Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

ARC Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Karen Rose

Books Reviewed in 2019

We have reviewed 24 books this year.

40%
February Reviews
Vengeance Road by Christine FeehanThe Crush Collision by Danielle EllisonCatching the CEO by Victoria DaviesHis Demand by Lisa Renee JonesNo Rest for the Wicked by Kresley ColeGoing Down Easy by Carly PhillipsStrip Tease by Erin McCarthyAnaliese Rising by Brenda DrakeClose to the Bone by Kendra ElliotLove and Other Words by Christina LaurenJudgment Road by Christine Feehan
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley, publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Sacrifice’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Sacrifice

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on April 16th 2013
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 316
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

2014 Daphne du Maurier Award Finalist
One by one, people are mysteriously disappearing from a small Maine town.
Four months ago, a ruthless murderer killed two people and kidnapped three more, including Danny Sullivan’s sister, who barely escaped. Unfortunately so did the killer, vanishing without a trace into the vast wilderness. When the police fail to find his sister's captor, Danny returns to Maine to hunt him down.
He begins his search with another survivor, bed and breakfast owner Mandy Brown, but her refusal to cooperate raises Danny’s suspicions. What is the beautiful innkeeper hiding?
Mandy Brown has a secret. But sexy Danny Sullivan, his relentless questions, and the desire that simmers between them threaten to expose the truth. A revelation that puts her family in danger. As more people disappear, it becomes clear the killer is planning another ritual…and that he’s circling in on Mandy.

My Review Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Re-Post Review: ‘Midnight Exposure’ by Melinda Leigh

Midnight Exposure

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on August 21st 2012
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 306
Format: eArc
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Point, click, die.
When two hikers disappear, their hometown in Maine blames the blinding storms. But the truth is far more sinister. Unaware of the danger, tabloid photographer Jayne Sullivan follows an anonymous tip to find the most reclusive sculptor in the art world. Instead, she finds sexy handyman Reed Kimball—and a small town full of fatal secrets.
Five years ago, Reed buried his homicide detective career along with his wife. But when a hiker is found dead, the local police chief asks Reed for help. Why was a Celtic coin found under the body? And where is the second hiker? Avoiding the media, Reed doesn’t need a murder, a missing person, or a nosey photographer. Then Jayne is attacked, and her courage is his undoing.
Reed must risk everything to protect her - and find a cunning killer.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘Say You’re Sorry’ by Melinda Leigh

Say You're Sorry

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Morgan Dane #1
Published by Montlake Romance on May 16th 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 335
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

In a new series from Wall Street Journal bestselling author Melinda Leigh, former prosecutor Morgan Dane faces the most personal—and deadly—case of her lifetime.
After the devastating loss of her husband in Iraq, Morgan Dane returns to Scarlet Falls, seeking the comfort of her hometown. Now, surrounded by family, she’s finally found peace and a promising career opportunity—until her babysitter is killed and her neighbor asks her to defend his son, Nick, who stands accused of the murder.
Tessa was the ultimate girl next door, and the community is outraged by her death. But Morgan has known Nick for years and can’t believe he’s guilty, despite the damning evidence stacked against him. She asks her friend Lance Kruger, an ex-cop turned private eye, for help. Taking on the town, the police, and a zealous DA, Morgan and Lance plunge into the investigation, determined to find the real killer. But as they uncover secrets that rock the community, they become targets for the madman hiding in plain sight.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Seconds to Live’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley, publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Seconds to Live’ by Melinda Leigh

Seconds to Live

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Scarlet Falls #3
Published by Montlake Romance on June 28th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 335
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Wildlife biologist Mac Barrett avoided his hometown of Scarlet Falls for years—too many bad memories. But when he receives the news that his father is dying, he rushes home only to discover he’s too late. Shaken, Mac retreats to his remote cabin seeking peace and solace. Instead, he crashes his jeep to narrowly avoid running over the naked body of a woman lying in the road. Even more disturbing, when he regains consciousness, the body is gone.
Police detective Stella Dane wants to believe Mac, even if his story about the vanishing body seems far-fetched. But when Mac’s description matches the missing woman she’s been searching for, it raises a disturbing question: How does a dead body disappear?
Mac and Stella will have to work together to find the answer and catch a psychotic kidnapper—and quickly. The killer has a deadly message to send, and the case is about to become personal.…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Tracks of Her Tears’ by @MelindaLeigh1

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Tracks of Her Tears’ by @MelindaLeigh1

Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter, #1)

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on November 10, 2015
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 99
Source: Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

In the first thrilling Rogue Winter Novella, sleepy little Solitude, Oregon, wakes up to another deadly threat.
County investigator Seth Harding intends to spend the holidays with his newly reconciled family, but a few days before Christmas, a homicide thwarts his plan. Seth arrives at the scene and makes a painful discovery: the victim is his brother-in-law’s girlfriend. Her apartment has been ransacked and her toddler left motherless. To make matters worse, Seth’s brother-in-law, Bruce, is missing. With Solitude locked in a rare, deadly deep freeze and the temperature plummeting, the residents launch a desperate search.
Seth calls his wife, social worker Carly Taylor, to take the case so the little girl doesn’t get lost in the foster care system. With the holidays near, Carly brings the child home with them to celebrate Christmas. But when the Taylor farm is also trashed, Seth and Carly must race against time—and against a paralyzing winter storm—to find Bruce and catch a killer in the first pulse-pounding sequel to the Rogue River Novellas.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Minutes to Kill’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Minutes to Kill’ by Melinda Leigh

Minutes to Kill

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Scarlet Falls #2
on June 30, 2015
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

After corporate attorney Hannah Barrett tries—and fails—to stop a kidnapping in Vegas, she can’t shake the haunting image of the terrified young girl she couldn’t save. She tells herself that a visit to her hometown in Scarlet Falls could be a welcome distraction. But soon, Hannah realizes the kidnappers have all the info they need to track her every move. And when chilling e-mails about the victim appear in her inbox, it’s frighteningly clear what happened in Vegas has followed her home.
Eight months after a terrible family tragedy, Hannah turns to Detective Brody McNamara once again. Brody is eager to help, though he’s embroiled in the investigation of a brutal murder. But the closer they work together, the stronger their feelings grow…and the more they stand to lose when two seemingly unrelated, but equally deadly, cases collide.
Minutes to Kill is the pulse-racing second novel in bestselling author Melinda Leigh’s Scarlet Falls series.

My Review: Continue reading

Review: ‘Walking on Her Grave’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘Walking on Her Grave’ by Melinda Leigh

Walking on Her Grave

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Rogue River #4
Published by Montlake Romance on November 14, 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 100
Format: AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

The electrifying conclusion of the romantic suspense novella series from Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot.

The sleepy town of Solitude, Oregon, has turned into ground zero for a turf war between the manufacturers and distributors of a lethal new drug. When a teenage witness disappears, social worker Carly Taylor must find him before he’s silenced permanently.
Rogue County investigator Seth Harding wants to keep Carly, his estranged wife, out of harm’s way, but she refuses to let his concern keep her from doing her job. When one of her young charges vanishes, Carly gets pulled even deeper into the deadly case, and Seth knows he must help her…even if it leads them right into the criminals’ crosshairs.
Explosive and exciting to the last page, Walking on Her Grave is the fourth and final thrilling addition to the new romantic suspense series from Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Gone to Her Grave’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Gone to Her Grave’ by Melinda Leigh

Gone to Her Grave

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Rogue River #2
Published by Montlake Romance on October 21, 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 97
Format: eArc
Source: publisher, Netgalley
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

In Solitude, Oregon, everyone has secrets…and some will kill to keep them.
When she believes a teen is falsely accused of drug dealing, social worker Carly Taylor takes on a high-risk case and her estranged husband—the detective in charge of the investigation—to prove the boy innocent. A deadly new designer drug has taken hold of her small rural hometown of Solitude, Oregon, and Carly is determined to find the real dealer and clear the teen’s name. But the deeper she digs into the case, the more danger she unearths, until someone decides it’s time for Carly to move on…permanently.
Investigator Seth Harding knows he can’t stop his wife when she has a child to protect. But he risks any chance of reconciliation with Carly if he can’t learn to accept her dangerous job. When a drug dealer decides Carly is getting too close, will Seth lose her altogether?
A pulse-pounding Rogue River novella, Gone to Her Grave is the second exciting addition to the new romantic suspense series from Melinda Leigh and Kendra Elliot.

Continue reading

Review: ‘He Can Fall’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘He Can Fall’ by Melinda Leigh

He Can Fall

by Melinda Leigh
Published by StoryFront on April 23, 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

When security expert Sean Wilson takes his wife, Amanda, along on a business trip to an isolated bed and breakfast, he’s hoping to combine work and pleasure. But when four armed men storm the inn and take the staff and his wife hostage, the romantic getaway is over. A former army Ranger, Sean will do anything to save his wife, and when he finds the seven-year-old granddaughter of the innkeeper in the snowy woods, the situation becomes more dire. Sean must get the child to safety, but as the armed men become increasingly hostile and violent, Amanda’s life is also on the line. Cut off from help and spurred by desperation, Sean and Amanda must make hard choices that could get them all killed.
Thriller Award nominee and bestselling romantic suspense author Melinda Leigh delivers a page-turning story of love, fear, and desperate choices.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘She Can Hide’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘She Can Hide’ by Melinda Leigh

She Can Hide

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on March 18, 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 332
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

“This is one to read with the light on.” —Publishers Weekly on She Can Scream
Abby Foster just wants a quiet, normal life. The high school teacher left everything about her past behind when she moved to the mountains of Pennsylvania, but only three years after surviving a brutal attack, Abby awakes in an icy river, facing death once again. This time, though, she doesn’t have to face it alone—if she can manage to trust the sexy cop who just risked his life to save her.
Officer Ethan Hale’s gut tells him there’s more to Abby’s “accident” than meets the eye. When his investigation uncovers a fresh string of murders tied to her old case, he’s driven to do anything to keep Abby safe. But Abby’s former assailant is in prison, so who else wants her dead?
As a killer shows no sign of stopping, Abby has no choice but to trust Ethan with the truth about her past…and any hope she has for a future.

My Review Continue reading