Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Laid Bare’ by Lauren Dane #Romanceopoly2020

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 54 books this year.

43%
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Review: ‘The Bromance Book Club’ by Lyssa Kay Adams #Romanceopoly2020

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Bromance Book Club’ by Lyssa Kay Adams #Romanceopoly2020

The Bromance Book Club

by Lyssa Kay Adams
Series: Bromance Book Club #1
Published by Berkley on November 5, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 344
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

The first rule of book club: You don't talk about book club.
Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott's marriage is in major league trouble. He’s recently discovered a humiliating secret: his wife Thea has always faked the Big O. When he loses his cool at the revelation, it’s the final straw on their already strained relationship. Thea asks for a divorce, and Gavin realizes he’s let his pride and fear get the better of him.
Welcome to the Bromance Book Club.
Distraught and desperate, Gavin finds help from an unlikely source: a secret romance book club made up of Nashville's top alpha men. With the help of their current read, a steamy Regency titled Courting the Countess, the guys coach Gavin on saving his marriage. But it'll take a lot more than flowery words and grand gestures for this hapless Romeo to find his inner hero and win back the trust of his wife.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Keystone’ by Katie Delahanty

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Keystone’ by Katie Delahanty

Keystone

by Katie Delahanty
Published by Entangled: Teen on January 7, 2020
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback, ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

When Ella Karman debuts on the Social Stock Exchange, she finds out life as a high-profile "Influencer" isn't what she expected. Everyone around her is consumed by their rankings, in creating the smoke and mirrors that make them the envy of the world.
But then Ella’s best friend betrays her, her rankings tank, and she loses—everything.
Leaving her old life behind, she joins Keystone, a secret school for thieves, where students are being trained to steal everything analog and original because something—or someone—is changing history to suit their needs.
Partnered with the annoyingly hot—and utterly impossible—Garrett Alexander, who has plenty of his own secrets, Ella is forced to return to the Influencer world, while unraveling a conspiracy that began decades ago.
One wrong move and she could lose everything—again.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Michigan Vs. the Boys’ by Carrie S. Allen

ARC Review: 'Michigan Vs. the Boys' by Carrie S. Allen

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Michigan Vs. the Boys’ by Carrie S. Allen

Michigan vs. the Boys

by Carrie S. Allen
Published by Kids Can Press on October 1, 2019
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Amazon Vine
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

When a determined girl is confronted with the culture of toxic masculinity, it's time to even the score.
Michigan Manning lives for hockey, and this is her year to shine. That is, until she gets some crushing news: budget cuts will keep the girls' hockey team off the ice this year.
If she wants colleges to notice her, Michigan has to find a way to play. Luckily, there's still one team left in town ...
The boys' team isn't exactly welcoming, but Michigan's prepared to prove herself. She plays some of the best hockey of her life, in fact, all while putting up with changing in the broom closet, constant trash talk and "harmless" pranks that always seem to target her.
But once hazing crosses the line into assault, Michigan must weigh the consequences of speaking up - even if it means putting her future on the line.


Continue reading

Review: ‘The Bride Test’ by Helen Hoang #Reviewathon

Review: 'The Bride Test' by Helen Hoang #Reviewathon

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Bride Test’ by Helen Hoang #Reviewathon

The Bride Test

by Helen Hoang
Series: The Kiss Quotient #2
Published by Berkley on May 7, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 296
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he’s defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes matters into her own hands and returns to Vietnam to find him the perfect bride.
As a mixed-race girl living in the slums of Ho Chi Minh City, Esme Tran has always felt out of place. When the opportunity arises to come to America and meet a potential husband, she can’t turn it down, thinking this could be the break her family needs. Seducing Khai, however, doesn’t go as planned. Esme’s lessons in love seem to be working…but only on herself. She’s hopelessly smitten with a man who’s convinced he can never return her affection.
With Esme’s time in the United States dwindling, Khai is forced to understand he’s been wrong all along. And there’s more than one way to love.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Hot to the Touch’ by Jaci Burton

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Hot to the Touch’ by Jaci Burton

Hot to the Touch

by Jaci Burton
Series: Brotherhood by Fire #1
Published by Berkley on May 7, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Love burns white-hot in this first scorching romance in an all-new trilogy about a family of firefighters from the New York Times bestselling author of the Play-by-Play novels and the Hope series.
Firefighter Jackson Donovan doesn't look back--as a rule. So when his past comes roaring back to life in the form of not-so-damsel-in-distress Becks Benning, the last thing he wants to do is relive old times. No matter how tempting she makes it seem...
Now thanks to his two interfering brothers, Becks is living with them while she looks for a new place and tries to pick up the pieces of her tattoo business that went up in flames. Which means a grown up, smokin' hot Becks is in his house, sharing meals, and digging up old wounds. And despite his better judgement, the more time he spends with this smart, artistic, incredible woman the more he wants her in his bed--and his future.
Becks always had it bad for Jackson. Unfortunately for her, not much has changed--he's still honorable, hard-working, sexy as sin--and closed off. But there's more than one way to get to a man's heart and if Jackson doesn't want to recall old memories, she'll just have to help him make new ones. Because now that she's found Jackson again, she's not letting him go.


My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘I Want You Back’ by Lorelei James

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘I Want You Back’ by Lorelei James

I Want You Back

by Lorelei James
Series: Want You #1
Published by Berkley Books on April 2, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lorelei James kicks-off her Want You Series with a Lund family cousin hot enough to melt the ice and mend a broken heart.
Former NHL star Jaxson Lund has returned to the Twin Cities, but he's at loose ends, unsure if he belongs at Lund Industries, or where he stands with Lucy, his ex-girlfriend and mother of his daughter, Mimi. Despite the signs she'd like to leave him in the penalty box, the attraction burning between them reinforces his determination to prove that he deserves a second chance...
Lucy Quade is in a good place with a steady job, a nice apartment, and a well-adjusted daughter, which is why she's hesitant when Jax insists on co-parenting. It's not that Lucy doesn't trust Jax...she's just unconvinced he can handle multiple responsibilities when he's been singularly focused on playing hockey. But when issues arise with Mimi, Lucy's shocked at how levelheaded and paternal he acts, giving her a glimpse of the Jax she used to know, the sexy, sweet man she fell for years ago.
Once Lucy lets her guard down, Jax goes all in to show her how good they are together, but will their past remain too large an obstacle to ever overcome?


My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Vengeance Road’ by Christine Feehan

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Vengeance Road’ by Christine Feehan

Vengeance Road

by Christine Feehan
Series: Torpedo Ink #2
Published by Berkley on January 29, 2019
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 464
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Go zero to sixty in this dangerously sexy novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan.
Breezy Simmons was born into a ruthless motorcycle club—and now that she’s out, she’s never going to be that girl again. But when her past catches up with her, Breezy must go to Sea Haven to seek out the man who almost destroyed her. The man who chose his club over her and left her feeling used and alone.
As vice president of Torpedo Ink, Steele is ride or die for the brothers he lived through hell with. He never thought he’d find something as pure as his feelings for Breezy, or that keeping her safe would mean driving her away with cruel words that turned her love for him to ash.
Now, Steele won’t let her walk away twice. He’ll do whatever it takes to make Breezy his woman again—especially when he learns the real reason she came to him for help, and that the stakes are higher than he ever could have imagined…


My Review

Continue reading

Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

Judgment Road

by Christine Feehan
Series: Torpedo Ink #1
Published by Piatkus on January 23, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 449
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

An outlaw motorcycle club sets up shop next door to Sea Haven in the dangerously sexy new series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan.
As the enforcer of the Torpedo Ink motorcycle club, Reaper lives for riding and fighting. He's a stone-cold killer who turns his wrath on those who deserve it. Feelings are a weakness he can't afford--until a gorgeous bartender gets under his skin...
Near Sea Haven, the small town of Caspar has given Anya Rafferty a new lease on life. And she's desperate to hold on to her job at the biker bar, even if the scariest member of the club seems to have it out for her. But Reaper's imposing presence and smoldering looks just ratchet up the heat.
Anya's touch is everything Reaper doesn't want--and it brands him to the bone. But when her secrets catch up to her, Reaper will have to choose between Anya and his club--his heart and his soul.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

Ruthless

by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless #1
Published by Berkley on August 9th 2016
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The first in a sexy contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.
The Lawless siblings are bound by vengeance. Riley, Drew, Brandon, and Mia believe the CEO of StratCast orchestrated their parents’ murder twenty years ago to steal their father’s software program. And there’s only one way Riley can find some solid evidence...   Heir to the StratCast legacy, Ellie Stratton hires a new attorney to handle a delicate business matter—and she’s shocked by her attraction to him. Over the course of a few weeks, Riley becomes her lover, her friend, her everything. But when her life is threatened, Ellie discovers that Riley is more obsessed with settling an old score than in the love she thought they were building. And Riley must choose between a revenge he’s prepared for all his life and the woman he’s sure he can’t live without...


My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Hero’ by Samantha Young

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Hero’ by Samantha Young

Hero

by Samantha Young
Published by NAL on February 3rd 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 410
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

The emotional and unforgettable new romance from the New York Times bestselling author of the On Dublin Street series.
Alexa Holland’s father was her hero—until her shocking discovery that she and her mother weren't his only family. Ever since, Alexa has worked to turn her life in a different direction and forge her own identity outside of his terrible secrets. But when she meets a man who’s as damaged by her father’s mistakes as she is, Alexa must help him.
Caine Carraway wants nothing to do with Alexa’s efforts at redemption, but it’s not so easy to push her away. Determined to make her hate him, he brings her to the edge of her patience and waits for her to walk away. But his actions only draw them together and, despite the odds, they begin an intense and explosive affair.
Only Caine knows he can never be the white knight that Alexa has always longed for. And when they're on the precipice of danger, he finds he’ll do anything to protect either one of them from being hurt again…


My Review: Continue reading