Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Angel’s Flight’ by Nalini Singh

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 123 books this year.

98%
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Calico Descending’ by Keri Lake

Calico Descending

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #2
Published by Self-Published on October 29, 2019
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Apple iBooks | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In a world of suffering and brutality, she's the key to his humanity ...
I was fourteen when I was sold to the men in black uniforms. Too young to understand I served a purpose beyond that of the other girls they’d taken.
For the greater good.
Now, after four years in Calico, I’ve seen more death and suffering than during my days of surviving out in the Deadlands against the threat of Ragers and famine. I didn’t think this world could get any bleaker. Didn’t think it could take any more from me than it already had.
Not until I finally learned my purpose.
That same day, I walked the dark halls in the bowels of this hell, where the suffering is in silence, and ghosts of the dead whisper through the walls. A place where nightmares are real.
A place where I met my Champion—the most revered Alpha in S-Block—locked away in his dark cell.
For the greater good.
He’s their weapon, their only line of defense against the mistakes of the past: the mutations that could wipe out all of what’s left of us.
Me, I’m his whipping girl. His reward for good behavior. And his punishment for acts of defiance.
Calico Descending is the follow up book to Juniper Unraveling, a full-length dystopian post apocalyptic romance.
SERIES READING ORDER: Juniper Unraveling (Book 1) Calico Descending (Book 2) Kings of Carrion (Book 3)

Continue reading

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Review: 'Juniper Unraveling' by Keri Lake

Review: ‘Juniper Unraveling’ by Keri Lake

Juniper Unraveling

by Keri Lake, Julie Belfield
Series: Juniper Unraveling #1
Published by Self-Published on October 31, 2017
Genres: Dark Romance, Dystopian
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Papa says everyone has a story that deserves to be told.
Most begin years ago, after the second bomb hit, unearthing a deadly contagion that divided the population into the pure, the infected, and the Ragers.
Many recount the moment we rose up from the ashes and started anew.
Others tell of the day we built a wall to keep them out.
For some, they’re nothing more than the vestiges left behind—a simple name carved into the knotty bark of a Juniper tree.
My story begins with a boy. A mute, from the other side of the wall, known only as Six, who touched my heart in ways that words never could, and gave me the courage to face my darkest truth.
Warning: This book contains explicit sexual content, and violent scenes that some readers may find disturbing.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Firstlife’ by Gena Showalter #romanceopoly

Firstlife

by Gena Showalter
Series: Everlife #1
Published by Harlequin Teen on February 23, 2016
Pages: 467
Format: Hardcover, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Step one...you die.
ONE CHOICE. TWO REALMS. NO SECOND CHANCE.
Tenley "Ten" Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live — after she dies. There is an eternal truth most of the world has come to accept: Firstlife is merely a dress rehearsal, and real life begins after death.
In the Everlife, two realms are in power: Troika and Myriad, long-time enemies and deadly rivals. Both will do anything to recruit Ten, including sending their top Laborers to lure her to their side. Soon, Ten finds herself on the run, caught in a wild tug-of-war between the two realms that will do anything to win the right to her soul. Who can she trust? And what if the realm she's drawn to isn't where the boy she's falling for lives? She just has to stay alive long enough to make a decision…

Continue reading

Review: ‘Arcana Rising’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Arcana Rising’ by Kresley Cole

Arcana Rising

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #4
Published by Valkyrie Press on August 15th 2016
Pages: 280
Format: AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Losses mount and deadly new threats converge in this next action-packed tale of the Arcana Chronicles by #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole.
When the battle is done . . . The Emperor unleashes hell and annihilates an army, jeopardizing the future of mankind--but Circe strikes back. The epic clash between them devastates the Arcana world and nearly kills Evie, separating her from her allies.
And all hope is lost . . . With Aric missing and no sign that Jack and Selena escaped Richter's reach, Evie turns more and more to the darkness lurking inside her. Two Arcana emerge as game changers: one who could be her salvation, the other her worst nightmare.
Vengeance becomes everything.To take on Richter, Evie must reunite with Death and mend their broken bond. But as she learns more about her role in the future--and her chilling past--will she become a monster like the Emperor? Or can Evie and her allies rise up from Richter's ashes, stronger than ever before?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Day Zero’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Day Zero’ by Kresley Cole

Day Zero

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #3.5
Published by Valkyrie Press on August 1st 2016
Pages: 180
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

Arcana means secrets, and these Arcana Chronicles short stories from #1 New York Times bestseller Kresley Cole are filled with them. Experience firsthand the beginning of the end and behold the apocalypse through the eyes of characters you only thought you knew.
Ashes to ashes . . .Evie Greene's story of the Flash is just one of many. All over the world, those connected in some way to the lethal Arcana game--like Death, Jack, and Fortune--must first survive a horrifying night of blood and screams.
We all fall down.Some will have to grapple with new powers; all will be damned to a hellish new existence of plague, brutality, desolation, and cannibalism. Find out who they lost, why they endure, and what they sacrificed in order to live past Day Zero. . . .

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Dead of Winter’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Dead of Winter’ by Kresley Cole

Dead of Winter

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #3
Published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers on January 6th 2015
Pages: 303
Format: AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars


Heartbreaking decisions
Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her—until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, The Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death’s uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts…and stolen glances from a former love.

Uncertain victory
Despite leaving a part of her heart behind with Death, Evie sets out into a perilous post-apocalyptic wasteland to meet up with her allies and launch an attack on the Lovers. Such formidable enemies require a battle plan, and the only way to kill them may mean Evie, Jack, and Death allying. Evie doesn’t know what will prove more impossible: surviving slavers, plague, Bagmen and other Arcana—or convincing Jack and Death to work together.

Two heroes returned
There’s a thin line between love and hate, and Evie just doesn’t know where she stands with either Jack or Death. Will this unlikely trio be able to defeat The Lovers without killing one another first...?

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Endless Knight’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Endless Knight’ by Kresley Cole

Endless Knight

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #2
on September 2nd 2014
Pages: 320
Format: AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In this seductive follow-up to Poison Princess, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole takes us deeper into the dark world of the Arcana Chronicles.
Evie has fully come into her powers as the tarot Empress. And Jack was there to see it all. In the aftermath of killing Arthur, Evie realizes that there is a war brewing between the teens who’ve been given powers following the apocalypse, and it’s kill or be killed. When Evie meets Death, the gorgeous and dangerous Endless Knight, things get even more complicated. Somehow the Empress and Death share a romantic history. One that Evie can’t remember, but Death can’t forget. Evie is drawn to Death, but in love with Jack. She is determined to discover why she’s been granted these powers, and in the process, struggles to accept her place in the prophecy that will either save the world, or destroy it.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Poison Princess’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Poison Princess’ by Kresley Cole

Poison Princess

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #1
Published by Simon & Schuster on October 2nd 2012
Pages: 369
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

An alternate cover edition for this ISBN13 can be found here.
She could save the world—or destroy it.
Sixteen-year-old Evangeline "Evie" Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they're still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.
But she can't do either alone.
With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can't totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?
Who can Evie trust?
As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it's not always clear who is on which side.

My Review Continue reading

Library Book Review: ‘The Selection’ by Keira Cass

Library Book Review: ‘The Selection’ by Keira Cass

The Selection

by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #1
Published by HarperTeen on April 24th 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Library
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Review Continue reading

Library Book Review: ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer

Library Book Review: ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet

by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2
Published by Feiwel and Friends on February 5th 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 452
Source: Library
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.
Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review Continue reading