Follow Book Lovin’ Mamas
Currently Reading

Review: ‘Archangel’s Heart’ by Nalini Singh

Books Reviewed in 2020

Book Lovin' Mamas has reviewed 45 books this year.

36%
Romanceopoly Participant 2020
Romanceopoly 2020 Participant
FTC Disclosure
In accordance with the current FTC disclosure rules for bloggers & reviewers, the books you see reviewed on Book Lovin' Mamas are either purchased by us or procured from NetGalley, Edelweiss, or directly from the author or publisher in an exchange for an honest review.
1 2 3 13

ARC Review: ‘Malice’ by Pintip Dunn

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Malice’ by Pintip Dunn

Malice

by Pintip Dunn
Published by Entangled: Teen on February 4, 2020
Pages: 400
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

What I know: a boy in my school will one day wipe out two-thirds of the population with a virus.
What I don’t know: who he is.
In a race against the clock, I not only have to figure out his identity, but I’ll have to outwit a voice from the future telling me to kill him. Because I’m starting to realize no one is telling the truth. But how can I play chess with someone who already knows the outcome of my every move? Someone so filled with malice they’ve lost all hope in humanity? Well, I’ll just have to find a way—because now they’ve drawn a target on the only boy I’ve ever loved... 


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless Knight’ by A. Jade

ARC Review: 'Ruthless Knight' by A. Jade

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Blog Tour Host in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Ruthless Knight’ by A. Jade

Ruthless Knight

by A. Jade, Ashley Jade
Series: Royal Hearts Academy
Published by Self-Published on January 23, 2020
Format: eArc
Source: Blog Tour Host
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars


Welcome to their kingdom.

Cole Covington is the most popular heartbreaker at school. Every guy wants to be him and every girl wants to screw him. Except me. His devastatingly good looks, golden arm, and flirty smiles don't do it for me anymore...because I know what's lurking underneath the star quarterback's gorgeous armor.
At least I thought I did.
Sometimes the most beautiful people...hide the ugliest truths. And sometimes the only way to save someone... is to walk beside them through hell.
Sawyer Church is the bible-thumping nerd of Royal Hearts Academy. Girls pick on her and guys don't notice her. Except me. Sweet, curvy, and sarcastic, she's impossible to ignore. No matter how much I try. Everyone at school has her pegged as the chubby, Jesus loving geek, but unlike them—Sawyer's real and never pretends to be someone she's not.
Until I ask her to be my fake girlfriend.
Sometimes the most beautiful souls...hide the greatest pain. And sometimes the only way to save someone... is to fight for them.
This is book 2 in the Royal Hearts Academy series. Please note: Although this is Cole and Sawyer's book, Cruel Prince (Jace and Dylan’s book) should be read first for a better understanding of the family dynamic. WARNING: Royal Hearts Academy is a New Adult/High School series of standalones filled with drama, a touch of angst, and boys who are bad to the bone. The characters are flawed. If you're looking for a safe, sweet romance with nice heroes and heroines who are perfect all the time, this series is NOT for you.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Keystone’ by Katie Delahanty

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Keystone’ by Katie Delahanty

Keystone

by Katie Delahanty
Published by Entangled: Teen on January 7, 2020
Pages: 390
Format: Paperback, ARC
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

When Ella Karman debuts on the Social Stock Exchange, she finds out life as a high-profile "Influencer" isn't what she expected. Everyone around her is consumed by their rankings, in creating the smoke and mirrors that make them the envy of the world.
But then Ella’s best friend betrays her, her rankings tank, and she loses—everything.
Leaving her old life behind, she joins Keystone, a secret school for thieves, where students are being trained to steal everything analog and original because something—or someone—is changing history to suit their needs.
Partnered with the annoyingly hot—and utterly impossible—Garrett Alexander, who has plenty of his own secrets, Ella is forced to return to the Influencer world, while unraveling a conspiracy that began decades ago.
One wrong move and she could lose everything—again.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Winter’ by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: 'Winter' by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Review: ‘Winter’ by McKayla Box (#KUWeekendAThon)

Winter: A High School Bully Romance

by McKayla Box
Series: Sunset Beach High #2
Published by Self-Published on August 13, 2019
Genres: High School Bully Romance
Pages: 197
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
three-half-stars

I'm not New Girl anymore.
I have friends.
And I have Trevor.
Friends I trust and a boy I love.
Things should be easy.
But things are never that easy.
Never that simple.
Because I also have enemies.
Old and new.
And they aren't happy that I'm happy.
So the target is still on my back.
And it's bigger than ever.
WARNING: Winter is the second book in The Sunset Beach High series. It contains mature themes, sexual content, and profanity. If you're not a fan of those things, this isn't the book for you. But if you like serious stuff mixed with lots of bad words and some sweaty sex, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. It is the second in a four book series.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘Michigan Vs. the Boys’ by Carrie S. Allen

ARC Review: 'Michigan Vs. the Boys' by Carrie S. Allen

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘Michigan Vs. the Boys’ by Carrie S. Allen

Michigan vs. the Boys

by Carrie S. Allen
Published by Kids Can Press on October 1, 2019
Pages: 304
Format: ARC
Source: Amazon Vine
Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-half-stars

When a determined girl is confronted with the culture of toxic masculinity, it's time to even the score.
Michigan Manning lives for hockey, and this is her year to shine. That is, until she gets some crushing news: budget cuts will keep the girls' hockey team off the ice this year.
If she wants colleges to notice her, Michigan has to find a way to play. Luckily, there's still one team left in town ...
The boys' team isn't exactly welcoming, but Michigan's prepared to prove herself. She plays some of the best hockey of her life, in fact, all while putting up with changing in the broom closet, constant trash talk and "harmless" pranks that always seem to target her.
But once hazing crosses the line into assault, Michigan must weigh the consequences of speaking up - even if it means putting her future on the line.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Amber & Dusk’ by Lyra Selene

Review: 'Amber & Dusk' by Lyra Selene

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the Amazon Vine in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: ‘Amber & Dusk’ by Lyra Selene

Amber & Dusk

by Lyra Selene
Series: Amber & Dusk #1
Published by Scholastic Press on November 27, 2018
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: Amazon Vine
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
four-stars

Sylvie has always known she deserves more. Out in the permanent twilight of the Dusklands, her guardians called her power to create illusions a curse. But Sylvie knows it gives her a place in Coeur d'Or, the palais of the Amber Empress and her highborn legacies.
So Sylvie sets off toward the Amber City, a glittering jewel under a sun that never sets, to take what is hers.
But her hope for a better life is quickly dimmed. The empress invites her in only as part of a wicked wager among her powerful courtiers. Sylvie must assume a new name, Mirage, and begin to navigate secretive social circles and deadly games of intrigue in order to claim her spot. Soon it becomes apparent that nothing is as it appears and no one, including her cruel yet captivating sponsor, Sunder, will answer her questions. As Mirage strives to assume what should be her rightful place, she'll have to consider whether it is worth the price she must pay.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Kill the Queen’ by Jennifer Estep #romanceopoly

Review: 'Kill the Queen' by Jennifer Estep #romanceopoly

Review: ‘Kill the Queen’ by Jennifer Estep #romanceopoly

Kill the Queen

by Jennifer Estep
Series: Crown of Shards #1
Published by Harper Voyager on October 2, 2018
Pages: 480
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble | Kobo
Goodreads
five-stars

Gladiator meets Game of Thrones: a royal woman becomes a skilled warrior to destroy her murderous cousin, avenge her family, and save her kingdom in this first entry in a dazzling fantasy epic from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Elemental Assassin series—an enthralling tale that combines magic, murder, intrigue, adventure, and a hint of romance.
In a realm where one’s magical power determines one’s worth, Lady Everleigh’s lack of obvious ability relegates her to the shadows of the royal court of Bellona, a kingdom steeped in gladiator tradition. Seventeenth in line for the throne, Evie is nothing more than a ceremonial fixture, overlooked and mostly forgotten.
But dark forces are at work inside the palace. When her cousin Vasilia, the crown princess, assassinates her mother the queen and takes the throne by force, Evie is also attacked, along with the rest of the royal family. Luckily for Evie, her secret immunity to magic helps her escape the massacre.
Forced into hiding to survive, she falls in with a gladiator troupe. Though they use their talents to entertain and amuse the masses, the gladiators are actually highly trained warriors skilled in the art of war, especially Lucas Sullivan, a powerful magier with secrets of his own. Uncertain of her future—or if she even has one—Evie begins training with the troupe until she can decide her next move.
But as the bloodthirsty Vasilia exerts her power, pushing Bellona to the brink of war, Evie’s fate becomes clear: she must become a fearsome gladiator herself . . . and kill the queen.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Fall’ by McKayla Box

Review: 'Fall' by McKayla Box

Review: ‘Fall’ by McKayla Box

Fall

by McKayla Box
Series: Sunset Beach High #1
Published by Self-Published on July 30, 2019
Pages: 214
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Amazon Kindle
Goodreads
four-half-stars

It's not happening again.
It's the first day of my senior year.
Which should be awesome.
Except I'm in a new town.
At a new school.
And that makes me the new girl.
Which is not awesome at all.
And the guy everyone is telling me to stay away from? The one who rules the school, the one who has mountains of money, the one who is drop dead gorgeous, and the one who does whatever he wants?
He's already made me a target, thinking he can pull the new girl into his world by sheer force.
And that's going to be a problem for him.
Because I've been a target before.
And it's not happening again.
WARNING: Fall is the first book in the Sunset Beach High series. It contains mature themes, sexual content, and profanity. If you're not a fan of those things, this isn't the book for you. But if you like serious stuff mixed with lots of bad words and some sweaty sex, THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU. It is the first in a four book series.


Continue reading

Review: ‘Tithe’ by Holly Black

Review: 'Tithe' by Holly Black

Review: ‘Tithe’ by Holly Black

Tithe

by Holly Black
Series: Modern Faerie Tales #1
Published by Simon Pulse on October 1, 2002
Pages: 332
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Audible | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Welcome to the realm of very scary faeries!
Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother's rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms - a struggle that could very well mean her death.


Continue reading

ARC Review: ‘8 Souls’ by Rachel Rust

I received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review: ‘8 Souls’ by Rachel Rust

8 Souls

by Rachel Rust
Published by Entangled Publishing LLC (Teen) on May 6, 2019
Pages: 253
Format: eArc
Source: publisher
Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

All her life, seventeen-year-old Chessie has had recurring dreams about a little white farmhouse. Quaint? Not quite. The house is the site of the unsolved murders of Villisca, Iowa, where eight people were slaughtered in 1912. With her parents on the verge of divorce, Chessie is stuck spending the summer with her grandparents in Villisca—right across the street from the axe murder house.
She’s soon hearing voices calling out for help and begins unraveling a link between herself and the town’s bloody history. And when she falls for a cute boy harboring a big secret, the pieces fall into place as she at last discovers the truth of Villisca's gruesome past…


My Review Continue reading

1 2 3 13