Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

ARC Review: ‘The Widow of Rose House’ by Diana Biller

Books Reviewed in 2019

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 114 books this year.

91%
October Reviews
Michigan vs. the Boys by Carrie S. AllenMarked by an Assassin by Felicity HeatonAries by Gemma James
Romanceopoly Participant 2019
Romanceopoly 2019 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 12

ARC Review: ‘Michigan Vs. the Boys’ by Carrie S. Allen

ARC Review: 'Michigan Vs. the Boys' by Carrie S. Allen

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Michigan Vs. the Boys’ by Carrie S. Allen

Michigan vs. the Boys

by Carrie S. Allen
Published by Kids Can Press on October 1, 2019
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Amazon Vine
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

When a determined girl is confronted with the culture of toxic masculinity, it's time to even the score.
Michigan Manning lives for hockey, and this is her year to shine. That is, until she gets some crushing news: budget cuts will keep the girls' hockey team off the ice this year.
If she wants colleges to notice her, Michigan has to find a way to play. Luckily, there's still one team left in town ...
The boys' team isn't exactly welcoming, but Michigan's prepared to prove herself. She plays some of the best hockey of her life, in fact, all while putting up with changing in the broom closet, constant trash talk and "harmless" pranks that always seem to target her.
But once hazing crosses the line into assault, Michigan must weigh the consequences of speaking up - even if it means putting her future on the line.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Amber & Dusk’ by Lyra Selene

Review: 'Amber & Dusk' by Lyra Selene

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Amber & Dusk’ by Lyra Selene

Amber & Dusk

by Lyra Selene
Series: Amber & Dusk #1
Published by Scholastic Press on November 27, 2018
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: Amazon Vine
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Sylvie has always known she deserves more. Out in the permanent twilight of the Dusklands, her guardians called her power to create illusions a curse. But Sylvie knows it gives her a place in Coeur d'Or, the palais of the Amber Empress and her highborn legacies.
So Sylvie sets off toward the Amber City, a glittering jewel under a sun that never sets, to take what is hers.
But her hope for a better life is quickly dimmed. The empress invites her in only as part of a wicked wager among her powerful courtiers. Sylvie must assume a new name, Mirage, and begin to navigate secretive social circles and deadly games of intrigue in order to claim her spot. Soon it becomes apparent that nothing is as it appears and no one, including her cruel yet captivating sponsor, Sunder, will answer her questions. As Mirage strives to assume what should be her rightful place, she'll have to consider whether it is worth the price she must pay.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Kill the Queen’ by Jennifer Estep #romanceopoly

Review: 'Kill the Queen' by Jennifer Estep #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Kill the Queen’ by Jennifer Estep #romanceopoly

Kill the Queen

by Jennifer Estep
Series: Crown of Shards #1
Published by Harper Voyager on October 2, 2018
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Gladiator meets Game of Thrones: a royal woman becomes a skilled warrior to destroy her murderous cousin, avenge her family, and save her kingdom in this first entry in a dazzling fantasy epic from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Elemental Assassin series—an enthralling tale that combines magic, murder, intrigue, adventure, and a hint of romance.
In a realm where one’s magical power determines one’s worth, Lady Everleigh’s lack of obvious ability relegates her to the shadows of the royal court of Bellona, a kingdom steeped in gladiator tradition. Seventeenth in line for the throne, Evie is nothing more than a ceremonial fixture, overlooked and mostly forgotten.
But dark forces are at work inside the palace. When her cousin Vasilia, the crown princess, assassinates her mother the queen and takes the throne by force, Evie is also attacked, along with the rest of the royal family. Luckily for Evie, her secret immunity to magic helps her escape the massacre.
Forced into hiding to survive, she falls in with a gladiator troupe. Though they use their talents to entertain and amuse the masses, the gladiators are actually highly trained warriors skilled in the art of war, especially Lucas Sullivan, a powerful magier with secrets of his own. Uncertain of her future—or if she even has one—Evie begins training with the troupe until she can decide her next move.
But as the bloodthirsty Vasilia exerts her power, pushing Bellona to the brink of war, Evie’s fate becomes clear: she must become a fearsome gladiator herself . . . and kill the queen.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Fall’ by McKayla Box

Review: 'Fall' by McKayla Box

Review: ‘Fall’ by McKayla Box

Fall

by McKayla Box
Series: Sunset Beach High #1
Published by Self-Published on July 30, 2019
Pages: 214
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

It's not happening again.
It's the first day of my senior year.
Which should be awesome.
Except I'm in a new town.
At a new school.
And that makes me the new girl.
Which is not awesome at all.
And the guy everyone is telling me to stay away from? The one who rules the school, the one who has mountains of money, the one who is drop dead gorgeous, and the one who does whatever he wants?
He's already made me a target, thinking he can pull the new girl into his world by sheer force.
And that's going to be a problem for him.
Because I've been a target before.
And it's not happening again.
WARNING: Fall is the first book in the Sunset Beach High series. It contains mature themes, sexual content, and profanity. If you're not a fan of those things, this isn't the book for you. But if you like serious stuff mixed with lots of bad words and some sweaty sex, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. It is the first in a four book series.

Continue reading

Review: ‘Tithe’ by Holly Black

Review: 'Tithe' by Holly Black

Review: ‘Tithe’ by Holly Black

Tithe

by Holly Black
Series: Modern Faerie Tales #1
Published by Simon Pulse on October 1, 2002
Pages: 332
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Welcome to the realm of very scary faeries!
Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother's rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms - a struggle that could very well mean her death.

Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘8 Souls’ by Rachel Rust

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘8 Souls’ by Rachel Rust

8 Souls

by Rachel Rust
Published by Entangled Publishing LLC (Teen) on May 6, 2019
Pages: 253
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

All her life, seventeen-year-old Chessie has had recurring dreams about a little white farmhouse. Quaint? Not quite. The house is the site of the unsolved murders of Villisca, Iowa, where eight people were slaughtered in 1912. With her parents on the verge of divorce, Chessie is stuck spending the summer with her grandparents in Villisca—right across the street from the axe murder house.
She’s soon hearing voices calling out for help and begins unraveling a link between herself and the town’s bloody history. And when she falls for a cute boy harboring a big secret, the pieces fall into place as she at last discovers the truth of Villisca's gruesome past…

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘From Breath and Ruin’ by Carrie Ann Ryan (Blog Tour)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘From Breath and Ruin’ by Carrie Ann Ryan (Blog Tour)

From Breath and Ruin

by Carrie Ann Ryan
Series: Elements of Five #1
Published by Self-Published on March 19, 2019
Pages: 351
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Apple iBooks | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Google Play | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In her YA debut, New York Times bestselling author Carrie Ann Ryan dives into a world with magic and sacrifice with the Elements of Five.
Five hundred years ago, the Maison Realm was shattered, divided into warring kingdoms of elemental Wielders with fate and truth shadowed and uncertain. Now, factions of both the light and dark venture into the human realm in search of the prophesied Spirit Priestess who is said to Wield the Elements of Five and bring the two fractured kingdoms together.
Lyric has no idea that there's a realm outside the human one she lives in. When fate and circumstances are pulled from her hands after an accident, and she finds out that nothing is as it seems.
There is a war surrounding her and when Lyric realizes that they are searching for her, she must rely on those she once trusted: a boy who isn't who she thought, and a new realm of warriors who have come to protect her as she trains.
For the darkness is coming, and the Queen of Obscurite wants to ensure that the King of Lumiere can't get his hands on Lyric. And the only way to ensure that is if Lyric herself is no more ... no matter the cost to prophecy.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘The Stand-In Boyfriend’ by Emma Doherty (Blog Tour+ #Giveaway)

Review: 'The Stand-In Boyfriend' by Emma Doherty (Blog Tour+ #Giveaway)

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘The Stand-In Boyfriend’ by Emma Doherty (Blog Tour+ #Giveaway)

The Stand-In Boyfriend

by Emma Doherty
Published by Self-Published on March 12, 2019
Pages: 260
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-stars

Livy Chapman is in love with Jessie Stephenson. It’s that simple. She has been for years but he only see’s her as his best friend. His best friend who copies her homework, relies on her to bail him out of trouble and who he hooks up with other girls in front of.

Enough is enough and when Chase Mitchell, star of the soccer team, and all round Mr. Popular steps in and convinces her that they can do each other a favour by pretending to date, Livy is just crazy enough over Jessie to agree to it.

I mean, Chase is just her stand-in boyfriend. Nothing could go wrong. Right?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘The Crush Collision’ by Danielle Ellison

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘The Crush Collision’ by Danielle Ellison

The Crush Collision

by Danielle Ellison
Series: Southern Charmed #2
Published by Entangled Publishing on February 18, 2019
Pages: 278
Format: eArc
Source: publisher, Netgalley
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Haley Howell has had a hopeless crush on her brother’s best friend, Jake Lexington, for as long as she can remember. Too bad to him, she’ll forever be off-limits. But with senior year and acceptance to a college outside their tiny southern town of Culler, South Carolina, comes new confidence. Haley’s ready to get Jake to notice her—whatever it takes.
No one in Culler notices the real Jake anymore—to them, he’s nothing more than the star football player or the kid with the family tragedy. When one mistake lands him in community service, he’s shocked to find his best friend’s little sister there, too, looking cute as hell and threatening all his no-friends-with-benefits rules. But Jake isn’t ready to take a chance, no matter how crafty Haley’s willing to get to prove him otherwise…

My Review
Continue reading

Review: ‘Analiese Rising’ by Brenda Drake

Review: ‘Analiese Rising’ by Brenda Drake

Analiese Rising

by Brenda Drake
Published by Entangled: Teen on January 8, 2019
Pages: 350
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Half-Blood meets Antigoddess in a thrilling, romantic new series from New York Times bestselling author Brenda Drake.
When a stranger gives Analiese Jordan a list of names before he dies, the last thing she expects to see is her own on it. Not. Cool. Her search for answers leads to the man’s grandson, Marek, who has dangerous secrets of his own. Both are determined to unlock the mystery of the list.
But the truth is deadly. Analiese is a descendant of the God of Death, known as a Riser, with the power to raise the dead and control them. Finding out she has hidden powers? Cool. Finding out she turns corpses into killers? No, thank you.
Now the trail plants her and Marek in the middle of a war between gods who apparently want to raise an army of the Risen, and Analiese must figure out how to save the world—from herself.

Continue reading

1 2 3 12