Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Dark Desires’ by Aja James

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 4 books this year.

3%
January Reviews
The Mistake by Elle KennedyUs by Sarina Bowen, Elle KennedyKeystone by Katie DelahantySweet Dreams by Kristen Ashley
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 7

Review: ‘Bred in the Bone’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: 'Bred in the Bone' by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘Bred in the Bone’ by Kendra Elliot

Bred in the Bone

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Widow's Island #4
Published by Montlake Romance on October 29, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 86
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
five-stars

In the fourth Widow’s Island novella by Wall Street Journal bestselling author Kendra Elliot, the truth of a twenty-year disappearance will finally come to light.
When the town drunk ends up dead in a hit-and-run, FBI special agent Cate Wilde expects that solving the case will be cut and dried. But evidence quickly surfaces that the victim was involved with another crime. A crime that has gone cold for twenty years. A crime of personal importance to Cate.
Cate’s best friend, Samantha, went missing at fourteen, leaving behind nothing except a jacket and an island full of unanswered questions. Samantha’s disappearance has haunted Cate for more than half her life, and she might finally be able to find some closure.
But not everything is as it seems. As Cate unravels what happened on that fateful day, she’ll discover that the community of Widow’s Island is full of secrets. Betrayed by someone she thought she knew, Cate will need to piece together the truth…before someone else gets hurt.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Whisper of Bones’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: 'Whisper of Bones' by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘Whisper of Bones’ by Melinda Leigh

Whisper of Bones

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Widow's Island #3
Published by Montlake Romance on October 22, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 97
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Dark secrets from the past bob to the surface in the third novella in the Widow’s Island series.
When a body washes up on the state park beach, Deputy Tessa Black’s experience as a former Seattle detective tells her that the death was not an accident. All evidence points to another murder on the remote island.
The victim is a local contractor with a shockingly long list of enemies. The more locals Tessa interviews, the more people she suspects—from the bitter ex-wife and estranged current wife to disgruntled former clients and employees. They all have different reasons to want him dead.
As Tessa’s investigation heats up, arson and a vicious assault convince her the killer is desperate to hide his crime—and that she’d better solve the case before he claims another victim.


Continue reading

Review: ‘A Bone to Pick’ by Melinda Leigh (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: 'A Bone to Pick' by Melinda Leigh (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: ‘A Bone to Pick’ by Melinda Leigh (#KUWeekendAThon)

A Bone to Pick

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Widow's Island #2
Published by Montlake Romance on October 30, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 101
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
five-stars

Deputy Tessa Black gave up her career as a detective with the Seattle PD and returned to the Pacific Northwest island she calls home to care for her ailing mother. Tessa thinks her mother’s illness is the worst thing she’ll face—until she responds to a routine call in the state park and discovers a local man harpooned to a sign.
As the murder investigation unfolds, it becomes clear that the victim harbored secrets. Together with her FBI agent best friend, Cate, and park ranger Logan Wilde, Tessa must connect the pieces before the murderer strikes again. But the closer she gets to the truth, the more she finds herself—and the ones she loves—in harm’s way.
Pressure mounts as Tessa attempts to juggle the current case with her search for the truth behind her childhood friend Samantha’s disappearance twenty years ago. Can Tessa find the murderer and uncover answers about Samantha without jeopardizing everything she holds dear?


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Savage Hunger’ by Lisa Renee Jones

ARC Review: 'Savage Hunger' by Lisa Renee Jones

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Savage Hunger’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Savage Hunger

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Savage Trilogy #1
Published by Julie Patra Publishing on December 17, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

The first book in a new savagely intense trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones.
Rick Savage, but they call him Savage and for a reason. He can make you laugh and then rip your heart out. No one knows that more than me, Candace Marks, the woman he left bleeding from the heart. I loved him. Lord help me, I’ve never stopped loving him.
Now, I’m engaged to another man, a brutal man I’m trapped into marrying, when to my shock, Savage returns home. Savage who I haven't heard from in years. I want to hate him. I have every reason to hate him, but I can’t. I still love him and I fear he will save me just to leave me bleeding one last time. He stirs my desires, a dark, delicious, and dangerous man destined to hurt me and leave me. This time I’m not sure I'll survive.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘London Calling’ by Veronica Forand

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘London Calling’ by Veronica Forand

London Calling

by Veronica Forand
Published by Entangled Publishing LLC (Amara) on March 25, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 400
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Small town police officer Emma Ross loves her simple life––but it takes a hard turn into crazy when she’s kidnapped by MI6 and is put under the protection of an over-bearing, albeit sexy, Scotsman. A man who believes she’s lying to protect her father—a father whom she had no idea worked for British Intelligence and is now missing.
Liam Macknight’s partner was assassinated and he’s certain Emma’s father had something to do with it. But the stubborn woman isn’t talking, and she’s determined to get herself killed trying to find out the truth. Locking her in a room does no good––he tried that. So he’s forced to work with her, even if he’s not sure he’ll ever be able to trust her.
When he’s assigned to kill her dad to protect the identity of British spies in the Kremlin, he knows what little trust they’ve gained is about to be destroyed forever...


My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Close to the Bone’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘Close to the Bone’ by Kendra Elliot

Close to the Bone

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Widow's Island #1
Published by Montlake Romance on October 23, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 83
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
four-stars

FBI Special Agent Cate Wilde is back home on a remote Pacific Northwest island when she gets the call: a teenager’s skeletal remains have been found on a nearby island.
Together with Tessa Black, a childhood friend turned local deputy, Cate confronts dreary weather and bleak leads to make sense of the death. The complications pile up as Cate is distracted by the coroner on the case—and by nagging memories that draw her twenty years into the past. The remains suggest eerie similarities between this victim, and Cate and Tessa’s friend Samantha, who disappeared when she was fourteen.
Cate finds herself up against closemouthed locals, buried town secrets, and even her own heart. As the case unravels, will she be able to cut through the fog and find justice for the missing and the dead


Continue reading

Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

Judgment Road

by Christine Feehan
Series: Torpedo Ink #1
Published by Piatkus on January 23, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 449
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

An outlaw motorcycle club sets up shop next door to Sea Haven in the dangerously sexy new series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan.
As the enforcer of the Torpedo Ink motorcycle club, Reaper lives for riding and fighting. He's a stone-cold killer who turns his wrath on those who deserve it. Feelings are a weakness he can't afford--until a gorgeous bartender gets under his skin...
Near Sea Haven, the small town of Caspar has given Anya Rafferty a new lease on life. And she's desperate to hold on to her job at the biker bar, even if the scariest member of the club seems to have it out for her. But Reaper's imposing presence and smoldering looks just ratchet up the heat.
Anya's touch is everything Reaper doesn't want--and it brands him to the bone. But when her secrets catch up to her, Reaper will have to choose between Anya and his club--his heart and his soul.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Beyond Risk’ by Connie Mann

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Beyond Risk’ by Connie Mann

Beyond Risk

by Connie Mann
Series: Florida Wildlife Warriors #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca on January 29, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 416
Format: eArc
Source: publisher, Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Google Play
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The river runs wild …
Former Fish & Wildlife Officer Charlotte “Charlee” Tanner still carries the guilt of a tragic drowning accident that occurred on her watch. She hoped moving back home to the wilds of central Florida would provide a safe haven—until she learns the death was no accident, and she’s the intended target.
… But no wilder than their passion.
Tough and decisive, Lieutenant Hunter Boudreau loves his new job as a law enforcement officer with the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission. Charlee is his best friend, so when she comes under fire, he’s not letting her out of his sight until the killer is caught. But Charlee won’t sit by and let anyone else die for her.
As danger closes in and Charlee and Hunter’s attraction threatens to consume them, Charlee has to decide if she can trust Hunter. And to save Charlee, Hunter will have to trust her, too.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Murder Girl’ by Lisa Renee Jones

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Murder Girl’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Murder Girl

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Lilah Love #2
Published by Montlake Romance on July 10, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 245
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones returns with the second book in her electrifying series featuring Lilah Love, an FBI profiler who doesn’t fight her dark side—she embraces it.
It’s Lilah Love’s job to inhabit a killer’s mind. The unapologetically tough FBI profiler is very comfortable there. But her latest case is making her head spin. It’s a string of brutal assassinations carried out across the country, each tied to a mysterious tattoo. Body by body, she’s followed the clues all the way back to her hometown. And every step of the way, the killer has been following her.
Here, beneath the glamour of the privileged Hamptons community, is a secret long buried but never forgotten. It’s bigger than Lilah. It’s powerful enough to escape the reach of the FBI. And it’s more personal than anyone can imagine. Because it’s hiding in Lilah’s own past. To fight it, she’s forced to turn to her lethally tempting ex, Kane Mendez. He’s an expert at bringing out Lilah’s darkest impulses. If she plans to survive, she’s going to need them.


My Review Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley, publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Sacrifice

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on April 16th 2013
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 316
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

2014 Daphne du Maurier Award Finalist
One by one, people are mysteriously disappearing from a small Maine town.
Four months ago, a ruthless murderer killed two people and kidnapped three more, including Danny Sullivan’s sister, who barely escaped. Unfortunately so did the killer, vanishing without a trace into the vast wilderness. When the police fail to find his sister's captor, Danny returns to Maine to hunt him down.
He begins his search with another survivor, bed and breakfast owner Mandy Brown, but her refusal to cooperate raises Danny’s suspicions. What is the beautiful innkeeper hiding?
Mandy Brown has a secret. But sexy Danny Sullivan, his relentless questions, and the desire that simmers between them threaten to expose the truth. A revelation that puts her family in danger. As more people disappear, it becomes clear the killer is planning another ritual…and that he’s circling in on Mandy.


My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 7