Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Undiscovered’ by @authorsaraARC Review: ‘Emergency Attraction’ by @SamantheBeck1

Books Reviewed This Year

I have reviewed 41 books so far this year.

68%
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png

ARC Review: ‘The Vampire’s Accidental Wife’ by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Vampire’s Accidental Wife’ by Kristen Painter

The Vampire's Accidental Wife

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #8
Published by Sugar Skull Books on May 8, 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
Las Vegas headliner and vampire Desdemona Valentine is one cool, collected diva on the outside. On the inside, she’s petrified of falling in love after her last relationship nearly killed her...literally. Protecting her wounded heart makes for a lonely life, but she has her fame and fortune to keep her company. Who needs anything more?
Julian Ellingham does. One look at Desdemona on stage, and the vampire is smitten. She initially ignores him, but his relentless pursuit pays off when a wild night ends in a Vegas wedding. Finally, Julian has everything he wants while all Desdemona wants is...a divorce.
Julian sweet-talks Desdemona into letting him prove his love, but his time is running out. Especially after someone repeatedly tries to turn his bride to ash. When Desdemona flees Vegas for the spooky streets of Nocturne Falls and Julian’s protection, he’s more than willing to help out. But can he convince Desdemona to trust him, or will ‘death do us part’ become a reality?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Dragon Finds Forever’ by Kristen Painter

ARC Review: ‘The Dragon Finds Forever’ by Kristen Painter

The Dragon Finds Forever

by Kristen Painter
Published by Sugar Skull Books on February 22nd 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.

The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.

Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.

Monalisa Devlin is a Will O’ The Wisp, a rare and potentially dangerous creature. Unfortunately, her greedy father makes sure she lives up to that potential. Monalisa is magically compelled to obey her father's evil commands--until he finally agrees to free her in exchange for one, last mission: Travel to Nocturne Falls and use her powers to force Ivan Tsvetkov back into the ring.

Once a champion on the supernatural MMA circuit, Ivan 'The Hammer' Tsvetkov retired after a devastating injury that left him unable to shift into his dragon form. Wounded and embittered, Ivan wants nothing more than to be left alone. Until an infuriating, stubborn, delicately beautiful stranger shows up on his doorstep and demands that he rebuild his life.

Posing as a rehab therapist seemed like the easiest way to get close to the smoldering recluse, but Monalisa quickly realizes that nothing about this mission is going to be easy. To gain his trust, she shares more of herself than she ever has before, and as their connection deepens, so does the weight of her secrets. She thought she was willing to do whatever it took to win her independence...but when her deception blows up in her face, will Monalisa discover that the loss of Ivan's heart is too high a price to pay? Or will their love rise from the ashes to burn stronger than ever?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Magic’s Song’ by Sela Carsen

ARC Review: ‘Magic’s Song’ by Sela Carsen

Magic's Song

by Sela Carsen, Kristen Painter
Series: A Nocturne Falls Universe story
Published by Sugar Skull Books on January 24th, 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 63
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, where there’s a supernatural on every corner, if you have the magic to see them.

Trick Scanlon is introduced to town when a playful horse nearly drowns him. Saved by a mermaid’s song, he’s just looking for a place to catch his breath. He never expects to be so drawn to his beautiful savior.

Daria Don’t-Call-Me-A-Mermaid Czernovitch has changed so much her stalker won’t ever find her. She has great friends – witches, gargoyles, and fairies – and she feels safe… until a former Army Ranger turned country music star pulls her into his spotlight.

Can he find his own magic? And will his fame threaten the anonymity she values so much? They make sweet harmony together, but one sour note could ruin it all.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Shifter Romances the Writer” by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Shifter Romances the Writer” by Kristen Painter

The Shifter Romances The Writer

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #6
Published by Sugar Skull Books on May 15, 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
For romance writer Roxy St. James, living in Nocturne Falls also means a fresh start. And as soon as her unbearable ex signs the divorce papers, that new beginning will be a reality. Unfortunately, her ex doesn’t seem ready to let her go and the subtle threats he’s been making leave her no choice but to confide in her oh-so-handsome neighbor, who just happens to be a deputy with the sheriff’s department.
But Officer Alex Cruz isn’t just the law. He’s also a panther shifter, a secret he’s sworn to keep (along with the truth about Nocturne Falls) from the very foxy Roxy. Humans aren’t supposed to know the town is filled with supernaturals. Then she starts seeing things she shouldn’t and thinks she’s losing her mind. His attraction—and concern—for her wars with the promise he’s made.
Will his truth be more than she can handle? Or will it cause her to write him out of her life?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Vampire’s Fake Fiancee’ by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Vampire’s Fake Fiancee’ by Kristen Painter

The Vampire’s Fake Fiancée

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #5
Published by Sugar Skull Books on January 11th 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Author
Amazon
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Sebastian Ellingham isn’t known for being a happy vampire. And when his long estranged wife comes to town expecting to pick up where they left off, things take a sharp turn toward cranky. Sure he’s been protecting her for centuries, but her assumption that he’s still available (he is) rankles.
His answer is to hire a woman to play his fiancée. The lucky victim is Tessa Blythe, sister of one of the town’s deputies, librarian in need of a job and, oh yes, reluctant Valkyrie. Playing along with Sebastian is all about the end game for her, the position of Dean of Library Studies at the local private academy.
When unexpected sparks fly between them, they agree to mutually deny the attraction. Fate, however, has other plans…

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘The Werewolf’s Christmas Wish’ Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Werewolf’s Christmas Wish’ Kristen Painter

The Werewolf's Christmas Wish

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #4.6
Published by Sugar Skull Books on February 23, 2016
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Bridget Merrow has almost everything a werewolf could wish for. And it's not that her awesome family and popular business aren't enough - she just wants someone to share it all with this Christmas. Too bad the someone she wants doesn't want her. Or does he?
Also in Hex the Halls anthology

My Review of The Werewolf’s Christmas Wish by Kristen Painer Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Professor Woos the Witch’ by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Professor Woos the Witch’ by Kristen Painter

The Professor Woos The Witch

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #4
Published by Self-Published on October 8, 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs and all.
Pandora Williams is Nocturne Falls’ most successful real estate agent. And least successful witch. Her magic never has the intended outcome, but she’s learned to live with that. Mostly. Yes, it sucks, but what can she do? Then a hot new neighbor shows up and suddenly her magic works. Very cool, but very suspect. Especially since he’s a total non-believer.
Cole Van Zant likes practicality and absolutes. Things he can see and touch. So not magic. But when his teenage daughter insists she’s a witch—and they’re now living in a town that celebrates Halloween every day—he needs help. Of the witchy variety. Thankfully, his sexy neighbor buys into all that hocus pocus.
Enlisting her help seems like a great idea until spending time together reveals a supernatural surprise about who Cole really is. A secret even he didn’t know. Could Pandora and Cole really be meant for one another or is their attraction too much to believe?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘The Gargoyle Gets His Girl’ by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Gargoyle Gets His Girl’ by Kristen Painter

The Gargoyle Gets His Girl

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #3
Published by Sugar Skull Books on July 30, 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better.
Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs, fur, and all.
Willa Iscove, fae jeweler, has her first stalker. Really, he’s just one of her lovesick customers. The ring she crafted to help him find new love has backfired, making Willa the object of his affections. In a bid to rid herself of her amorous client, Willa makes a wish in the Nocturne Falls fountain using the piece of opal in her pocket and in doing so, unknowingly conscripts as her guardian the sexy gargoyle on duty.
Former Army Ranger and gargoyle Nick Hardwin has some serious suspicions about the pretty fae who just invoked the ancient pact for protection. Her kind have been at odds with his kind for ages. Now she wants his help? He’s determined to figure out what she’s up to. Which won’t be a hardship considering how much fun she is to be around. And kiss.
But then her stalker turns out to be the tip of the iceberg and things go really wrong, really fast. When they’re both kidnapped, Willa is forced to make a hard decision. The life of her family or the freedom of the man she’s fallen for?

My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Werewolf Meets His Match’ by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Werewolf Meets His Match’ by Kristen Painter

The Werewolf Meets His Match

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #2
Published by Sugar Skull Books on July 1st 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs and all.
Getting arrested wasn’t on werewolf Ivy Kincaid’s agenda when she arrived in Nocturne Falls, but her life rarely goes according to plan. The upside of spending the night in the local lock-up is finding a hotel room is no longer a worry...but the downside is the man she’s come to marry will get his first impression of her behind bars. Not exactly the way Ivy was hoping to meet her pack's sworn enemy...aka her fiancé.
Sheriff (and werewolf) Hank Merrow is the alpha's heir. Everything he's ever done, from becoming an Army Ranger to serving in law enforcement, has been in preparation for the day he’ll take over. Getting married to cement a shaky truce is no different. Hank will do his duty, even if it means shackling himself to a woman he has no intention of liking, let alone loving.
But Ivy is nothing like Hank expected. As feisty as she is beautiful, she's as determined as he is to make a go of marriage for the sake of peace between their packs. The trouble is, Ivy has secrets that could destroy everything Hank holds dear...including his newfound love for her.

My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride’ by Kristen Painter

I received this book for free from Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Vampire’s Mail Order Bride’ by Kristen Painter

The Vampire's Mail Order Bride

by Kristen Painter
Series: Nocturne Falls #1
Published by Sugar Skull Books on June 1st 2015
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 370
Source: Author
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town where Halloween is celebrated 365 days a year. The tourists think it's all a show: the vampires, the werewolves, the witches, the occasional gargoyle flying through the sky. But the supernaturals populating the town know better. Living in Nocturne Falls means being yourself. Fangs and all.
After seeing her maybe-mobster boss murder a guy, Delaney James assumes a new identity and pretends to be a mail order bride. What she doesn't know is her groom to be is a 400-year-old vampire.
Hugh Ellingham has only agreed to the set up to make his overbearing grandmother happy. His past means love is no longer an option. Except he never counted on Delaney and falling in love for real.Too bad both of them are keeping some mighty big secrets...

My Review: Continue reading