Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

Books Reviewed in 2019

We have reviewed 8 books this year.

16%
January Reviews
Cruel Money by K.A. LindeHold Me Today by Maria LuisWrong Bed, Right Roommate by Rebecca BrooksOne Cruel Night by K.A. LindeEvidence of Desire by Lexi BlakeTaken by a Dragon by Felicity HeatonCowboy Wolf Trouble by Kait BallengerNightchaser by Amanda Bouchet
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless’ by Lexi Blake

Ruthless

by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless #1
Published by Berkley on August 9th 2016
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The first in a sexy contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.
The Lawless siblings are bound by vengeance. Riley, Drew, Brandon, and Mia believe the CEO of StratCast orchestrated their parents’ murder twenty years ago to steal their father’s software program. And there’s only one way Riley can find some solid evidence...   Heir to the StratCast legacy, Ellie Stratton hires a new attorney to handle a delicate business matter—and she’s shocked by her attraction to him. Over the course of a few weeks, Riley becomes her lover, her friend, her everything. But when her life is threatened, Ellie discovers that Riley is more obsessed with settling an old score than in the love she thought they were building. And Riley must choose between a revenge he’s prepared for all his life and the woman he’s sure he can’t live without...

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Hero’ by Samantha Young

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Hero’ by Samantha Young

Hero

by Samantha Young
Published by NAL on February 3rd 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 410
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

The emotional and unforgettable new romance from the New York Times bestselling author of the On Dublin Street series.
Alexa Holland’s father was her hero—until her shocking discovery that she and her mother weren't his only family. Ever since, Alexa has worked to turn her life in a different direction and forge her own identity outside of his terrible secrets. But when she meets a man who’s as damaged by her father’s mistakes as she is, Alexa must help him.
Caine Carraway wants nothing to do with Alexa’s efforts at redemption, but it’s not so easy to push her away. Determined to make her hate him, he brings her to the edge of her patience and waits for her to walk away. But his actions only draw them together and, despite the odds, they begin an intense and explosive affair.
Only Caine knows he can never be the white knight that Alexa has always longed for. And when they're on the precipice of danger, he finds he’ll do anything to protect either one of them from being hurt again…

My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Falling In’ by Lydia Michaels

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Falling In’ by Lydia Michaels

Falling In

by Lydia Michaels
Series: The Surrender Trilogy #1
Published by Intermix on September 17, 2013
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

The debut of an emotionally charged and highly erotic contemporary romance trilogy, in which love and trust are the most dangerous games of all…
With a dark past that would have shattered most people, Evelyn “Scout” Keats is doing what no one in her bleak world thinks possible—getting off the streets and leaving her impoverished life behind. She’s a new maid at the luxurious Patras Hotel, and aims to keep her job no matter what. But that doesn’t mean she’s going to sacrifice her dignity, or let anyone into her heart. The risk of losing either is just too great.
When hotel tycoon Lucian Patras discovers Evelyn in a compromising position, he uses everything at his disposal to seduce her—a proposition that both surprises and frightens her.
Ignorant to her true circumstances, Lucian relentlessly pursues Scout as a prize to be won. But he is soon given an unforgettable lesson in love and sacrifice when he learns how far Scout has gone to gain her independence and discovers that there are some things money can never buy.
LOOK FOR THE NEXT BOOK IN THE SERIES, BREAKING OUT

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Burning Dawn’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Burning Dawn’ by Gena Showalter

Burning Dawn

by Gena Showalter
Series: Angels of the Dark #3
Published by HQN Books on April 29, 2014
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 445
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter returns with a sizzling Angels of the Dark tale about a winged warrior renowned for his ruthlessness, and the woman who becomes his obsession...
A tormented past has left Thane with an insatiable need for violence, making him the most dangerous assassin in the skies.He lives by a single code: no mercy. And as he unleashes his fury on his most recent captor, he learns no battle could have prepared him for the slave he rescues from his enemy's clutches—a beauty who stokes the fires of his darkest desires.
Elin Vale has her own deep-rooted scars, and her attraction to the exquisite warrior who freed her challenges her every boundary. But Thane's unwavering determination to protect her means she must face her greatest fears—and enter a world in which passion is power, and victory means breathtaking surrender.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘She Can Hide’ by Melinda Leigh

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘She Can Hide’ by Melinda Leigh

She Can Hide

by Melinda Leigh
Published by Montlake Romance on March 18, 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 332
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

“This is one to read with the light on.” —Publishers Weekly on She Can Scream
Abby Foster just wants a quiet, normal life. The high school teacher left everything about her past behind when she moved to the mountains of Pennsylvania, but only three years after surviving a brutal attack, Abby awakes in an icy river, facing death once again. This time, though, she doesn’t have to face it alone—if she can manage to trust the sexy cop who just risked his life to save her.
Officer Ethan Hale’s gut tells him there’s more to Abby’s “accident” than meets the eye. When his investigation uncovers a fresh string of murders tied to her old case, he’s driven to do anything to keep Abby safe. But Abby’s former assailant is in prison, so who else wants her dead?
As a killer shows no sign of stopping, Abby has no choice but to trust Ethan with the truth about her past…and any hope she has for a future.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Black and Blue’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Black and Blue’ by Gena Showalter

Black and Blue

by Gena Showalter
Series: Otherworld Assassin #2
Published by Pocket Books on October 22, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 387
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

The sizzling second book in New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter’s Otherworld Assassin paranormal romance series.
He is every woman’s fantasy…
Corbin Blue is a man of many talents. One of the most powerful otherworlders ever born, he is wealthy, a professional football star, and a legend in the bedroom. But only a select few know he is also a black ops agent…and there is no better killer. When he and his crew are attacked and separated, he’s forced to turn to his boss’s daughter for help—a woman with even more secrets than Blue.
She becomes his only obsession…
Evangaline Black has always been wary, guarded. No man has ever breeched her walls. Until Blue. He has never been denied something he wants, and now, he’s decided he wants her. As he sweeps her into his double life of seduction, intrigue, and danger, he helps her see beyond the darkness of her own past. But as an enemy closes in, Blue will have to let Evie go to keep her safe—even though he'd rather die than live without her…

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Allure’ by Lea Nolan

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Allure’ by Lea Nolan

Allure

by Lea Nolan
Series: The Hoodoo Apprentice #2
on October 1, 2013
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Worst. Summer. Ever.
Emma Guthrie races to learn the hoodoo magic needed to break The Beaumont Curse before her marked boyfriend Cooper's sixteenth birthday. But deep in the South Carolina Lowcountry, dark, mysterious forces encroach, conspiring to separate Emma and Cooper forever. When Cooper starts to change, turning cold and indifferent, Emma discovers that both his heart and body are marked for possession by competing but equally powerful adversaries.
Desperate to save him, Emma and her twin brother, Jack, risk their lives to uncover the source of the black magic that has allured Cooper and holds him in its grip. Face with the horror of a soul-eating boohag, Emma and Jack must fight to resist its fiendish power to free Cooper long enough to join their strengths and face it together, before it destroys them all.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Rush’ by Joan Swan

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Rush’ by Joan Swan

Rush

by Joan Swan
Series: Phoenix Rising #3
Published by Brava on August 27, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Jessica Fury, Washington lobbyist, has money, connections, and her own firm. But five years ago she had something better: happiness. Her firefighter husband, Quaid, was handsome, courageous, and crazy about her. Then one day he walked into a chemical inferno—and never walked out. Jessica has been through hell to get back on her feet. And then a rumor surfaces that could bring a miracle or shatter her world – again.
Q has been a prisoner forever. He’s honed his mind and body into weapons. He’s developed abilities no one else understands. But he’s still at the mercy of a cabal of ruthless men, who blank his memory, test him like a lab rat, and tell him lies. Although his past has been erased and his future looks grim, instinct tells him he has a woman to live for. What his mind can’t remember, his body can’t forget…
The heat is on.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Craving’ by Gena Showalter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Darkest Craving’ by Gena Showalter

The Darkest Craving

by Gena Showalter
Series: Lords of The Underworld #10
Published by Harlequin HQN on July 30, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 472
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter is back with a breathtaking Lords of the Underworld tale about a warrior trapped by darkness and the woman determined to save him
Having endured weeks of torture in the bowels of hell, Kane wants nothing to do with his beautiful rescuer, Josephina Aisling. The half-Fae female threatens to awaken the demon of Disaster inside him—a beast he’s determined to kill, no matter the price.
Josephina is hunted by a brutal enemy—her royal family—and Kane is her only source of protection. He’s also the only male to ever set her aflame, and even he succumbs to the heat. But as they navigate the treacherous world of the Fae, they are forced to make a choice: live apart…or die together.

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Fangs for Nothing’ by Erin McCarthy & Kathy Love

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Fangs for Nothing’ by Erin McCarthy & Kathy Love

Fangs for Nothing

by Erin McCarthy, Kathy Love
Series: The Fangover #2
Published by Berkley on July 2, 2013
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

When one of their own ties the knot with a dominatrix (no pun intended), The Impalers—a vampire rock band—are ready to party down. But trouble awaits them once again when they wake up…

Attending their bandmate Saxon’s wedding seemed simple enough for Johnny Malone and Drake Hanover. But after waking up in a dominatrix’s dungeon, they realize their cash and cell phones have been stolen—along with the bride’s wedding dress and the groom. And then there’s the matter of the two women in the room…

Loose cannon Johnny is handcuffed to Lizette, an uptight paper pusher. She wants to help save Johnny from the horrible fate in store for him at the hands of the Vampire Alliance, but he won’t sign the paperwork. Then there’s Josie, the waifish caterer from the reception, who rescues Drake from a sex swing. Josie may be cute and make a great cupcake, but Drake knows she might also be the thief. Or it could have been that gang of drag queens all dressed as Cher…

Regardless, Johnny and Lizette need to get out of these handcuffs. Drake and Josie need to find their missing belongings. And Saxon needs to be located before the Vampire Alliance comes down on them hard…

My Review Continue reading