Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Marked by an Assassin’ by Felicity HeatonReview: ‘Shadow and Ice’ by Gena Showalter

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 104 books this year.

83%
September Reviews
One Woman by Lisa Renee JonesBeast: The Beginning by Mary Catherine GebhardThe Proposal by Jasmine GuilloryMason by Michelle HeardLove in Spades by Charlie CochetNothing to Fear by Juno RushdanToxic by Kim KarrFalcon by Michelle Heard
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 18

Review: ‘BEAST: The Beginning’ by Mary Catherine Gebhard

Review: ‘BEAST: The Beginning’ by Mary Catherine Gebhard

Beast: The Beginning

by Mary Catherine Gebhard
Published by Trendlettrs on March 14, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 570
Format: eBook
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Once upon a time, I thought love was a fairytale.
I thought selling myself to a mafia boss was noble. So what if they called him the Beast? I grew up in rags, and he would lift me to riches. All I had to do was give him my soul.
He was punishing. Insatiable. Captivating. Nothing like I expected him to be. Each day my reality blurred, leaving me wondering if I was slave or princess.
The longer I stayed, the more I lost myself to him. Even after every cruelty the Beast visited upon me, I longed for his touch. Even after every savage word he spoke, I begged for his lips. I thought the worst thing he could take was my body. I was too naïve to guard my heart.
Once upon a time, I thought love was a fairytale.
Now I know better than to speak of happily ever afters.
Beast is the first book in the Hate Story duet. About what it means to fall in love with the person who has absolutely destroyed you, it contains disturbing and graphic situations that may be a trigger for some.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Love in Spades’ by Charlie Cochet #romanceopoly

Review: 'Love in Spades' by Charlie Cochet #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Love in Spades’ by Charlie Cochet #romanceopoly

Love in Spades

by Charlie Cochet
Series: Four Kings Security,
Published by Amazon Digital Services on April 21, 2018
Pages: 302
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Goodreads
four-stars

When the cards are stacked against you, the Kings will even the odds.
Ex-Special Forces soldier Anston “Ace” Sharpe is fighting a different battle these days—one involving the world of private security across the state of Florida. As part owner of Four Kings Security, Ace and his fellow Kings tackle everything from armed transport and investigations to cyber intelligence and executive protection. Cocky, fearless, and brash, Ace isn’t afraid to take risks.
After years of working alongside his father, Colton Connolly is ready to take the helm at Connolly Maritime, but his father’s retirement is put on hold when Colton begins receiving death threats. If that isn’t bad enough, his father signs a contract with Four Kings Security to provide Colton with round-the-clock protection, despite his adamant refusal. Colton’s life has been turned upside down, the last thing he needs is a shadow, especially in the form of infuriating, sexy-as-sin Ace Sharpe, who seems to be on a mission to drive Colton mad.
Sparks fly the moment Colton and Ace meet on a sultry night club dance floor. But getting involved with a client, even one as fiery and beautiful as Colton Connolly, is a line Ace is unwilling to cross. Colton might be attracted to Ace, but he’d been burned before. He might be willing to put his life in Ace’s hands, but not his heart.
As the Florida nights heat up, so does their passion, and Ace and Colton are faced with a difficult choice—take the plunge and risk it all, or play it safe and walk away?
If Ace can keep a deadly threat from robbing Colton of a future….

Continue reading

Review: ‘Gladiator’ by Anna Hackett #romanceopoly

Review: 'Gladiator' by Anna Hackett #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Gladiator’ by Anna Hackett #romanceopoly

Gladiator

by Anna Hackett
Series: Galactic Gladiators #1
Published by Self-Published on October 23, 2016
Pages: 176
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Fighting for love, honor, and freedom on the galaxy’s lawless outer rim…
When Earth space marine Harper Adams finds herself abducted by alien slavers off a space station, her life turns into a battle for survival. Dumped into an arena on a desert planet on the outer rim, she finds herself face to face with a big, tattooed alien gladiator…the champion of the Kor Magna Arena.
A former prince abandoned to the arena as a teen, Raiden Tiago has long ago earned his freedom. Now he rules the arena, but he doesn’t fight for the glory, but instead for his own dark purpose—revenge against the Thraxian aliens who destroyed his planet. Then his existence is rocked by one small, fierce female fighter from an unknown planet called Earth.
Harper is determined to find a way home, but when she spots her best friend in the arena—a slave of the evil Thraxian aliens—she’ll do anything to save her friend…even join forces with the tough, alpha male who sets her body on fire. But as Harper and Raiden step foot onto the blood-soaked sands of the arena, Harper worries that Raiden has his own dangerous agenda…

Continue reading

Review: ‘Fall’ by McKayla Box

Review: 'Fall' by McKayla Box

Review: ‘Fall’ by McKayla Box

Fall

by McKayla Box
Series: Sunset Beach High #1
Published by Self-Published on July 30, 2019
Pages: 214
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

It's not happening again.
It's the first day of my senior year.
Which should be awesome.
Except I'm in a new town.
At a new school.
And that makes me the new girl.
Which is not awesome at all.
And the guy everyone is telling me to stay away from? The one who rules the school, the one who has mountains of money, the one who is drop dead gorgeous, and the one who does whatever he wants?
He's already made me a target, thinking he can pull the new girl into his world by sheer force.
And that's going to be a problem for him.
Because I've been a target before.
And it's not happening again.
WARNING: Fall is the first book in the Sunset Beach High series. It contains mature themes, sexual content, and profanity. If you're not a fan of those things, this isn't the book for you. But if you like serious stuff mixed with lots of bad words and some sweaty sex, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. It is the first in a four book series.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Firelight’ by Kristen Callihan #romanceopoly

Review: 'Firelight' by Kristen Callihan #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Firelight’ by Kristen Callihan #romanceopoly

Firelight

by Kristen Callihan
Series: Darkest London #1
Published by Forever on January 31, 2012
Genres: Paranormal Romance, Historical Romance
Pages: 372
Format: eBook, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
three-stars

Once the flames are ignited . . .
Miranda Ellis is a woman tormented. Plagued since birth by a strange and powerful gift, she has spent her entire life struggling to control her exceptional abilities. Yet one innocent but irreversible mistake has left her family's fortune decimated and forced her to wed London's most nefarious nobleman.
They will burn for eternity . . .
Lord Benjamin Archer is no ordinary man. Doomed to hide his disfigured face behind masks, Archer knows it's selfish to take Miranda as his bride. Yet he can't help being drawn to the flame-haired beauty whose touch sparks a passion he hasn't felt in a lifetime. When Archer is accused of a series of gruesome murders, he gives in to the beastly nature he has fought so hard to hide from the world. But the curse that haunts him cannot be denied. Now, to save his soul, Miranda will enter a world of dark magic and darker intrigue. For only she can see the man hiding behind the mask.

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Duchess War’ by Courtney Milan #romanceopoly

Review: 'The Duchess War' by Courtney Milan #romanceopoly

Review: ‘The Duchess War’ by Courtney Milan #romanceopoly

The Duchess War

by Courtney Milan
Series: Brothers Sinister #1
Published by Self-Published on December 8, 2012
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 270
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Sometimes love is an accident.
This time, it’s a strategy.

Miss Minerva Lane is a quiet, bespectacled wallflower, and she wants to keep it that way. After all, the last time she was the center of attention, it ended badly—so badly that she changed her name to escape her scandalous past. Wallflowers may not be the prettiest of blooms, but at least they don't get trampled. So when a handsome duke comes to town, the last thing she wants is his attention.
But that is precisely what she gets.
Because Robert Blaisdell, the Duke of Clermont, is not fooled. When Minnie figures out what he’s up to, he realizes there is more to her than her spectacles and her quiet ways. And he’s determined to lay her every secret bare before she can discover his. But this time, one shy miss may prove to be more than his match...

Continue reading

Review: ‘Dark Longing’ by Aja James

Review: ‘Dark Longing’ by Aja James

Dark Longing

by Aja James
Series: Pure/Dark Ones #2
Published by Self-Published on January 18, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 335
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

“Every story has more than one side, like a crystal that captures and reflects different colors of light. Do not take for granted what you think you know, for until you hold the entire jewel in your palm, the temptation is to fall prey to illusion and deception.”
This is a story of the Dark Ones…
Inanna: the vampire warrior
Known as the Angel of Death among her kind, she has lived millennia alone, one of the remaining True Bloods in existence, unconsciously longing for the one male she could never have.
Gabriel: the forbidden human
His soul recognizes hers from the first encounter. With the first touch, he is awakened. Though he does not know it, he has been searching for her across the ages.
But even as they are finally reunited, their love faces seemingly impossible odds. Will history repeat itself or will they break all the rules and chart a new course together?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Corrupt’ by Penelope Douglas #romanceopoly

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Corrupt’ by Penelope Douglas #romanceopoly

Corrupt

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #1
Published by Self-Published on November 17, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance
Pages: 461
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars


From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Douglas comes a new dark romance...

ErikaI was told that dreams were our heart's desires. My nightmares, however, became my obsession.
His name is Michael Crist.
My boyfriend's older brother is like that scary movie that you peek through your hand to watch. He's handsome, strong, and completely terrifying. The star of his college's basketball team and now gone pro, he's more concerned with the dirt on his shoe than me.
But I noticed him.
I saw him. I heard him. The things that he did, and the deeds that he hid... For years, I bit my nails, unable to look away.
Now, I've graduated high school and moved on to college, but I haven't stopped watching Michael. He's bad, and the dirt I've seen isn't content to stay in my head anymore.
Because he's finally noticed me.
MichaelHer name is Erika Fane, but everyone calls her Rika.
My brother's girlfriend grew up hanging around my house and is always at our dinner table. She looks down when I enter a room and stills when I am close. I can always feel the fear rolling off of her, and while I haven't had her body, I know that I have her mind. That's all I really want anyway.
Until my brother leaves for the military, and I find Rika alone at college.
In my city.
Unprotected.
The opportunity is too good to be true, as well as the timing. Because you see, three years ago she put a few of my high school friends in prison, and now they're out.
We've waited. We've been patient. And now every last one of her nightmares will come true.
*Corrupt is a STANDALONE dark romance with no cliffhanger. It is suitable for ages 18+.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Pure Healing’ by Aja James

Review: ‘Pure Healing’ by Aja James

Pure Healing

by Aja James
Series: Pure/Dark Ones #1
Published by Self-Published on May 4, 2012
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 334
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible
Goodreads
four-stars

In the world of Pure Ones, where sexual intercourse with anyone other than one’s Eternal Mate leads to a slow, painful death within thirty days, love comes with the warning label “fall at your own peril”…  Rain: the Healer
From the first time she beheld him, she yearned to sooth his pain and torment and nurtured a secret, selfish desire – to have him for her very own…
Valerius: the Protector
Despite their instant attraction, he has staunchly avoided applying to be the Healer’s Consort, haunted by the brutality and violence of his past…
As the decadal Phoenix Rite draws near, as threats from their vampire nemesis intensify, Rain and Valerius must decide whether they let their histories and duties dictate their destiny or whether they risk all for a chance at everlasting love.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘The Deal’ by Elle Kennedy #romanceopoly

Review: ‘The Deal’ by Elle Kennedy #romanceopoly

The Deal

by Elle Kennedy
Series: Off-Campus #1
Published by Self-Published on February 24, 2015
Pages: 330
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

She's about to make a deal with the college bad boy...
Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she's carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush's attention, she'll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice...even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.
...and it's going to be oh so good
All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he's worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he's all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn't take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn't going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 18