Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Archangel’s Legion’ by Nalini SinghReview: ‘The Wedding Party’ by Jasmine Guillory

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 18 books this year.

14%
February Reviews
Fix Her Up by Tessa BaileyA Madness of Sunshine by Nalini SinghMalice by Pintip DunnHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling, Olly MossGlory in Death by J.D. RobbIgnite on Contact by Jaci BurtonArchangel's Storm by Nalini Singh
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 7

Review: ‘The Queen of Zombie Hearts’ by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘The Queen of Zombie Hearts’ by Gena Showalter

The Queen of Zombie Hearts

by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #3
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 30th 2014
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover, AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

I thought I had nothing left to give.
I thought wrong.
They started the war.
Now I will end it.
Alice "Ali" Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She's ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It's then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun.
As secrets that may tear Ali and Cole apart come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.


My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Through the Zombie Glass’ by Gena Showalter

Review: ‘Through the Zombie Glass’ by Gena Showalter

Through the Zombie Glass

by Gena Showalter
Series: White Rabbit Chronicles #2
Published by Harlequin Teen on September 24th 2013
Pages: 480
Format: AudioBook, Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Zombies stalk the night.
Forget blood and brains. These monsters hunger for human souls.
Sadly, they've got mine...
Alice Bell has lost so much. Family. Friends. A home. She thought she had nothing else to give. She was wrong.
After a new zombie attack, strange things begin to happen to her. Mirrors come to life, and the whispers of the dead assault her ears. But the worst? A terrible darkness blooms inside her, urging her to do very wicked things.
She's never needed her team of zombie slayers more, but ultra bad-boy Cole Holland, the leader and her boyfriend, suddenly withdraws from her...from everyone. Now, with her best friend, Kat, at her side, Ali must kill the zombies, uncover Cole's secret and learn to fight the darkness.
But the clock is ticking...and if she fails at a single task, they're all doomed.


My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Glass Houses’ by Rachel Caine

Review: ‘Glass Houses’ by Rachel Caine

Glass Houses

by Rachel Caine
Series: The Morganville Vampires #1
Published by NAL Jam on October 3rd 2006
Pages: 239
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

From the author of the popular Weather Warden series comes the debut of an exciting new series set in Morganville, Texas, where you would be well advised to avoid being out after dark.
College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don't show many signs of life, but they'll have Claire's back when the town's deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood. Will she be able to face the town's terror or will she drown like everyone else?


My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Miss Frost Cracks a Caper’ by Kristen Painter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Miss Frost Cracks a Caper’ by Kristen Painter

Miss Frost Cracks A Caper

by Kristen Painter
Series: Jayne Frost #4
Published by Sugar Skull Books on October 1st 2017
Format: eArc
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
five-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. Jayne Frost is a lot of things. Winter elf, Jack Frost's daughter, Santa Claus's niece, heir to the Winter Throne and now...private investigator. Sort of. When Lark Bramble, an old frenemy, shows up in Nocturne Falls, Jayne finds herself reliving the painful past and trying to make responsible decisions that won’t mess up her future. But being an adult proves harder than she thought. Finally at peace with where things stand between her and Lark, Jayne thinks everything’s cool until a chilling event at the Black and Orange Ball shatters that peace and puts Jayne at odds with the powers that be. She knows she’s on thin ice, but she’s determined to crack the caper. Can Jayne find a way to right the wrongs she might have caused or will she forever bear the guilt of allowing herself to be snowed again?


My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Miss Frost Ices the Imp’ by Kristen Painter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Miss Frost Ices the Imp’ by Kristen Painter

Miss Frost Ices The Imp: A Nocturne Falls Mystery

by Kristen Painter
Published by Sugar Skull Books on September 6, 2016
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls – the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year. Jayne Frost is a lot of things. Winter elf, Jack Frost’s daughter, Santa Claus’s niece, heir to the Winter Throne and now…private investigator. Sort of. When she buys a sealed box at an estate sale and cat-related circumstances cause that box to be opened, life in Nocturne Falls starts to go haywire. Jayne has no choice but to figure out what she unleashed and how to recapture it. But Jayne suspects the woman behind the box is hiding something. Something that could cause a town resident serious trouble. Or worse, to lose their life. With the help of her two favorite guys, a sexy vampire and a hot summer elf, and a few new friends, Jayne tackles what feels like an impossible mission. And winds up almost iced herself.


My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Miss Frost Solves a Cold Case’ by Kristen Painter

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Miss Frost Solves a Cold Case’ by Kristen Painter

Miss Frost Solves A Cold Case : A Nocturne Falls Mystery

by Kristen Painter
Series: Jayne Frost,
on January 1st 1970
Genres: Mystery, Paranormal
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-stars

Welcome to Nocturne Falls, the town that celebrates Halloween 365 days a year.
Jayne Frost is a lot of things. Winter elf, Jack Frost’s daughter, Santa Claus’s niece, heir to the Winter Throne and now…private investigator. Sort of.
Needing someone he can trust, her father sends her undercover to Nocturne Falls to find out why employees at the Santa’s Workshop toy store are going missing.
Doing that requires getting to know the town, which leads to interesting encounters with a sexy vampire, an old flame, and an elevator that’s strictly off-limits. The more Jayne finds out, the more questions she has, but the answers lead her deeper into danger.
Will her magic save her? Or will she come up cold?


My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Lure’ by Alyssa Rose Ivy

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Lure’ by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Lure

by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Series: The Allure Chronicles #1
Published by Self-Published on February 16, 2015
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars

There's danger in the beauty...
Two years, six months, and twenty-five days. That's how long it had been since I'd seen my winged hero— not that I'd been counting. I'd suffered through years of counseling just to convince my friends and family that I wasn't crazy and knew he didn't exist.
But he did. And I was done waiting.
Days after college graduation I headed back down to New Orleans to retrace my steps and find Owen again only to find my life was about to get even crazier... thanks to the most beautiful and dangerous of all paranormal creatures, the Allures.


My Review: Continue reading

Review: Seduction’s Kiss by Alyssa Rose Ivy

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Seduction’s Kiss by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Seduction's Kiss

by Alyssa Rose Ivy
Series: The Allure Chronicles #0.5
Published by Self-Published on January 29th 2015
Pages: 121
Format: eArc
Source: Author
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

*Prequel novella to Lure (The Allure Chronicles #1)*
Never agree to a road trip to New Orleans with your roommate. At least not when your roommate is dragging you along while she reconnects with an ex-boyfriend. Possible consequences of failing to take my advice:
1) Unknowingly going out with a vampire stripper2) Getting kidnapped by said vampire's nest mates3) Falling head over heels for your winged hero
Believe it or not number 3 is the worst one, especially when no one believes you that he exists.


My Review: Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘A Darker Past’ by Jus Accardo

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘A Darker Past’ by Jus Accardo

A Darker Past

by Jus Accardo
Series: The Darker Agency #2
on November 6, 2014
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The past is Darker than they thought...
Between helping her mother with the Darker Agency and laying the smack down on monster baddies, Jessie Darker puts the “normal” in paranormal. But lately, things have gotten a little crazy...even for a smart-assed half-demon teenage girl.
For starters, Jessie’s been contracted into fifty-five years of annoying servitude. To a demon. Then there’s Lukas Scott, her sexy new boyfriend. Once the former incarnation of Wrath, he’s been going through some...uh, changes. Like residual anger. And trading chaste hangouts for lusty make-out sessions.
But it’s when Lukas and Jessie accidentally release a Very Nasty Demon that things get really bad, setting into motion a chain of death and mayhem that threatens both Earth and the Shadow Realm. Jessie has exactly four days to fix it...before all of Hell breaks loose.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Witch Hunter Olivia’ by T.A. Kunz

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Witch Hunter Olivia’ by T.A. Kunz

Witch Hunter Olivia

by T.A. Kunz
Series: Witch Hunter #1
Published by Self-Published on July 18, 2014
Genres: New Adult, Paranormal
Pages: 350
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In the town of Piedmont Pointe, where paranormal is the norm, a girl can easily get herself in over her head with a single wrong move. Unfortunately for Olivia Adams, she's about to make several. Starting over is never easy, but it seemed like the only option to Olivia. The decision to turn her back on the Guild of Witch Hunters, the very group she devoted her entire life to, was one of the hardest things she ever did. It meant leaving her family, her friends, and her old identity behind forever. Coming to terms with what caused her to abandon her duties in the first place was even harder. While trying to lay low and stay off the Guild's radar, Olivia finds herself thrust back into her old ways after unknowingly interrupting an assassination hit on a powerful witch. What follows is the last thing she ever thought she'd agree to do-protect the very thing she was groomed to hunt. To complicate things even further, Olivia begins to develop feelings for a tattoo artist who also happens to be half warlock, and no matter how hard she tries to fight it, she can't resist her inescapable draw to him. Olivia's forbidden relationship isn't her only issue though, because once the mystery behind the assassination attempt starts to unravel, she's forced to choose sides when the loyalties still tied to her past life are tested again. So much for the idea of a fresh start.


My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 7