Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Narcissus in Chains’ by Laurell K. HamiltonARC: ‘In the Penalty Box’ by Lynn Rush and Kelly Anne BlountReview: ‘Betrayed’ by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Books Reviewed in 2021

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 2 books this year.

2%
January Reviews
Marked by P.C. Cast, Kristin CastCrown of Bones by A.K. Wilder
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 22

Review: ‘Leo’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Leo’ by Gemma James

Leo

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #5
Published by Self-Published on August 29, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Pages: 82
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Sebastian Stone is a collision of passion and thorns. He shares a side of himself that few people witness. Hot-headed one minute, and sweet and tender the next—we mix like fire and air, igniting a chemical explosion that consumes us both.
But our foundation shakes under distrust and insecurities, because tragedies have visited us in the past, making for wary hearts. Yet the lion holds mine in his possessive grasp, refusing to give an inch. Sebastian demands all of me, even though Liam Castle says he doesn’t deserve it.
As the consequences of past mistakes intrude into the House of Leo, part of me fears the chancellor is right.

Part 5 of The Zodiac Queen.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Conclave’ by Penelope Douglas

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Conclave’ by Penelope Douglas

Conclave

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #3.5
Published by Self-Published on November 23, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Dark Romance
Pages: 96
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

DAMON
Will is gone. He hasn’t been seen in months, and the texts coming from his phone are almost certainly forged. Something’s wrong. We need to act now.
Michael is ready to tear down The Cove, Rika’s hiding something, Evans Crist is a threat, and Winter’s father is still out there.
Everyone is off in a million directions, and we’re vulnerable.It’s time to do this.
It’s time to claim our place.
RIKA
A few years ago, I never thought I’d be here. On board Pithom. Miles out at sea. At a table with Michael Crist, Kai Mori, and Damon Torrance—men I now consider family.
We’ve locked ourselves on this yacht for however long it takes to address our agenda, and we won’t leave until everything is on the table.
Even things I don’t want to talk about. Things Michael doesn’t know.
We will find Will. We will solidify our plans, and we will remove any threats.
If we survive Conclave.
*Conclave is a 27,000 word novella that is available for FREE on the author's website and on her Wattpad. You do not have to pay for it. But for those of you who would love this as part of your ebook and/or paperback libraries, it has been made available in both formats. Please be aware it takes place between Kill Switch (Devil’s Night #3) and Nightfall (Devil’s Night #4) and is only suitable for readers 18+. Please read Corrupt, Hideaway, and Kill Switch prior to reading this novella.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Kill Switch’ by Penelope Douglas

Review: ‘Kill Switch’ by Penelope Douglas

Kill Switch

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #3
Published by Self-Published on February 9, 2019
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Dark Romance
Pages: 522
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

"I've done far worse than what I went to prison for.She has no idea how bad this can get."
WINTER

Sending him to prison was the worst thing I could’ve done. It didn’t matter that he did the crime or that I wished he was dead. Perhaps I thought I’d have time to disappear before he got out or he’d cool off in jail and be anything but the horror he was.
But I was wrong. Three years came and went too fast, and now he’s anything but calm. Prison only gave him time to plan.
And while I anticipated his vengeance, I didn’t expect this.
He doesn’t want to make me hurt. He wants to make everything hurt.
DAMON
First thing’s first. Get rid of her daddy. He told them I forced her. He told them his little girl was a victim, but I was a kid, too, and she wanted it just as much as I did.
Step two… Give her, her sister, and her mother nowhere to run and no fuel to escape. The Ashby women are alone now and desperate for a knight in shining armor.
But that’s not what’s coming.
No, it’s time I listened to my father and took control of my future. It’s time I showed them all—my family, her family, my friends—that I will never change and that I have no other ambition than to be the nightmare of their lives.
Starting with her.
She’ll be so scared, she won’t even be safe in her own head by the time I’m done with her. And the best part is I won’t have to break into her home to do it.
As the new man of the house I have all the keys.
Kill Switch is a romantic suspense suitable for readers 18+. It is advised to read Corrupt (Devil's Night #1) and Hideaway (Devil's Night #2) prior to reading this book.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Hideaway’ by Penelope Douglas

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: ‘Hideaway’ by Penelope Douglas

Hideaway

by Penelope Douglas
Series: Devil's Night #2
Published by Self-Published on October 1, 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Dark Romance
Pages: 437
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

The second installment in the Devil's Night Series...
Cover and Synopsis Coming May 26!
*Hideaway is a romantic suspense suitable for ages 18+. While the romance in this story is a stand-alone, the plot is a continuation of events that began in CORRUPT. It is strongly recommended that you have read Corrupt (Devil’s Night #1) prior to reading this book. Corrupt is currently on sale for only $0.99.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Cancer’ by Gemma James

Review: ‘Cancer’ by Gemma James

Cancer

by Gemma James
Series: The Zodiac Queen #4
Published by Self-Published on June 23, 2020
Genres: Dark Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-stars

Twelve men. A virgin queen. One arranged marriage.
Three teaspoons.Two men.One choice.
That’s what awaits me in the House of Cancer. Vance Morgan’s gift is unexpected—an evening spent with any member of the Brotherhood I choose.
My heart gives me two options.My body wants the lion.But my mind wants the truth.
And those three teaspoons I mentioned? They contain an elixir that lowers inhibitions. With my judgement compromised, mistakes are bound to be made.
I hope one of them isn’t trusting the wrong man.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Veiled’ by Kendra Elliot

Review: ‘Veiled’ by Kendra Elliot

Veiled

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Bone Secrets #3.5
Published by StoryFront on December 4, 2013
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 67
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Audible
Goodreads
four-stars

Forensic investigator Lacey Campbell is trying to relax. She and her fiancé have escaped to a high-end resort on the Oregon Coast that they’re scoping out for their wedding venue. But when a murdered woman turns up in the hot tub, there’s no more relaxing for the couple. Neither can resist getting pulled into the case.
Tragically, the dead woman is dressed in a wedding gown, even more disturbing for Lacey given she’s about to be a bride. When the victim turns out to be a beloved bartender with a bad-news ex-husband, it looks like a domestic quarrel turned deadly. But could there be something more sinister going on in this tight-knit community?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Laid Bare’ by Lauren Dane #Romanceopoly2020

Review: ‘Laid Bare’ by Lauren Dane #Romanceopoly2020

Laid Bare

by Lauren Dane
Series: Brown Family #1
Published by Berkley on August 4, 2009
Genres: Erotic Romance
Pages: 336
Format: eBook, AudioBook
Source: Purchased, Scribd
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Unexpected Desire...
It's been ten years since clean-cut, sexy-as-hell police officer Todd Keenan had a white-hot fling with Erin Brown, the provocative, wild rocker chick next door. Their power exchange in the bedroom got under his skin. But love wasn't in the cards just yet...
Now, life has thrown the pair back together. But picking up where they left off is tough, in light of a painful event from Erin's past. As Todd struggles to earn her trust, their relationship takes an unexpected and exciting turn when Todd's best friend, Ben, ends up in their bed--and all three are quite satisfied in this relationship without a name. As the passion they share transforms Erin, will it be enough to help her face the evil she thought she had left behind?


Continue reading

Review: ‘Midnight in Death’ by J.D. Robb

Review: ‘Midnight in Death’ by J.D. Robb

Midnight in Death

by J.D. Robb
Series: In Death #7.5
Published by Berkley on September 27, 2005
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 90
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Note: Originally released in the anthology "Silent Night".
The number-one New York Times bestselling In Death series explodes with intrigue, passion, and suspense. Now, Nora Roberts, writing as J.D. Robb, propels you into the darkest night of Lieutenant Eve Dallas's life—when a killer comes to call...
Eve's name has made a Christmas list, but it's not for being naughty or nice. It's for putting a serial killer behind bars. Now the escaped madman has her in his sights. With her husband, Roarke, at her side, Eve must stop the man from exacting his bloody vengeance—or die trying...


Continue reading

Review: ‘A Merciful Secret’ by Kendra Elliot #Romanceopoly2020

Review: ‘A Merciful Secret’ by Kendra Elliot #Romanceopoly2020

A Merciful Secret

by Kendra Elliot
Series: Mercy Kilpatrick #3
Published by Montlake Romance on January 16, 2018
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 325
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In this Wall Street Journal bestseller, a pair of ritual murders could expose Mercy Kilpatrick to something terrifying: her own past…
Raised off the grid by survivalists, Mercy Kilpatrick believed in no greater safeguard than the backwoods of Oregon. Unforgiven by her father for abandoning the fold for the FBI, Mercy still holds to her past convictions. They’re in her blood. They’re her secrets—as guarded as her private survival retreat hidden away in the foothills.
In a cabin near her hideaway, Mercy encounters a young girl whose grandmother is dying from multiple knife wounds. Hundreds of miles away, a body is discovered slashed to death in a similar way. The victims—a city judge and an old woman living in the woods—couldn’t be more different. With the help of police chief Truman Daly, Mercy must find the killer before the body count rises. Mercy knows that the past has an edge on her. So does her family. How can she keep her secrets now…when they’re the only things that can save her?


Continue reading

Review: ‘The Right Swipe’ by Alisha Rai #Romanceopoly2020

Review: ‘The Right Swipe’ by Alisha Rai #Romanceopoly2020

The Right Swipe

by Alisha Rai
Series: Modern Love #1
Published by Avon on August 6, 2019
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 387
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Alisha Rai returns with the first book in her sizzling new Modern Love series, in which two rival dating app creators find themselves at odds in the boardroom but in sync in the bedroom.
Rhiannon Hunter may have revolutionized romance in the digital world, but in real life she only swipes right on her career—and the occasional hookup. The cynical dating app creator controls her love life with a few key rules:
- Nude pics are by invitation only
- If someone stands you up, block them with extreme prejudice
- Protect your heart
Only there aren't any rules to govern her attraction to her newest match, former pro-football player Samson Lima. The sexy and seemingly sweet hunk woos her one magical night... and disappears.
Rhi thought she'd buried her hurt over Samson ghosting her, until he suddenly surfaces months later, still big, still beautiful—and in league with a business rival. He says he won't fumble their second chance, but she's wary. A temporary physical partnership is one thing, but a merger of hearts? Surely that’s too high a risk…


Continue reading

1 2 3 22