Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Dark Desire’ by Christine Feehan

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 77 books this year.

77%
July Reviews
The Wedding Date by Jasmine GuilloryCruel Legacy by K.A. LindeThe Fall of Troy by Dr. Rebecca SharpFirst Earl I See Tonight by Anna BennettSEAL Wolf Surrender by Terry Spear
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 18

Review: ‘The Duchess War’ by Courtney Milan #romanceopoly

Review: ‘The Duchess War’ by Courtney Milan #romanceopoly

The Duchess War

by Courtney Milan
Series: Brothers Sinister #1
Published by Self-Published on December 8, 2012
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 270
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Sometimes love is an accident.
This time, it’s a strategy.

Miss Minerva Lane is a quiet, bespectacled wallflower, and she wants to keep it that way. After all, the last time she was the center of attention, it ended badly—so badly that she changed her name to escape her scandalous past. Wallflowers may not be the prettiest of blooms, but at least they don't get trampled. So when a handsome duke comes to town, the last thing she wants is his attention.
But that is precisely what she gets.
Because Robert Blaisdell, the Duke of Clermont, is not fooled. When Minnie figures out what he’s up to, he realizes there is more to her than her spectacles and her quiet ways. And he’s determined to lay her every secret bare before she can discover his. But this time, one shy miss may prove to be more than his match...

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Dark Longing’ by Aja James

Review: ‘Dark Longing’ by Aja James

Dark Longing

by Aja James
Published by Self-Published on January 18, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 335
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

“Every story has more than one side, like a crystal that captures and reflects different colors of light. Do not take for granted what you think you know, for until you hold the entire jewel in your palm, the temptation is to fall prey to illusion and deception.”
This is a story of the Dark Ones…
Inanna: the vampire warrior
Known as the Angel of Death among her kind, she has lived millennia alone, one of the remaining True Bloods in existence, unconsciously longing for the one male she could never have.
Gabriel: the forbidden human
His soul recognizes hers from the first encounter. With the first touch, he is awakened. Though he does not know it, he has been searching for her across the ages.
But even as they are finally reunited, their love faces seemingly impossible odds. Will history repeat itself or will they break all the rules and chart a new course together?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Corrupt’ by Penelope Douglas #romanceopoly

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Corrupt’ by Penelope Douglas #romanceopoly

Corrupt

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #1
Published by Self-Published on November 17, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Dark Romance
Pages: 461
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars


From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Douglas comes a new dark romance...

ErikaI was told that dreams were our heart's desires. My nightmares, however, became my obsession.
His name is Michael Crist.
My boyfriend's older brother is like that scary movie that you peek through your hand to watch. He's handsome, strong, and completely terrifying. The star of his college's basketball team and now gone pro, he's more concerned with the dirt on his shoe than me.
But I noticed him.
I saw him. I heard him. The things that he did, and the deeds that he hid... For years, I bit my nails, unable to look away.
Now, I've graduated high school and moved on to college, but I haven't stopped watching Michael. He's bad, and the dirt I've seen isn't content to stay in my head anymore.
Because he's finally noticed me.
MichaelHer name is Erika Fane, but everyone calls her Rika.
My brother's girlfriend grew up hanging around my house and is always at our dinner table. She looks down when I enter a room and stills when I am close. I can always feel the fear rolling off of her, and while I haven't had her body, I know that I have her mind. That's all I really want anyway.
Until my brother leaves for the military, and I find Rika alone at college.
In my city.
Unprotected.
The opportunity is too good to be true, as well as the timing. Because you see, three years ago she put a few of my high school friends in prison, and now they're out.
We've waited. We've been patient. And now every last one of her nightmares will come true.
*Corrupt is a STANDALONE dark romance with no cliffhanger. It is suitable for ages 18+.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Pure Healing’ by Aja James

Review: ‘Pure Healing’ by Aja James

Pure Healing

by Aja James
Published by Self-Published on May 4, 2012
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 334
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible
Goodreads
four-stars

In the world of Pure Ones, where sexual intercourse with anyone other than one’s Eternal Mate leads to a slow, painful death within thirty days, love comes with the warning label “fall at your own peril”…  Rain: the Healer
From the first time she beheld him, she yearned to sooth his pain and torment and nurtured a secret, selfish desire – to have him for her very own…
Valerius: the Protector
Despite their instant attraction, he has staunchly avoided applying to be the Healer’s Consort, haunted by the brutality and violence of his past…
As the decadal Phoenix Rite draws near, as threats from their vampire nemesis intensify, Rain and Valerius must decide whether they let their histories and duties dictate their destiny or whether they risk all for a chance at everlasting love.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘The Deal’ by Elle Kennedy #romanceopoly

Review: ‘The Deal’ by Elle Kennedy #romanceopoly

The Deal

by Elle Kennedy
Series: Off-Campus #1
Published by Self-Published on February 24, 2015
Pages: 330
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

She's about to make a deal with the college bad boy...
Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she's carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush's attention, she'll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice...even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.
...and it's going to be oh so good
All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he's worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he's all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn't take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn't going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

My Review Continue reading

RDB & Review: ‘Like the Wind’ by J. Bengtsson

RDB & Review: 'Like the Wind' by J. Bengtsson

RDB & Review: ‘Like the Wind’ by J. Bengtsson

Like The Wind

by J. Bengtsson
Published by Self-Published on April 16, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 326
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
four-stars

Prepare to laugh, cry, and fall in love with this enthralling new romance from J. Bengtsson
When a letter from his supposedly deceased mother finds its way into his hands, life changes in an instant for international pop star Bodhi Beckett. Reeling from the deception of those closest to him, Bodhi spirals out of control and is sent to a secluded mansion in the coastal mountains of Southern California for some rest and relaxation. But the retreat proves to be anything but relaxing when a raging wildfire sets the landscape around him ablaze. While escaping the flames, Bodhi rescues Breeze, a quirky, pet-loving woman, and together the two fight their way to safety. In the aftermath of the fire, Bodhi and Breeze hit the road to uncover the truth about his family. What neither of them expected is to forge a powerful connection that will change their lives forever…but can it survive the real world, or will it disappear like the wind?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Lothaire’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Lothaire’ by Kresley Cole

Lothaire

by Kresley Cole
Series: Immortals After Dark #12
Published by Gallery Books on January 10th 2012
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 468
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Number-one New York Times best-selling author Kresley Cole continues her electrifying Immortals After Dark series with this thrilling tale, revealing secrets of the Lore, fierce realm of the immortals....
All fear the enemy of old.
Driven by his insatiable need for revenge, Lothaire, the Lore’s most ruthless vampire, plots to seize the Horde’s crown. But bloodlust and torture have left him on the brink of madness—until he finds Elizabeth Peirce, the key to his victory. He captures the unique young mortal, intending to offer up her very soul in exchange for power, yet Elizabeth soothes his tormented mind and awakens within him emotions Lothaire believed he could no longer experience.
A deadly force dwells within her.
Growing up in desperate poverty, Ellie Peirce yearned for a better life, never imagining she’d be convicted of murder—or that an evil immortal would abduct her from death row. But Lothaire is no savior, as he himself plans to sacrifice Ellie in one month’s time. And yet the vampire seems to ache for her touch, showering her with wealth and sexual pleasure. In a bid to save her soul, Ellie surrenders her body to the wicked vampire, while vowing to protect her heart.
Centuries of cold indifference shattered.
Elizabeth tempts Lothaire beyond reason, as only his fated mate could. As the month draws to a close, he must choose between a millennia-old blood vendetta and his irresistible prisoner. Will Lothaire succumb to the miseries of his past—or risk everything for a future with her?

My Review

Continue reading

Review: ‘The Gamble’ by Kristen Ashley #romanceopoly

Review: ‘The Gamble’ by Kristen Ashley #romanceopoly

The Gamble

by Kristen Ashley
Series: Colorado Mountain #1
Published by Forever on December 11, 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 679
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Love is the greatest gamble of all...
Nina Sheridan desperately needs a timeout vacation. With a fiancé who can't even remember how she takes her coffee, Nina wants some distance to rethink her engagement. Flying halfway around the world from England to a mountain town in Colorado should do the trick. But when she finds a gorgeous man at her rental cabin, Nina's cold, lonely adventure suddenly heats up.
The owner of the house, Holden "Max" Maxwell is surprised by the beautiful woman who turns up at his door. But when Nina becomes ill, Max spends days nursing her back to health. A private man with a broken heart, Max finds himself drawn to the strong-willed woman. Soon it becomes impossible for Nina and Max to deny their growing attraction to one another. Yet even as these two wounded lovebirds think about taking a chance on a relationship, a dangerous secret from Max's past emerges-and threatens to end their love for good.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Him’ by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Him’ by Sarina Bowen & Elle Kennedy #romanceopoly

Him

by Sarina Bowen, Elle Kennedy
Series: Him #1
Published by Rennie Road Books on July 28, 2015
Pages: 360
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

They don’t play for the same team. Or do they?
Jamie Canning has never been able to figure out how he lost his closest friend. Four years ago, his tattooed, wise-cracking, rule-breaking roommate cut him off without an explanation. So what if things got a little weird on the last night of hockey camp the summer they were eighteen? It was just a little drunken foolishness. Nobody died.
Ryan Wesley’s biggest regret is coaxing his very straight friend into a bet that pushed the boundaries of their relationship. Now, with their college teams set to face off at the national championship, he’ll finally get a chance to apologize. But all it takes is one look at his longtime crush, and the ache is stronger than ever.
Jamie has waited a long time for answers, but walks away with only more questions—can one night of sex ruin a friendship? If not, how about six more weeks of it? When Wesley turns up to coach alongside Jamie for one more hot summer at camp, Jamie has a few things to discover about his old friend... and a big one to learn about himself.
Warning: contains sexual situations, skinnydipping, shenanigans in an SUV and proof that coming out to your family on social media is a dicey proposition.

My Review
Continue reading

Review: ‘Going Down Easy’ by Carly Phillips

Review: ‘Going Down Easy’ by Carly Phillips

Going Down Easy

by Carly Phillips
Series: Billionaire Bad Boys #1
Published by CP Publishing on July 19, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 156
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Billionaire Bad Boys: Rich, Powerful and sexy as hell.
Billionaire Kaden Barnes has a reputation for being difficult and always gets his way. With his alpha male tendencies he's unable to keep a secretary for long. Enter his newest hire, Lexie Parker. She's no-nonsense, efficient and all business … she’s also hot as sin and soon starring in Kaden's dirtiest fantasies … he may think he’s calling the shots, but for this bad boy, going down easy has never felt so good.

Continue reading

1 2 3 18