’s relationship in this book. They can’t stop loving each other. Eve realizes how much she loves Roarke and vice versa.

From the moment I started reading this book, I knew it was going to be a good one. Although I did have suspicions on who was behind all the murders, it couldn’t be the people that Eve kept investigating, but I did like how Eve handled certain things. Although towards the end, she got herself in danger and should’ve listened.

I liked how J.D. Robb had the supporting characters play a role in this book. I loved getting to know Feeney more and also see Peabody in a different environment. She even surprised Eve and Roarke. Feeney is one character that will not like being out of the loop, and I have respect for him.

The villains in this story are awful people. I thought J.D. Robb had horrible villains in the previous books, but she proves me wrong each time.

Be prepared for some tough situations in this book that involve sacrifices, rituals, and spells. I give this book 4-stars and recommend it to Mystery, Thriller, and Romantic Suspense readers. You’ll need to read in order though of this series; otherwise, you’ll miss out. I can’t wait until June gets here now because I need the sixth book in the series. Who knows, I may end up reading 2-3 books of the series next month. We’ll see.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways but costs you nothing extra. You can read the full disclosure underneath the Privacy Policy.

About J.D. Robb

J.D. Robb is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling In Death series and the pseudonym for #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts. The futuristic suspense series stars Eve Dallas, a New York City police lieutenant with a dark past. Initially conceived as a trilogy, readers clamored for more of Eve and the mysterious Roarke. Shadows in Death(St. Martin's Press, September 2020) is the 51st entry in the series.

Latest posts by FranJessca (see all)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *