Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Angel’s Flight’ by Nalini Singh

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 123 books this year.

98%
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 37

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

Calico Descending

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #2
Published by Self-Published on October 29, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In a world of suffering and brutality, she's the key to his humanity ...
I was fourteen when I was sold to the men in black uniforms. Too young to understand I served a purpose beyond that of the other girls they’d taken.
For the greater good.
Now, after four years in Calico, I’ve seen more death and suffering than during my days of surviving out in the Deadlands against the threat of Ragers and famine. I didn’t think this world could get any bleaker. Didn’t think it could take any more from me than it already had.
Not until I finally learned my purpose.
That same day, I walked the dark halls in the bowels of this hell, where the suffering is in silence, and ghosts of the dead whisper through the walls. A place where nightmares are real.
A place where I met my Champion—the most revered Alpha in S-Block—locked away in his dark cell.
For the greater good.
He’s their weapon, their only line of defense against the mistakes of the past: the mutations that could wipe out all of what’s left of us.
Me, I’m his whipping girl. His reward for good behavior. And his punishment for acts of defiance.
Calico Descending is the follow up book to Juniper Unraveling, a full-length dystopian post apocalyptic romance.
SERIES READING ORDER: Juniper Unraveling (Book 1) Calico Descending (Book 2) Kings of Carrion (Book 3)

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Beyond the Pale’ by Jennifer Millikin

ARC Review: 'Beyond the Pale' by Jennifer Millikin

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Beyond the Pale’ by Jennifer Millikin

Beyond the Pale

by Jennifer Millikin
Published by Self-Published on October 22, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
four-stars

My whole life I’ve known Finn Jeffries and Brady Sterling would be my undoing.

The three of us were inseparable, but growing up with two boys as your best friends comes with it’s own certain type of growing pains.

As a child, Finn was wild and free, and grew up to be a devilishly handsome man with a smirk that frustrated me as much as it did other things to me.
Brady was brave and loyal, and the kind of man he grew into didn't surprise me a bit: devoted and gallant, with a handsome, trustworthy face that made my heart beat faster.

We went our separate ways for college, but now it’s eight years later and a pact we made back then has brought us back to our hometown.
Back to the complicated situation we ran from.
Back to the love triangle we never really escaped.

I love them both, and it’s time for me to make a choice.
I’ve always known one of them would be my forever, I just never knew which one.
And I still don’t.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Widow of Rose House’ by Diana Biller + Excerpt

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Widow of Rose House’ by Diana Biller + Excerpt

The Widow of Rose House

by Diana Biller
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on October 8, 2019
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 352
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

A young widow restores a dilapidated mansion with the assistance of a charming, eccentric genius, only to find the house is full of dangerous secrets in this effervescent Gilded Age debut novel
It's 1875, and Alva Webster has perfected her stiff upper lip after three years of being pilloried in the presses of two continents over fleeing her abusive husband. Now his sudden death allows her to return to New York to make a fresh start, restoring Liefdehuis, a dilapidated Hyde Park mansion, and hopefully her reputation at the same time. However, fresh starts aren't as easy as they seem, as Alva discovers when stories of a haunting at Liefdehuis begin to reach her. But Alva doesn't believe in ghosts. So when the eccentric and brilliant professor, Samuel Moore, appears and informs her that he can get to the bottom of the mystery that surrounds Liefdehuis, she turns him down flat. She doesn't need any more complications in her life―especially not a handsome, convention-flouting, scandal-raising one like Sam.
Unfortunately, though Alva is loath to admit it, Sam, a pioneer in electric lighting and a member of the nationally-adored Moore family of scientists, is the only one who can help. Together, the two delve into the tragic secrets wreathing Alva's new home while Sam attempts to unlock Alva's history―and her heart.
Set during the Gilded Age in New York City, The Widow of Rose House is a gorgeous debut by Diana Biller, with a darkly Victorian Gothic flair and an intrepid and resilient American heroine guaranteed to delight readers.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

ARC Review: 'Damage' by Natasha Knight

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Damage’ by Natasha Knight

Damage

by Natasha Knight
Series: Collateral Damage #2
Published by Self-Published on October 15, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 272
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

We're a match made in hell, Stefan and I.
He took me to exact his revenge. I went from being a pawn to my father to being a pawn to Stefan. The only difference is I have a ring the size of a boulder on my finger and a husband I don't want.
And the hardest part is I thought he was different. I thought I was falling in love.
I guess my father was right. I'm not a very smart girl.
Stefan is a powerful man. He doesn't play nice, not if you're his enemy. But I've learned one thing about my husband. He takes care of what's his. And I am his.
His enemies have become my enemies, but he'll never let anyone hurt me. He's fiercely protective.
It's the predator inside that scares me.

Continue reading

Blog Tour: ‘Aries’ by Gemma James (#Review)

Blog Tour: 'Aries' by Gemma James (#Review)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour: ‘Aries’ by Gemma James (#Review)

Aries

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #1
Published by Self-Published on October 1, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
The first time I met the boys of the Zodiac Brotherhood, I was forced to my knees for the introduction. Still grieving the death of my parents, I was a child queen, a pawn in my uncle’s agenda for wealth and gain. As my guardian, he had the authority to arrange a marriage upon my eighteenth birthday.
That meeting took place six years ago. Now those boys are powerful men. Twelve virile men that want to own me.
And I must spend a month with each one. Bending and yielding to their desires and commands. Shedding pieces of my innocence so long as my virtue remains intact.
Because they want a virgin queen after the last month concludes, and my uncle plans to auction me off to the highest bidder.
Out of the twelve men, only one has my heart. And only one can claim my hand in marriage. If only it were up to me to decide.

Part 1 of The Zodiac Queen.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Frost and Flame’ by Gena Showalter (Blog Tour + #Giveaway)

ARC Review: 'Frost and Flame' by Gena Showalter (Blog Tour + #Giveaway)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Frost and Flame’ by Gena Showalter (Blog Tour + #Giveaway)

Frost and Flame

by Gena Showalter
Series: Gods of War #2
Published by HQN Books on September 17, 2019
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

From Gena Showalter, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lords of the Underworld saga, comes Frost and Flame, the second book in the scorching paranormal romance series Gods of War.

Bane of Adwaeweth is the most feared immortal warrior in All War history. Possessed by a bloodthirsty beast, he will stop at nothing to win. Then he meets irresistible Nola Lee. He hates the power she wields over him, but she alone can rain vengeance upon his wife’s killer.

Unaware of her destiny to rule as queen of beasts, Nola battles illness, addiction and vulnerability. With Bane, however, she experiences pleasure for the first time, and only wants more. But being with him comes with a terrible price.

With enemies lurking around every corner, Bane and Nola must fight to survive. But time is running out, and neither can resist the sizzling attraction blazing between them. Will their romance save the beast and his beauty, or destroy everything they’ve come to love?

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Three’ by Lisa Renee Jones

ARC Review: 'Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Three' by Lisa Renee Jones

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Three’ by Lisa Renee Jones

Dirty Rich Secrets: Part Three

by Lisa Renee Jones
Series: Dirty Rich Secrets #3
Published by Julie Patra Publishing on September 24, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 88
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The mind-blowing finale to Ashley and Aaron's story is here! Everything they know is not what it seems, but will they find out the truth before it destroys their future?

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Trouble with Christmas’ by Amy Andrews

ARC Review: 'The Trouble with Christmas' by Amy Andrews

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Trouble with Christmas’ by Amy Andrews

The Trouble with Christmas

by Amy Andrews
Series: Credence Colorado #2
Published by Entangled: Amara on September 24, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

"[W]ill generate holiday spirit in even the most Scrooge-like reader.” Kirkus Review, Starred Review
All Suzanne St. Michelle wants is an over-the-top, eggnog-induced holiday with her best friend in Credence, Colorado. But when her hoity-toity parents insist she come home for Christmas in New York, she blurts out that her sexy landlord is actually her boyfriend and she can’t leave him—Joshy loves Christmas. The more twinkle lights the better.
Rancher Joshua Grady does not love Christmas. Or company, or chatty women. Unfortunately for him, the chattiest woman ever has rented the cottage on his ranch, invited her rich, art-scene parents, and now insists he play “fake rancher boyfriend” in a production of the Hokiest Christmas Ever. And somehow…she gets him to agree.
Apparently, he’ll do anything to get his quiet life back. At least there’s mistletoe every two feet—and kissing Suzy is surprisingly easy. But in the midst of acres of tinsel, far too many tacky Christmas sweaters, and a tree that can be seen from space, he’s starting to want what he lost when he was a kid—a family. Too bad it’s with a woman heading back to New York before the ball drops…
Each book in the Credence, Colorado series is STANDALONE:* Nothing But Trouble* The Trouble with Christmas

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Collateral’ by Natasha Knight

ARC Review: 'Collateral' by Natasha Knight

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Collateral’ by Natasha Knight

Collateral

by Natasha Knight
Series: Collateral Damage #1
Published by Self-Published on September 23, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
four-half-stars

Gabriela

Stefan Sabbioni showed up in my bedroom on my sixteenth birthday. Uninvited, he stood in the shadows smelling of whiskey and death and wrapped a broken, blood-crusted necklace around my neck.

I thought he’d strangle me with it.

That night, he left a message for my father. He said he’d be back to take something precious.

I never delivered that message, though. I wonder if things would be different if I had because now, two years later, he’s back. And he’s not hiding in any shadows.

He’s come to make good on his promise.
He’s back to take that something precious.
Me.

Stefan

Marchese is the manipulator of my family’s tragedy. I won’t just bring him to his knees. I’ll bury him for what he did.

Taking his daughter is only the beginning. I’ll do it knowing I’m starting a war. I’ll do it knowing my enemies will become his allies. They’ll stop at nothing to destroy me and he’ll stop at nothing to get her back.

I’ve never shied away from war, though. I’m not one to play nice and I don’t share my toys. I’ll demolish you if you touch what’s mine.

And she is most definitely mine.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘LAKE’ by Michelle Heard

ARC Review: 'LAKE' by Michelle Heard

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘LAKE’ by Michelle Heard

Lake

by Michelle Heard
Series: Trinity Academy #3
Published by Self-Published on September 16, 2019
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 201
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
five-stars

His eyes have the power to undo all the hurt caused by my family.
"Don't let them see you cry."
After months of refusing, I finally agree to move to America, where my fiancé's waiting for me.Just like my mother, an arranged marriage lies in my near future.Just like my mother, I'm probably going to be shoved aside in a couple of years after providing the Cutler family with an heir.
Being a Korean girl from a culture that's very different from the west, it makes me stand out like a sore thumb. There's nothing I can do but to accept the fate arranged by my father and his mistress. My marriage to Lake Cutler will be a business deal and nothing else.
My plan is simple. Make him hate me enough to break off the engagement so I can return to Korea.But I didn't account for those caring brown eyes.What started as a mission to save myself from an unhappy arranged marriage soon turns into a battle to not lose my heart.
I dare him to walk away, but instead, he shows me any bridge can be crossed. #ArrangedMarriage #ColledgeRomance #NewAdult
Please note:This is Book 3 in The Trinity Academy Series.All 3 books are interconnected, and some plots are carried over from the previous 2 books in this series.

Continue reading

1 2 3 37