Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘In the Company of Wolves’ by Paige TylerARC Review: ‘The Princess Knight’ by G.A. Aiken

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 83 books this year.

November Reviews
Archangel's Sun by Nalini SinghObsidian Butterfly by Laurell K. HamiltonThe Blacksmith Queen by G.A. AikenWritten in the Stars by Alexandria BellefleurTargeted by Kendra ElliotVeiled by Kendra ElliotA Broken Bone by Melinda LeighWitness in Death by J.D. Robb
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Review: ‘Vengeance in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Review: ‘Vengeance in Death’ by J.D. Robb #InDeathReadALong

Vengeance in Death

by J.D. Robb
Series: In Death #6
Published by Berkley on October 1, 1997
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 357
Format: Paperback, AudioBook
Source: Purchased, Scribd
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

He is an expert with the latest technology...a madman with the mind of a genius and the heart of a killer. He quietly stalks his prey. Then he haunts the police with cryptic riddles about the crimes he is about to commit--always solved moments too late to save his victims' lives.Police lieutenant Eve Dallas found the first victim butchered in his own home. The second lost his life in a vacant luxury apartment. The two men had little in common. Both suffered unspeakable torture before their deaths. And both had ties to an ugly secret of ten years past--a secret shared by none other than Eve's new husband, Roarke.

Every time I read another book in J.D. Robb’s In Death series, I fall deeper into this world. Each book is different from the previous one, and it gets grittier and darker each time. You would think Eve Dallas would have an easy case eventually, but nope. This time she’s dealing with two murders, and the killer keeps sending her cryptic riddles. She has to find a connection between both, and when she does, she’ll realize they hit close to home. Her husband Roarke may have a link to the victims, and she’s determined more than ever figure out how and why.

Readers will get to dive into Roarke’s past a bit in this book. Eve will get to know her husband’s past when she travels to Dublin with him. Roarke didn’t have it easy when he was a young boy, but he got through it all. He had to get his hands dirty every once in a while, and now someone is out for revenge.

This case is going to test Eve and Roarke’s relationship. Eve is a cop who has to do her job first, but she’s going to learn more about her husband. I loved finding out more about Roarke. He’s been a mystery since the first book, and now we’re finding out more about him. I love how he takes care of everyone that he loves dear to his heart. He deals with everyone his way, and he’s determined to find the killer with Eve. Eve is going by the book though on this one. She has to keep her husband from being incriminated.

Be prepared to be introduced to a new character in this book that I enjoyed in this story. I love the banter between the new character and Peabody.

I give this book 4.5-stars and can’t wait to dive into the next book in the series. I’m only reading one book a month, but hopefully, I’ll be able to increase how many I read soon in the series. I highly recommend this series to fans of Romantic Suspense and Mystery readers.

This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. It will help sponsor future giveaways but costs you nothing extra. You can read the full disclosure underneath the Privacy Policy.

About J.D. Robb

J.D. Robb is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling In Death series and the pseudonym for #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts. The futuristic suspense series stars Eve Dallas, a New York City police lieutenant with a dark past. Initially conceived as a trilogy, readers clamored for more of Eve and the mysterious Roarke. Shadows in Death(St. Martin's Press, September 2020) is the 51st entry in the series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *