Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Laid Bare’ by Lauren Dane #Romanceopoly2020

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 56 books this year.

45%
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 14

Review: ‘Bloody Bones’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: ‘Bloody Bones’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Bloody Bones

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #5
Published by Berkley on November 1, 2005
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Format: AudioBook, Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

In Laurell K. Hamilton's "New York Times" bestselling novels, Anita Blake, vampire hunter and animator, takes a bite out of crime-of the supernatural kind. But even someone who deals with death on a daily basis can be unnerved by its power... When Branson, Missouri, is hit with a death wave-four unsolved murders-it doesn't take an expert to realize that all is not well. But luckily for the locals, Anita is an expert-in just the kinds of preternatural goings-on that have everyone spooked. And she's got an "in" with just the kind of creature who can make sense of the slayings: a sexy master vampire known as Jean Claude.


Continue reading

Review: ‘The Lunatic Cafe’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: ‘The Lunatic Cafe’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

The Lunatic Cafe

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #4
Published by Berkley on January 1, 1996
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Vampire hunter and zombie animator Anita Blake is an expert at sniffing out the bad from the good. But in The Lunatic Cafe-now in trade paperback for the first time-she's about to learn that nothing is ever as it seems, especially in matters of the not-so-human heart.

Dating a werewolf with self-esteem issues is stressing Anita out. Especially when something-or someone-starts taking out the city's shapeshifters.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Vengeance in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Review: ‘Vengeance in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Vengeance in Death

by J.D. Robb
Series: In Death #6
Published by Berkley on October 1, 1997
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 357
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased, Scribd
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

He is an expert with the latest technology...a madman with the mind of a genius and the heart of a killer. He quietly stalks his prey. Then he haunts the police with cryptic riddles about the crimes he is about to commit--always solved moments too late to save his victims' lives.Police lieutenant Eve Dallas found the first victim butchered in his own home. The second lost his life in a vacant luxury apartment. The two men had little in common. Both suffered unspeakable torture before their deaths. And both had ties to an ugly secret of ten years past--a secret shared by none other than Eve's new husband, Roarke.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Circus of the Damned’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: ‘Circus of the Damned’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Circus of the Damned

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #3
Published by Berkley Books on May 1, 1995
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 329
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In Circus of the Damned-now in trade paperback for the first time-a rogue master vampire hits town, and Anita gets caught in the middle of an undead turf war. Jean-Claude, the Master Vamp of the city, wants her for his own-but his enemies have other plans. And to make matters worse, Anita takes a hit to the heart when she meets a stunningly handsome junior high science teacher named Richard Zeeman. They're two humans caught in the crossfire-or so Anita thinks.


Continue reading

Review: ‘The Laughing Corpse’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Review: ‘The Laughing Corpse’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

The Laughing Corpse

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #2
Published by Berkley on August 2nd 2005
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 301
Format: AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Harold Gaynor offers Anita Blake a million dollars to raise a 300-year-old zombie. Knowing it means a human sacrifice will be necessary, Anita turns him down. But when dead bodies start turning up, she realizes that someone else has raised Harold's zombie--and that the zombie is a killer. Anita pits her power against the zombie and the voodoo priestess who controls it.
In The Laughing Corpse Anita will learn that there are some secrets better left buried-and some people better off dead...


Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Guilty Pleasures’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Re-Post Review: ‘Guilty Pleasures’ by Laurell K. Hamilton

Guilty Pleasures

by Laurell K. Hamilton
Series: Anita Blake Vampire Hunter #1
Published by Berkley on August 3, 2004
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 355
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Anita Blake is small, dark, and dangerous. Her turf is the city of St. Louis. Her job: re-animating the dead and killing the undead who take things too far. But when the city’s most powerful vampire asks her to solve a series of vicious slayings, Anita must confront her greatest fear—her undeniable attraction to master vampire Jean-Claude, one of the creatures she is sworn to destroy...


Continue reading

Review: ‘Don’t You Forget About Me’ by Mhairi McFarlane #Romanceopoly2020

Review: ‘Don’t You Forget About Me’ by Mhairi McFarlane #Romanceopoly2020

Don't You Forget About Me

by Mhairi McFarlane
Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on September 10, 2019
Genres: Women's Fiction
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane delivers a funny, romantic, heartfelt novel perfect for fans of Josie Silver or Sally Thorne, and anyone who loves Bridget Jones!
You always remember your first love... don’t you?
If there’s anything worse than being fired from the lousiest restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgina takes the next job that comes her way—bartender in a newly opened pub. There’s only one problem: it’s run by the guy she fell in love with years ago. And—make that two problems—he doesn’t remember her. At all. But she has fabulous friends and her signature hot pink fur coat... what more could a girl really need?
Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grown-up, with a thriving business and a dog along the way. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief—and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface. Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth... or a second chance with the one that got away?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Blood Bound’ by Patricia Briggs #Romanceopoly2020

Review: ‘Blood Bound’ by Patricia Briggs #Romanceopoly2020

Blood Bound

by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #2
Published by Ace on January 30, 2007
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 292
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Under the rule of science, there are no witch burnings allowed, no water trials or public lynchings. In return, the average law-abiding, solid citizen has little to worry about from the things that go bump in the night. Sometimes I wish I was an average citizen...
Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places-and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.
But this new vampire is hardly ordinary-and neither is the demon inside of him.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Archangel’s Enigma’ by Nalini Singh

Review: ‘Archangel’s Enigma’ by Nalini Singh

Archangel's Enigma

by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #8
Published by Berkley Sensation on September 1, 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 357
Format: AudioBook, Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her world of dark passion and immortal power—and to one of the most seductive and impenetrable heroes ever to stalk the Guild Hunter landscape…
Oh, Naasir. So weird, so bloodthirsty, so unique and wonderful…I have fallen for him…”—Fiction Vixen
Naasir is the most feral of the powerful group of vampires and angels known as the Seven, his loyalty pledged to the Archangel Raphael. When rumors surface of a plot to murder the former Archangel of Persia, now lost in the Sleep of the Ancients, Naasir is dispatched to find him. For only he possesses the tracking skills required—those more common to predatory animals than to man.
Enlisted to accompany Naasir, Andromeda, a young angelic scholar with dangerous secrets, is fascinated by his nature—at once playful and brilliant, sensual and brutal. As they race to find the Sleeping archangel before it’s too late, Naasir will force her to question all she knows…and tempt her to walk into the magnificent, feral darkness of his world. But first they must survive an enemy vicious enough to shatter the greatest taboo of the angelic race and plunge the world into a screaming nightmare…


Continue reading

Review: ‘Ceremony in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Review: ‘Ceremony in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Ceremony in Death

by J.D. Robb
Series: In Death #5
Published by Berkley Books on May 28, 1997
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 310
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Conducting a top secret investigation into the death of a fellow officer has Lieutenant Eve Dallas treading on dangerous ground. She must put professional ethics before personal loyalties. But when a dead body is placed outside of her home, Eve takes the warning personally. With her husband, Roarke, watching her every move, Eve is drawn into the most dangerous case of her career. Every step she takes makes her question her own beliefs of right and wrong - and brings her closer to a confrontation with humanity's most seductive form of evil...


Continue reading

1 2 3 14