Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

ARC Review: ‘Judgment Road’ by Christine Feehan

Books Reviewed in 2018

We have reviewed 8 books this year.

11%
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png
1 2 3 9

Review: ‘Endless Knight’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Endless Knight’ by Kresley Cole

Endless Knight

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #2
on September 2nd 2014
Pages: 320
Format: AudioBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

In this seductive follow-up to Poison Princess, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole takes us deeper into the dark world of the Arcana Chronicles.
Evie has fully come into her powers as the tarot Empress. And Jack was there to see it all. In the aftermath of killing Arthur, Evie realizes that there is a war brewing between the teens who’ve been given powers following the apocalypse, and it’s kill or be killed. When Evie meets Death, the gorgeous and dangerous Endless Knight, things get even more complicated. Somehow the Empress and Death share a romantic history. One that Evie can’t remember, but Death can’t forget. Evie is drawn to Death, but in love with Jack. She is determined to discover why she’s been granted these powers, and in the process, struggles to accept her place in the prophecy that will either save the world, or destroy it.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Poison Princess’ by Kresley Cole

Review: ‘Poison Princess’ by Kresley Cole

Poison Princess

by Kresley Cole
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #1
Published by Simon & Schuster on October 2nd 2012
Pages: 369
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

An alternate cover edition for this ISBN13 can be found here.
She could save the world—or destroy it.
Sixteen-year-old Evangeline "Evie" Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they're still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.
But she can't do either alone.
With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can't totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?
Who can Evie trust?
As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it's not always clear who is on which side.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Court of Wings and Ruin’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘A Court of Wings and Ruin’ by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Wings and Ruin

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Published by Bloomsbury Childrens Books on May 2nd 2017
Pages: 699
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.
Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.
As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Glass Houses’ by Rachel Caine

Review: ‘Glass Houses’ by Rachel Caine

Glass Houses

by Rachel Caine
Series: The Morganville Vampires #1
Published by NAL Jam on October 3rd 2006
Pages: 239
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

From the author of the popular Weather Warden series comes the debut of an exciting new series set in Morganville, Texas, where you would be well advised to avoid being out after dark.
College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don't show many signs of life, but they'll have Claire's back when the town's deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood. Will she be able to face the town's terror or will she drown like everyone else?

My Review Continue reading

Re-Post Review: ‘Fallen’ by Lauren Kate

Re-Post Review: ‘Fallen’ by Lauren Kate

Fallen

by Lauren Kate
Series: Fallen #1
Published by Delacorte Press on December 8th 2009
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 452
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?
17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.
Get ready to fall . . .

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Off the Ice’ by Julie Cross

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Off the Ice’ by Julie Cross

Off the Ice

by Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls #1
Published by Entangled: Teen on February 28th 2017
Pages: 320
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

All is fair in love and hockey…
Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.
Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.
It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.
For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 5th 2015
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on September 6th 2016
Pages: 693
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't.
As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.
Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Pieces of You and Me’ by Erin Fletcher

I received this book for free from Netgalley, the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Pieces of You and Me’ by Erin Fletcher

Pieces of You and Me

by Erin Fletcher
Published by Entangled: Crush on April 18th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Source: Netgalley, the publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Five years.
That’s how long I’ve been gone. Since I left my best friend—the girl I loved—behind.
Five seconds.
That's how long it takes to realize I am completely, utterly, screwed. Because now that I’m back, my childhood crush has turned into so much more.
Rylee has changed. We both have. And now I’m drawn to her in a completely different way. To her smile. Her touch. To reliving old memories and making new ones. To the happiness she’s always given me that I haven’t felt since I left.
But her friends are hell-bent on keeping us apart. My dad is one drink away from destroying both of our lives, and maybe I am, too. It’s only a matter of time before I have to leave again, and there’s nothing I can do to stop it. I never get a choice.
The one choice I can make? Stay away from Rylee. Because if I don’t, I’ll break her heart—and mine—all over again.
Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains references to drinking, addiction, and just the right amount of angst. You’ll want to save this tortured hero, while at the same time, not want to change a single thing about him!

My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 9