Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Laid Bare’ by Lauren Dane #Romanceopoly2020

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 54 books this year.

43%
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Review: ‘A Merciful Secret’ by Kendra Elliot #Romanceopoly2020

Review: ‘A Merciful Secret’ by Kendra Elliot #Romanceopoly2020

A Merciful Secret

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Mercy Kilpatrick #3
Published by Montlake Romance on January 16, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 325
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In this Wall Street Journal bestseller, a pair of ritual murders could expose Mercy Kilpatrick to something terrifying: her own past…
Raised off the grid by survivalists, Mercy Kilpatrick believed in no greater safeguard than the backwoods of Oregon. Unforgiven by her father for abandoning the fold for the FBI, Mercy still holds to her past convictions. They’re in her blood. They’re her secrets—as guarded as her private survival retreat hidden away in the foothills.
In a cabin near her hideaway, Mercy encounters a young girl whose grandmother is dying from multiple knife wounds. Hundreds of miles away, a body is discovered slashed to death in a similar way. The victims—a city judge and an old woman living in the woods—couldn’t be more different. With the help of police chief Truman Daly, Mercy must find the killer before the body count rises. Mercy knows that the past has an edge on her. So does her family. How can she keep her secrets now…when they’re the only things that can save her?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Dark Pleasures’ by Aja James

Review: ‘Dark Pleasures’ by Aja James

Dark Pleasures

by Aja James
Series: Pure/Dark Ones #4
Published by Self-Published on June 15, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Devlin Sinclair, the New England Dark Ones’ Hunter, is on a mission to track down the elusive and mysterious Medusa, perhaps the ultimate nemesis the Pure and Dark Ones have been battling in recent years.
But he can’t do it alone.
Grace Darling has isolated herself from the world since a very young age, after her parents’ death and because of her own social disability. Awkward and brilliant, a born sensualist, Grace agrees to a blind date that changes the course of Destiny.
She has the skills he needs.
Their chemistry is off the charts, but will she, can she, give him the love he craves?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Gemini’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Gemini’ by Gemma James

Gemini

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #3
Published by Self-Published on February 20, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 79
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.

Three men.
Too many betrayals.
A multitude of secrets.

They circle me like the walls in this tower.

Because Landon Astor isn’t who I thought he was. My history entwines with his in ways I don’t want to believe are true. And speaking of histories…Sebastian’s past struts in sporting a pair of stilettos and an attitude to match the lion’s ego.

But discovering the truth about Liam is the harshest blow. He was my safe haven in this madness—the one man I thought I could trust the most.

Now I’m in a free-fall with no one to catch me.

Because if the three men I thought I knew best are capable of turning my world upside down, I don’t want to know what the other nine men in the Zodiac Brotherhood have in store for me.

Part 3 of The Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Dark Desires’ by Aja James

Review: 'Dark Desires' by Aja James

Review: ‘Dark Desires’ by Aja James

Dark Desires

by Aja James
Published by Self-Published on April 5, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 331
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

Ryu Takamura is the Dark Ones’ Assassin. He has never missed his target…until now. Until her.
Ava Monroe is a talented geneticist who holds the key to the vampire race’s future…and perhaps her own as well.
Their attraction is explosive from the first. She would do anything to have him. He would sacrifice all to protect her.
But will their love triumph over seemingly impossible odds as they battle enemies new and old? Especially the demons from Ryu’s past? And deep within his heart?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Us’ by Elle Kennedy & Sarina Bowen #RomanceopolyChallenge2020

Review: 'Us' by Elle Kennedy & Sarina Bowen #RomanceopolyChallenge2020

Review: ‘Us’ by Elle Kennedy & Sarina Bowen #RomanceopolyChallenge2020

Us

by Sarina Bowen, Elle Kennedy
Series: Him #2
Published by Rennie Road Books on March 8, 2016
Pages: 322
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Can your favorite hockey players finish their first season together undefeated?
Five months in, NHL forward Ryan Wesley is having a record-breaking rookie season. He’s living his dream of playing pro hockey and coming home every night to the man he loves—Jamie Canning, his longtime best friend turned boyfriend. There’s just one problem: the most important relationship of his life is one he needs to keep hidden, or else face a media storm that will eclipse his success on the ice.
Jamie loves Wes. He really, truly does. But hiding sucks. It’s not the life Jamie envisioned for himself, and the strain of keeping their secret is taking its toll. It doesn’t help that his new job isn’t going as smoothly as he’d hoped, but he knows he can power through it as long as he has Wes. At least apartment 10B is their retreat, where they can always be themselves.
Or can they? When Wes’s nosiest teammate moves in upstairs, the threads of their carefully woven lie begin to unravel. With the outside world determined to take its best shot at them, can Wes and Jamie develop major-league relationship skills on the fly?
Warning: contains sexual situations, a vibrating chair, long-distance sexytimes and proof that hockey players look hot in any shade of green.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Bred in the Bone’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: 'Bred in the Bone' by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘Bred in the Bone’ by Kendra Elliot

Bred in the Bone

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Widow's Island #4
Published by Montlake Romance on October 29, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 86
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
five-stars

In the fourth Widow’s Island novella by Wall Street Journal bestselling author Kendra Elliot, the truth of a twenty-year disappearance will finally come to light.
When the town drunk ends up dead in a hit-and-run, FBI special agent Cate Wilde expects that solving the case will be cut and dried. But evidence quickly surfaces that the victim was involved with another crime. A crime that has gone cold for twenty years. A crime of personal importance to Cate.
Cate’s best friend, Samantha, went missing at fourteen, leaving behind nothing except a jacket and an island full of unanswered questions. Samantha’s disappearance has haunted Cate for more than half her life, and she might finally be able to find some closure.
But not everything is as it seems. As Cate unravels what happened on that fateful day, she’ll discover that the community of Widow’s Island is full of secrets. Betrayed by someone she thought she knew, Cate will need to piece together the truth…before someone else gets hurt.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Whisper of Bones’ by Melinda Leigh

Review: 'Whisper of Bones' by Melinda Leigh

Review: ‘Whisper of Bones’ by Melinda Leigh

Whisper of Bones

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Widow's Island #3
Published by Montlake Romance on October 22, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 97
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Dark secrets from the past bob to the surface in the third novella in the Widow’s Island series.
When a body washes up on the state park beach, Deputy Tessa Black’s experience as a former Seattle detective tells her that the death was not an accident. All evidence points to another murder on the remote island.
The victim is a local contractor with a shockingly long list of enemies. The more locals Tessa interviews, the more people she suspects—from the bitter ex-wife and estranged current wife to disgruntled former clients and employees. They all have different reasons to want him dead.
As Tessa’s investigation heats up, arson and a vicious assault convince her the killer is desperate to hide his crime—and that she’d better solve the case before he claims another victim.


Continue reading

Review: ‘A Bone to Pick’ by Melinda Leigh (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: 'A Bone to Pick' by Melinda Leigh (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: ‘A Bone to Pick’ by Melinda Leigh (#KUWeekendAThon)

A Bone to Pick

by Melinda Leigh
Series: Widow's Island #2
Published by Montlake Romance on October 30, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 101
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
five-stars

Deputy Tessa Black gave up her career as a detective with the Seattle PD and returned to the Pacific Northwest island she calls home to care for her ailing mother. Tessa thinks her mother’s illness is the worst thing she’ll face—until she responds to a routine call in the state park and discovers a local man harpooned to a sign.
As the murder investigation unfolds, it becomes clear that the victim harbored secrets. Together with her FBI agent best friend, Cate, and park ranger Logan Wilde, Tessa must connect the pieces before the murderer strikes again. But the closer she gets to the truth, the more she finds herself—and the ones she loves—in harm’s way.
Pressure mounts as Tessa attempts to juggle the current case with her search for the truth behind her childhood friend Samantha’s disappearance twenty years ago. Can Tessa find the murderer and uncover answers about Samantha without jeopardizing everything she holds dear?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Winter’ by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: 'Winter' by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: ‘Winter’ by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Winter: A High School Bully Romance

by McKayla Box
Series: Sunset Beach High #2
Published by Self-Published on August 13, 2019
Genres: High School Bully Romance
Pages: 197
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

I'm not New Girl anymore.
I have friends.
And I have Trevor.
Friends I trust and a boy I love.
Things should be easy.
But things are never that easy.
Never that simple.
Because I also have enemies.
Old and new.
And they aren't happy that I'm happy.
So the target is still on my back.
And it's bigger than ever.
WARNING: Winter is the second book in The Sunset Beach High series. It contains mature themes, sexual content, and profanity. If you're not a fan of those things, this isn't the book for you. But if you like serious stuff mixed with lots of bad words and some sweaty sex, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. It is the second in a four book series.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Taurus’ by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Review: 'Taurus' by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Review: ‘Taurus’ by Gemma James (#KUweekendreadathon)

Taurus

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #2
Published by Self-Published on December 10, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 80
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Twelve diamonds.That’s the number of precious stones in my crown.And when I break one of Heath Bordeaux’s stringent rules, I lose one.Earning it back entails pain and degradation.No one can save me from his reign.Not even Liam Castle.

Part 2 of the Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading