Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Midnight Betrayal’ by Melinda LeighReview: ‘Lover Avenged’ by J.R. Ward

Books Reviewed in 2018

We have reviewed 22 books this year.

29%
Check out Felicity Heaton’s Latest Book

FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Sacrifice

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on April 16th 2013
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 316
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

2014 Daphne du Maurier Award Finalist
One by one, people are mysteriously disappearing from a small Maine town.
Four months ago, a ruthless murderer killed two people and kidnapped three more, including Danny Sullivan’s sister, who barely escaped. Unfortunately so did the killer, vanishing without a trace into the vast wilderness. When the police fail to find his sister's captor, Danny returns to Maine to hunt him down.
He begins his search with another survivor, bed and breakfast owner Mandy Brown, but her refusal to cooperate raises Danny’s suspicions. What is the beautiful innkeeper hiding?
Mandy Brown has a secret. But sexy Danny Sullivan, his relentless questions, and the desire that simmers between them threaten to expose the truth. A revelation that puts her family in danger. As more people disappear, it becomes clear the killer is planning another ritual…and that he’s circling in on Mandy.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Murder Notes’ by Lisa Renee Jones

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Murder Notes’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Murder Notes

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Lilah Love #1
Published by Montlake Romance on March 27th 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 270
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon
Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones’s heart-pounding thriller of a woman’s secrets—and a past that’s about to come out of hiding…
As an FBI profiler, it’s Lilah Love’s job to think like a killer. And she is very good at her job. When a series of murders surface—the victims all stripped naked and shot in the head—Lilah’s instincts tell her it’s the work of an assassin, not a serial killer. But when the case takes her back to her hometown in the Hamptons and a mysterious but unmistakable connection to her own life, all her assumptions are shaken to the core.
Thrust into a troubled past she’s tried to shut the door on, Lilah’s back in the town where her father is mayor, her brother is police chief, and she has an intimate history with the local crime lord’s son, Kane Mendez. The two share a devastating secret, and only Kane understands Lilah’s own darkest impulses. As more corpses surface, so does a series of anonymous notes to Lilah, threatening to expose her. Is the killer someone in her own circle? And is she the next target?

My Review Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Exposure

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on August 21st 2012
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 306
Format: eArc
Source: the publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Point, click, die.
When two hikers disappear, their hometown in Maine blames the blinding storms. But the truth is far more sinister. Unaware of the danger, tabloid photographer Jayne Sullivan follows an anonymous tip to find the most reclusive sculptor in the art world. Instead, she finds sexy handyman Reed Kimball—and a small town full of fatal secrets.
Five years ago, Reed buried his homicide detective career along with his wife. But when a hiker is found dead, the local police chief asks Reed for help. Why was a Celtic coin found under the body? And where is the second hiker? Avoiding the media, Reed doesn’t need a murder, a missing person, or a nosey photographer. Then Jayne is attacked, and her courage is his undoing.
Reed must risk everything to protect her - and find a cunning killer.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Melinda Leigh

Say You're Sorry

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Morgan Dane #1
Published by Montlake Romance on May 16th 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 335
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

In a new series from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh, former prosecutor Morgan Dane faces the most personal—and deadly—case of her lifetime.
After the devastating loss of her husband in Iraq, Morgan Dane returns to Scarlet Falls, seeking the comfort of her hometown. Now, surrounded by family, she’s finally found peace and a promising career opportunity—until her babysitter is killed and her neighbor asks her to defend his son, Nick, who stands accused of the murder.
Tessa was the ultimate girl next door, and the community is outraged by her death. But Morgan has known Nick for years and can’t believe he’s guilty, despite the damning evidence stacked against him. She asks her friend Lance Kruger, an ex-cop turned private eye, for help. Taking on the town, the police, and a zealous DA, Morgan and Lance plunge into the investigation, determined to find the real killer. But as they uncover secrets that rock the community, they become targets for the madman hiding in plain sight.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘The Boss’ by Melissa Schroeder

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Boss’ by Melissa Schroeder

The Boss

by Melissa Schroeder
Published by Entangled Publishing (Select Suspense) on May 1st 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: eArc
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Sick of the spy game, former CIA operative Vic Walker takes time off from his security firm to figure out just what he wants out of life. But peace and quiet isn’t in the cards with a former business partner and ex-lover like MacKenzie Donovan.
Mac doesn’t like asking for help from anyone, but this latest case has her in a little over her head. She crashes back into Vic’s life with the CIA, the Russian Mob, and the FBI, on her tail after a job goes south.
But even as old feelings rise to the surface while they’re busy dodging bullets, the authorities, and mobsters, they’ll need to get out alive before they can have a second chance at love.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Merciful Death’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘A Merciful Death’ by Kendra Elliot

A Merciful Death

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Mercy Kilpatrick #1
Published by Montlake Romance on January 17th 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 342
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

FBI special agent Mercy Kilpatrick has been waiting her whole life for disaster to strike. A prepper since childhood, Mercy grew up living off the land—and off the grid—in rural Eagle’s Nest, Oregon. Until a shocking tragedy tore her family apart and forced her to leave home. Now a predator known as the cave man is targeting the survivalists in her hometown, murdering them in their homes, stealing huge numbers of weapons, and creating federal suspicion of a possible domestic terrorism event. But the crime scene details are eerily familiar to an unsolved mystery from Mercy’s past.
Sent by the FBI to assist local law enforcement, Mercy returns to Eagle’s Nest to face the family who shunned her while maintaining the facade of a law-abiding citizen. There, she meets police chief Truman Daly, whose uncle was the cave man’s latest victim. He sees the survivalist side of her that she desperately tries to hide, but if she lets him get close enough to learn her secret, she might not survive the fallout…

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Sins of the Father’ by Winter Austin

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Sins of the Father’ by Winter Austin

Sins of the Father

by Winter Austin
Published by Crimson Romance on December 12th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: eArc
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Newly pinned deputy Jolie Murdoch’s first big job as a McIntire County deputy is to locate a missing girl. What Jolie doesn’t expect is to stumble upon a corpse—the girl’s father—with a prime suspect still hanging around. But why would local bartender Xavier Hartmann go off the deep end and bludgeon a man to death?
A former marine, Xavier is barely coping with a traumatic brain injury, and he has no memory of what happened at the crime scene. He came to Eider to confront his past, not get embroiled in a murder as the number one suspect. To make matters worse, as the mystery deepens, Xavier finds himself drawn to the reluctant deputy.
As Jolie fights against mounting pressure to get to the truth, she realizes there’s more to Xavier than meets the eye. But someone is lingering on the fringes, determined to put a stop to her investigation and Xavier’s freedom. Will Jolie do her sworn duty or buck the status quo to give her and Xavier’s newfound passion a chance?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Seconds to Live’ by Melinda Leigh

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Seconds to Live’ by Melinda Leigh

Seconds to Live

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Scarlet Falls #3
Published by Montlake Romance on June 28th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 335
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Wildlife biologist Mac Barrett avoided his hometown of Scarlet Falls for years—too many bad memories. But when he receives the news that his father is dying, he rushes home only to discover he’s too late. Shaken, Mac retreats to his remote cabin seeking peace and solace. Instead, he crashes his jeep to narrowly avoid running over the naked body of a woman lying in the road. Even more disturbing, when he regains consciousness, the body is gone.
Police detective Stella Dane wants to believe Mac, even if his story about the vanishing body seems far-fetched. But when Mac’s description matches the missing woman she’s been searching for, it raises a disturbing question: How does a dead body disappear?
Mac and Stella will have to work together to find the answer and catch a psychotic kidnapper—and quickly. The killer has a deadly message to send, and the case is about to become personal.…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Born to Die’ by Winter Austin

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Born to Die’ by Winter Austin

Born to Die

by Winter Austin
Published by Crimson Romance on March 28th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Source: the Author
Amazon
Goodreads

Trouble’s on the run in rural Eider, Iowa, and Deputy Cassy Rivers’s heart is in the line of fire. Two years ago, she barely escaped a harrowing experience at the hands of a maniac—and not without scars. Now a series of random robberies leads to the brutal death of a fellow officer, and she must put her trust in the one man who broke her heart.
FBI agent Boyce Hunt knows commitment isn’t for men with pasts like his. He left Cassy once to protect her from the blackmail and manipulation he faces from his mother’s criminal enterprise. But when they reluctantly partner up to capture the modern Bonnie and Clyde terrorizing McIntire County, their attraction flames to life once more, pulling Boyce between two loyalties.
Will they risk their hearts again, even if it means losing everything?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Scandal Never Sleeps’ by Shayla Black & Lexi Blake

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Scandal Never Sleeps’ by Shayla Black & Lexi Blake

Scandal Never Sleeps

by Shayla Black, Lexi Blake
Series: The Perfect Gentlemen #1
Published by Berkley on August 18th 2015
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 400
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling authors of the Masters of Ménage series . . .
They are the Perfect Gentlemen of Creighton Academy: privileged, wealthy, powerful friends with a wild side. But a deadly scandal is about to tear down their seemingly ideal lives . . .
Maddox Crawford’s sudden death sends Gabriel Bond reeling. Not only is he burying his best friend, he’s cleaning up Mad’s messes, including his troubled company. Grieving and restless, Gabe escapes his worries in the arms of a beautiful stranger. But his mind-blowing one-night stand is about to come back to haunt him . . .
Mad groomed Everly Parker to be a rising star in the executive world. Now that he’s gone, she’s sure her job will be the next thing she mourns, especially after she ends up accidentally sleeping with her new boss. If only their night together hadn’t been so incendiary—or Gabe like a fantasy come true . . .
As Gabe and Everly struggle to control the heated tension between them, they discover evidence that Mad’s death was no accident. Now they must bank their smoldering passions to hunt down a murderer—because Mad had secrets that someone was willing to kill for, and Gabe or Everly could be the next target . . .

My Review Continue reading