Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Undiscovered’ by @authorsaraARC Review: ‘Emergency Attraction’ by @SamantheBeck1

Books Reviewed This Year

I have reviewed 41 books so far this year.

68%
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
 photo c0264a16-ff01-481c-8d7b-86b10fa23a55.png
1 2 3 7

Re-Post Review: ‘Fallen’ by Lauren Kate

Re-Post Review: ‘Fallen’ by Lauren Kate

Fallen

by Lauren Kate
Series: Fallen #1
Published by Delacorte Press on December 8th 2009
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 452
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

What if the person you were meant to be with could never be yours?
17-year-old Lucinda falls in love with a gorgeous, intelligent boy, Daniel, at her new school, the grim, foreboding Sword & Cross . . . only to find out that Daniel is a fallen angel, and that they have spent lifetimes finding and losing one another as good & evil forces plot to keep them apart.
Get ready to fall . . .

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Off the Ice’ by Julie Cross

I received this book for free from Netgalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Off the Ice’ by Julie Cross

Off the Ice

by Julie Cross
Series: Juniper Falls #1
Published by Entangled: Teen on February 28th 2017
Pages: 320
Format: eArc
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

All is fair in love and hockey…
Claire O’Connor is back in Juniper Falls, but that doesn’t mean she wants to be. One semester off, that’s what she promised herself. Just long enough to take care of her father and keep the family business—a hockey bar beside the ice rink—afloat. After that, she’s getting the hell out. Again.
Enter Tate Tanley. What happened between them the night before she left town resurfaces the second they lay eyes on each other. But the guy she remembers has been replaced by a total hottie. When Tate is unexpectedly called in to take over for the hockey team’s star goalie, suddenly he’s in the spotlight and on his way to becoming just another egotistical varsity hockey player. And Claire’s sworn off Juniper Falls hockey players for good.
It’s the absolute worst time to fall in love.
For Tate and Claire, hockey isn’t just a game. And they both might not survive a body check to the heart.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 3rd 2016
Pages: 624
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.
Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘A Court of Thorns and Roses’ by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 5th 2015
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

My Review Continue reading

Review: ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J. Maas

Review: ‘Empire of Storms’ by Sarah J. Maas

Empire of Storms

by Sarah J. Maas
Series: Throne of Glass #5
Published by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on September 6th 2016
Pages: 693
Format: Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't.
As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.
Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Pieces of You and Me’ by Erin Fletcher

I received this book for free from Netgalley, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Pieces of You and Me’ by Erin Fletcher

Pieces of You and Me

by Erin Fletcher
Published by Entangled: Crush on April 18th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Young Adult
Source: Netgalley, Publisher
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Five years.
That’s how long I’ve been gone. Since I left my best friend—the girl I loved—behind.
Five seconds.
That's how long it takes to realize I am completely, utterly, screwed. Because now that I’m back, my childhood crush has turned into so much more.
Rylee has changed. We both have. And now I’m drawn to her in a completely different way. To her smile. Her touch. To reliving old memories and making new ones. To the happiness she’s always given me that I haven’t felt since I left.
But her friends are hell-bent on keeping us apart. My dad is one drink away from destroying both of our lives, and maybe I am, too. It’s only a matter of time before I have to leave again, and there’s nothing I can do to stop it. I never get a choice.
The one choice I can make? Stay away from Rylee. Because if I don’t, I’ll break her heart—and mine—all over again.
Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains references to drinking, addiction, and just the right amount of angst. You’ll want to save this tortured hero, while at the same time, not want to change a single thing about him!

My Review Continue reading

ARC Review: Love Me Never by Sara Wolf

I received this book for free from Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: Love Me Never by Sara Wolf

Love Me Never

by Sara Wolf
Published by Entangled: Teen on April 5th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Pages: 304
Source: Publisher
Goodreads

Read the book that Kirkus Reviews called: "A complex, witty page-turner, ideal for YA fans of scandal and romance."
Don’t love your enemy. Declare war on him.
Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years, nine weeks, and five days, and after what happened last time, she intends to keep it that way. Since then she’s lost eighty-five pounds, gotten four streaks of purple in her hair, and moved to Buttcrack-of-Nowhere, Ohio, to help her mom escape a bad relationship.
All the girls in her new school want one thing—Jack Hunter, the Ice Prince of East Summit High. Hot as an Armani ad, smart enough to get into Yale, and colder than the Arctic, Jack Hunter's never gone out with anyone. Sure, people have seen him downtown with beautiful women, but he's never given high school girls the time of day. Until Isis punches him in the face.
Jack’s met his match. Suddenly everything is a game.
The goal: Make the other beg for mercy.The game board: East Summit High.The reward: Something neither of them expected.
Previously published as Lovely Vicious, this fully revised and updated edition is full of romance, intrigue, and laugh-out-loud moments.

My Review Continue reading

Library Book Review: ‘The Selection’ by Keira Cass

Library Book Review: ‘The Selection’ by Keira Cass

The Selection

by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection #1
Published by HarperTeen on April 24th 2012
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 336
Source: Library
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself—and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Review Continue reading

Library Book Review: ‘Graceling’ by Kristin Cashore

Library Book Review: ‘Graceling’ by Kristin Cashore

Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)

by Kristin Cashore
Published by Harcourt on October 1st 2008
Genres: Action & Adventure, Adolescence, Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, General, Girls & Women, Social Issues, Social Themes, Young Adult, Young Adult Fiction
Pages: 471
Source: Library
Goodreads

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight - she's a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king's thug.
When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change.
She never expects to become Po's friend.
She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace - or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away...

My Review Continue reading

Library Book Review: ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer

Library Book Review: ‘Scarlet’ by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet

by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #2
Published by Feiwel and Friends on February 5th 2013
Genres: Dystopian, Young Adult
Pages: 452
Source: Library
Amazon | B&N
Goodreads

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.
Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 7